How to change desktop environment

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
RadoslavCap
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:51 pm

How to change desktop environment

Post by RadoslavCap » Sat Apr 16, 2016 2:32 pm

Hello all,

how to change desktop environment? Currently I'm running Cinnamon and I would like to try other possibilities (MATE, Xfce, KDE).

Is it possible or should I expect troubles?

Thanks for reply.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7378
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: How to change desktop environment

Post by Flemur » Sat Apr 16, 2016 2:46 pm

Is it possible or should I expect troubles?
Yes and quite possibly.

For package "xfce4" (from synaptic)
"This package is a metapackage; it depends on the core packages of the Xfce4 desktop environment and recommends some extra Xfce4 packages. If you intend to use Xfce4 and want the full experience then installing this package and the packages it Recommends is a great place to start."

Note the "recommends" part. I think the other desktops have similar "meta" packages.

To get to another desktop after it's installed, logout and chose the desktop from the login GUI before logging back in.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9075
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: How to change desktop environment

Post by richyrich » Sat Apr 16, 2016 3:19 pm

And to add to Flemur's reply; If you want to Mint-ify the additional DE, install mint-meta-xfce (-mate,-kde)

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: How to change desktop environment

Post by Cosmo. » Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:02 pm

I recommend to install VirtualBox and install there Mint with the DEs you are interested in. In this case you will definitely have no troubles.

User avatar
cholq
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:27 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: How to change desktop environment

Post by cholq » Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:39 pm

At one time I installed cinnamon and the installed xfce along side it. those two seemed to play nicely together.

I have tried different DEs at the same time on other distros and have run into strange behavior, so it doesn't always result in a great experience with the 2nd DE.

RadoslavCap
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:51 pm

Re: How to change desktop environment

Post by RadoslavCap » Sun Apr 17, 2016 1:45 pm

cholq wrote:At one time I installed cinnamon and the installed xfce along side it. those two seemed to play nicely together.

I have tried different DEs at the same time on other distros and have run into strange behavior, so it doesn't always result in a great experience with the 2nd DE.
You've described my experience. I gave up this.

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”