Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
User avatar
farmfield
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:00 pm

Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by farmfield » Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:19 am

So I got this amazingly annoying issue where the menu on the right (secondary monitor) opens when I click super and I need to click again to open it on my primary monitor.

And don't think I haven't tried everything before posting here, hehe, deleted and added the menu on both panels, deleting and making new panels, etc, but for some reason super will always open the menu on the second monitor first.

So, anyone know what's going on? Probably something really simple. :D
*** Houdini FX TD *** I do stuff like this: https://vimeo.com/farmfield *** Former LoCo TL at Ubuntu-se.org ***

User avatar
farmfield
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:00 pm

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by farmfield » Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:56 am

Hehe, wow, no one had this issue?

Maybe it's a curse. I even tried switching the monitor ports and then shifting the monitors in the display options - and it still it opens on my right monitor. How is that even possible? xD
*** Houdini FX TD *** I do stuff like this: https://vimeo.com/farmfield *** Former LoCo TL at Ubuntu-se.org ***

Palladini971
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:38 am

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by Palladini971 » Sat Apr 29, 2017 12:02 pm

Open your systems Settings, scroll down to display and you can set primary and secondary monitors there.

User avatar
BG405
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 957
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by BG405 » Sat Apr 29, 2017 12:11 pm

I've not had the menu do this, but have been experiencing it with drop down context menus appearing on the other monitor in Firefox. Not sure if that might be related. Other windows in some cases tend to open on whichever monitor the mouse pointer is on.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - LM17.3 Xfce 32---------------------K7S5A Athlon 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

User avatar
farmfield
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:00 pm

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by farmfield » Sun Jun 11, 2017 8:59 am

BG405 wrote:I've not had the menu do this, but have been experiencing it with drop down context menus appearing on the other monitor in Firefox. Not sure if that might be related. Other windows in some cases tend to open on whichever monitor the mouse pointer is on.
Today Cinnamon crashed and I had to mess around with the menus, and suddenly it works as it should. It's gonna be interesting to see if it'll stick or if it's gonna break with the next reboot. :D
*** Houdini FX TD *** I do stuff like this: https://vimeo.com/farmfield *** Former LoCo TL at Ubuntu-se.org ***

outofs1gh7
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:03 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by outofs1gh7 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:11 pm

I'm also having this issue. Does anyone know how to fix it?

JosephM
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 834
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by JosephM » Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:22 pm

We've seen occasional reports of this before but have never been able to reproduce it. Could you supply a bit more info? Cinnamon --version, The menu is located on the left (primary monitor) but first shows on the right (secondary)? What are the screen resolutions? Where is the applet located in the panel? The left or right side? Is it a top or bottom panel?

@farmfield Cool to see you're using Houdini. I was a total amateur but Houdini was the reason I tried linux in the first place. Never looked back :)
When I give opinions, they are my own. Not necessarily those of any other Linux Mint developer or the Linux Mint project as a whole.

outofs1gh7
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:03 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by outofs1gh7 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 8:10 pm

I'm on Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon 64-bit with Cinnamon Version 3.6.7.

Desktop setup:
- Monitor on the left is the laptop monitor. (Primary Monitor)
- Monitor on the right is an external monitor. (Secondary Monitor)
- Each monitor has one bottom panel and both panels have a menu applet on the left side.
- Both screens run at 1920x1080(16:9) resolution.

Here's a print screen I took of my desktop. https://i.imgur.com/1HDE4Kn.jpg

When I press the superkey, the menu on the secondary monitor opens, and only if I press again, will it open on my primary monitor. What I want is the opposite, meaning that the superkey should open the menu first on the primary monitor, and only if I press it again, it would open the menu on the secondary monitor.

Display settings: https://i.imgur.com/lomoxci.jpg

I also uploaded all my system info here> https://gist.github.com/anonymous/9c76a ... 7dc8c17d4f

JosephM
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 834
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by JosephM » Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:10 pm

- Each monitor has one bottom panel and both panels have a menu applet on the left side.
Ok. I thought the menu was misplaced when it opened. Thanks for providing more info.
When I give opinions, they are my own. Not necessarily those of any other Linux Mint developer or the Linux Mint project as a whole.

outofs1gh7
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:03 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by outofs1gh7 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:29 am

I think I found the solution. It worked for me.

- First, I removed all the menu applets I had on my desktop. I had two panels, one on each monitor, and each panel had one menu applet.
- After removing both menu applets, I added a menu applet on my secondary monitor.
- Then I added another menu applet on the primary monitor.

Now when I press the super key (Super L) the menu on my primary monitor opens up, and if I press it again, the menu on the secondary opens. Just what I wanted.
JosephM wrote:We've seen occasional reports of this before but have never been able to reproduce it.
After fixing the issue I tried "breaking it" again, and so what I did was the reverse:

- Removed all the menu applets
- Added a menu on the primary monitor
- Then added another menu on the secondary monitor.

So if you have a similar desktop setup and want to open a menu on a certain monitor (let's call it monitor x), you first have to add a menu on the other monitor (monitor y) and after that add the menu on the monitor x.

ignitus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:21 am

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by ignitus » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:03 pm

Do your two monitors have different resolutions or appear in non contiguous layouts? I get a very interesting issue regarding contexts menu's when I rotate a monitor clockwise. Basically, all context menu stretch and appear detached from the cursor due to a bug in the offset code when calculating the mouse cursor. Everything else works fine, but any context menu (file,edit,help) and all right click menu's are rendered incorrectly.

The only fix I have found is the make sure all monitors share a common Y origin. No monitor can have its 0,0 coordinate in the middle of another monitor. Basically, they should appear as a straight line in the Display Utility

outofs1gh7
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:03 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: Cinnamon menu opens on wrong monitor

Post by outofs1gh7 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:14 pm

ignitus wrote:Do your two monitors have different resolutions or appear in non contiguous layouts?
Both of my monitors run at 1920x1080 natively, and are in close proximity (if that's what you mean by non-contiguos).
ignitus wrote:I get a very interesting issue regarding contexts menu's when I rotate a monitor clockwise. Basically, all context menu stretch and appear detached from the cursor due to a bug in the offset code when calculating the mouse cursor. Everything else works fine, but any context menu (file,edit,help) and all right click menu's are rendered incorrectly.
I've never had that issue but.. I've only been using Linux for 5 days. :D

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”