Boots to tty1 before login

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby Prsman » Thu Jun 01, 2017 8:11 pm

As per the video, the first TTY1 is showing for about 10 sec, then it goes black for 5 sec and then the TTY1 comes back for three sec.
The defaults.conf file has a setting called debug. If I make it true and reboot then there should be error messages in system.log Or is it .xsession-errors?
Wait I will check the .xsessions-errors file first, just in case.

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby Prsman » Thu Jun 01, 2017 8:24 pm

Wow, cant make heads or tails out of this file. Can someone read their file?

Code: Select all

cat .xsession-errors



Code: Select all

ERROR: Error querying target relations

sys:1: PyGIWarning: Nemo was imported without specifying a version first. Use gi.require_version('Nemo', '3.0') before import to ensure that the right version gets loaded.
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: About to start Cinnamon
St-Message: cogl npot texture sizes SUPPORTED
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: Cinnamon started at Thu Jun 01 2017 16:36:20 GMT-0700 (PDT)
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: network applet: Cannot find connection for active (or connection cannot be read)
openGL version 2.1 detected (GL Cogl Driver)
MetaSyncRing disabled: couldn't find required GL extensions, or the minimum safe openGL version was not met
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: Invalid network device type, is 14
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: network applet: Found connection for active
mintUpdate: no process found
Gtk-Message: GtkDialog mapped without a transient parent. This is discouraged.
Window manager warning: Buggy client sent a _NET_ACTIVE_WINDOW message with a timestamp of 0 for 0x1e00007 (Authentica)

Uncle_Snail
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 11:43 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby Uncle_Snail » Thu Jun 01, 2017 8:46 pm

Prsman wrote:Wow, cant make heads or tails out of this file. Can someone read their file?


No, I don't know how to read the contents of your file, or my own. Mine is much longer, but my computer has been on most of the day, so that could account for it.
Less of a Linux noob every day.

sgtor
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby sgtor » Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:57 am

FWIW This file has lots of entries even on a system that works fine. Sometimes it's just reporting a bug and those need to be fixed in the code and recompiled.

Mine is huge and my system works fine except for one hardware related annoyance which I have not been able to fix yet and probably can't fix without fixing code and recompiling.
Anything more than that is beyond my current scope of knowledge which means I would be googleing and reading books until I find the answer.

sgtor
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby sgtor » Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:15 am

Prsman wrote:Late to this party, I also have this feature or problem. I get the tty1 login twice, And the text changes color randomly. Might be white, next time yellow, next time brown. my dmesg error is this:

Code: Select all

prs-player@prsplayer-Mint-18 ~ $ dmesg | grep -i error; dmesg | grep -i warning
[   15.822961] EXT4-fs (sda1): re-mounted. Opts: errors=remount-ro
[    0.000000] ACPI BIOS Warning (bug): 32/64X length mismatch in FADT/Pm1aEventBlock: 32/8 (20150930/tbfadt-623)
[    0.000000] ACPI BIOS Warning (bug): 32/64X length mismatch in FADT/Pm1aControlBlock: 16/8 (20150930/tbfadt-623)
[    0.000000] ACPI BIOS Warning (bug): 32/64X length mismatch in FADT/PmTimerBlock: 32/8 (20150930/tbfadt-623)
[    0.000000] ACPI BIOS Warning (bug): 32/64X length mismatch in FADT/Gpe0Block: 64/8 (20150930/tbfadt-623)
[    0.000000] ACPI BIOS Warning (bug): 32/64X length mismatch in FADT/Gpe1Block: 128/8 (20150930/tbfadt-623)
[    0.000000] ACPI BIOS Warning (bug): Invalid length for FADT/Pm1aEventBlock: 8, using default 32 (20150930/tbfadt-704)
[    0.000000] ACPI BIOS Warning (bug): Invalid length for FADT/Pm1aControlBlock: 8, using default 16 (20150930/tbfadt-704)
[    0.000000] ACPI BIOS Warning (bug): Invalid length for FADT/PmTimerBlock: 8, using default 32 (20150930/tbfadt-704)
[   17.916968] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000001C40-0x0000000000001C7F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000001C40-0x0000000000001C45 (\_SB_.PCI0.SM01) (20150930/utaddress-254)
[   17.916975] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000001C40-0x0000000000001C7F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000001C40-0x0000000000001C45 (\_SB_.PCI0.SM00) (20150930/utaddress-254)


I thought this was a feature. I haven't tried to login at that point. My grub has quiet splash. I also get the tty1 login at shutdown too. Ideas anyone? Thanks


For me I would try updating the firmware for the BIOS. It's dangerous to do it though. If you mess it up your computer is bricked.
At a minimum you should do it while on a UPS because if you lose power in the middle of the write it's going to be messed up.
That's me personally though and only if it's actually causing real problems or if the update adds a needed feature. Do you think it's truly causing a problem?

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby Prsman » Fri Jun 02, 2017 12:19 pm

I am running the latest BIOS. Is this a problem? No, my computer runs fine. The question is, why does my boot sequence have this feature? The operating
system should be consistent for everyone. Lets call this action a quirk. Thanks for your time and help.

sgtor
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby sgtor » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:46 pm

Prsman wrote:I am running the latest BIOS. Is this a problem? No, my computer runs fine. The question is, why does my boot sequence have this feature? The operating
system should be consistent for everyone. Lets call this action a quirk. Thanks for your time and help.


If your computer runs fine then that's your answer. It runs fine. I think you guys have gotten yourselves focused on this idea that something is wrong when the computer is actually booting up normally.

snowshoeb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:05 am

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby snowshoeb » Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:23 pm

This bug seems to add about 10 seconds to the boot time of my 5 year old Samsung laptop running 18.1 Mate which I find significant. Playing with the nvidia/nouveau drivers has not effect. Both the mate 18.1 and 18.2 mate 64 bit livedvds show the same problem.

I am disappointed that this is the only message thread on the bug I have found beside this one from the Ubuntu forums:
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2344699

Has anyone since found a solution?

Uncle_Snail
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 11:43 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby Uncle_Snail » Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:51 pm

No, I have not found a solution yet. I am just living with it, because my computer is good enough that the boot time is not substantially different, at least to me, at I can live with it looking a little sloppy. It kind of brings back reminiscence of the old days, so it's kind of fun. However, I'm glad I'm not the only one who had or noticed this problem. If you find anything, please post it.
Less of a Linux noob every day.

sgtor
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby sgtor » Sun Nov 19, 2017 3:38 pm

run this and see what's taking 10 seconds or longer.

Code: Select all

systemd-analyze blame

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby Prsman » Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:54 pm

Just giving an update. not sure if this is a solution. I re-installed the OS. Did a reboot after install and did not have the tty1. Installed the nvidia driver and rebooted and did not have the tty1. Then I did the update manager and rebooted and got the tty1. So I went to check what was updated and UM installed nvidia prime.
I used Synaptic to completely remove nvidia prime and rebooted. No tty1. So far so good, its been two days. Will see how long this problem stays away.

Uncle_Snail
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 11:43 pm

Re: Boots to tty1 before login

Postby Uncle_Snail » Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:45 pm

Prsman wrote:Just giving an update. not sure if this is a solution. I re-installed the OS. Did a reboot after install and did not have the tty1. Installed the nvidia driver and rebooted and did not have the tty1. Then I did the update manager and rebooted and got the tty1. So I went to check what was updated and UM installed nvidia prime.
I used Synaptic to completely remove nvidia prime and rebooted. No tty1. So far so good, its been two days. Will see how long this problem stays away.


Thank you for the suggestion. I tried multiple restarts uninstalling and reinstalling Nvidia Prime and the NVidia Prime applet, but I could not get it fixed from this. I was hoping the solution would work for me, but I can't get it to. If you have anymore insights, please share.
Less of a Linux noob every day.


Return to “Cinnamon”