Nemo bug?

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
User avatar
invex
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Nemo bug?

Post by invex »

I have 3 directories on my desktop.
Every time I open a directory nemo-desktop process starts using about 25% of CPU and never goes down.
Clicking on the desktop and pressing F5 to refresh nemo-desktop goes down to a negligible CPU level.
Any ideas how to fix it?
TIA
JosephM
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Nemo bug?

Post by JosephM »

I couldn't reproduce this. Does it happen with all 3 directories? How many and what type of files are in one that causes the issues?
When I give opinions, they are my own. Not necessarily those of any other Linux Mint developer or the Linux Mint project as a whole.
User avatar
invex
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Nemo bug?

Post by invex »

Thank you.

Actually 2 directories. The third one is an icon to external USB drive.
There's nothing unusual about the directories. They only have pictures, text files etc.
When I open external drive everything's fine.
When I open directories (without opening files) nemo-desktop goes to 25% CPU.
User avatar
invex
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Nemo bug?

Post by invex »

I removed both directories and created an empty directory.
Opening it causes the same problem.
Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17817
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Nemo bug?

Post by Cosmo. »

Which version of Mint is this?
User avatar
Flemur
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9065
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Nemo bug?

Post by Flemur »

Just guessing, but try these...

Root owns some file(s)?

Code: Select all

find $HOME ! -user $USER 
If anything is returned, make yourself the owner of it.

If you don't have a lot of customization, find the nemo files...

Code: Select all

find $HOME  -iname "*nemo*"
and delete them.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
User avatar
invex
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Nemo bug?

Post by invex »

18.2
User avatar
invex
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Nemo bug?

Post by invex »

I ran the command and noticed this:

find: ‘/home/mk/.cache/dconf’: Permission denied
find: ‘/home/mk/.gvfs’: Permission denied
Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17817
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Nemo bug?

Post by Cosmo. »

The first item is a bug in Mint, the second one could be the culprit for our problem. To solve it:

Mark the following command completely and make sure, that you do not miss any sign, than press ctrl-c

Code: Select all

find /home/$SUDO_USER ! -user $SUDO_USER -exec chown $SUDO_USER:$SUDO_USER '{}' \;
Open a terminal and enter

Code: Select all

sudo -i
and press the Enter-key; you get prompted for your password, enter it.
Now still in the same terminal press ctrl-shift-V
Run this command and wait until it has finished. It does not produce a readable output.
Press twice ctrl-d
Immediately log off and back into your account.
User avatar
invex
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Nemo bug?

Post by invex »

Thank you very much.
I tried it but it didn't help.
However, I noticed that I don't have to press F5 to refresh the Desktop.
I only have to click anywhere on the Desktop and desktop-nemo CPU usage goes back to normal.
Because I didn't know if the suggested command made a difference I restored from backup and tested it again. The fact that I only have to click on the Desktop has nothing to do with applied command.
User avatar
invex
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Nemo bug?

Post by invex »

Upgrading to 18.3 fixed the problem.
Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”