[SOLVED] Startup delay settings are missing

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
User avatar
Moem
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5408
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

[SOLVED] Startup delay settings are missing

Post by Moem » Fri Dec 08, 2017 9:24 am

I'm on Mint 18.3 with Cinnamon.
When I open up the Startup Applications window, I don't get the controls to add startup delay to my various applications. It's just not there. Does anyone have any idea what might be up here? Any pointers would be appreciated.

Image
Last edited by Moem on Fri Dec 08, 2017 10:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Cosmo. saves the world once more.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17652
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Problem with Redshift on 18.3 Cinnamon

Post by Cosmo. » Fri Dec 08, 2017 9:40 am

I suggest to create a new test account. Interestingly there appears an empty space just above the 2 buttons for Cancel & Save, just the space, which would be needed to show the delay options.

User avatar
Moem
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5408
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Startup delay settings are missing

Post by Moem » Fri Dec 08, 2017 10:01 am

Cosmo., that was quite informative. Interestingly, the clean account showed two Startup Applications entries in the menu. I opened them both and one had the delay controls and the other did not.
I have now edited the menu on my normal account to show the other entry, the one with the delay controls, and all is well with the world. Thank you.

I think this may be a holdover from a bold upgrade strategy: I retained my /home partition when upgrading from 17.3 32-bits to 18.3 64-bits. It stands to reason that duplicates may occur.
In fact, I now remember seeing this double entry in my menu and disabling one of them in the menu editor. I guess I picked the wrong one! :lol:
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
ArtGirl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: [SOLVED] Startup delay settings are missing

Post by ArtGirl » Fri Dec 08, 2017 10:34 am

Glad it solved. :)
LM 18.3 Mate 64-bit
Radeon R9 255, Mesa 17.2.8, kernel 4.15.0-13,
Lenovo Erazer x310, intel quad i7-4790, 16 gig ram,
Ugee 2150/Krita 4.1 beta appimage


Image

DAMIEN1307
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 465
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Startup delay settings are missing

Post by DAMIEN1307 » Fri Dec 08, 2017 10:49 am

hi moem...did i read this right?..." bold upgrade strategy: I retained my /home partition when upgrading from 17.3 32-bits to 18.3 64-bits"...WOW...you call it bold...i call that one real gutsy...do you also run with scissors?...lol...DAMIEN

User avatar
Moem
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5408
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Startup delay settings are missing

Post by Moem » Fri Dec 08, 2017 10:55 am

Oh yes, all the time. Three pairs of scissors in each hand, and watch me go! ;-)

Seriously now: I figured that if it didn't work out, I could always reinstall. After all, I had all my data backed up. So there wasn't any real risk involved: I could at most lose some extra time.
I can report that it worked fine, apart from this duplicate menu entry (and I found another one: screen saver settings). No guarantees that it'll work for anyone else. Don't try this at home, unless you have good backups and like to experiment! 8)
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

JosephM
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 875
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Startup delay settings are missing

Post by JosephM » Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:46 pm

I'd just like to point out that the window in your first screenshot is not the one provided by cinnamon settings startup applications. Do you have another desktop environment installed on that machine?
When I give opinions, they are my own. Not necessarily those of any other Linux Mint developer or the Linux Mint project as a whole.

User avatar
Moem
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5408
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Startup delay settings are missing

Post by Moem » Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:53 pm

JosephM wrote:I'd just like to point out that the window in your first screenshot is not the one provided by cinnamon settings startup applications. Do you have another desktop environment installed on that machine?
It must be, because I've never installed any other desktop environment on this machine. Or could it be the fallback Mate version?
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

JosephM
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 875
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Startup delay settings are missing

Post by JosephM » Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:57 pm

Moem wrote:
JosephM wrote:I'd just like to point out that the window in your first screenshot is not the one provided by cinnamon settings startup applications. Do you have another desktop environment installed on that machine?
It must be, because I've never installed any other desktop environment on this machine. Or could it be the fallback Mate version?
I'll have to check this again. The one Cinnamon should be providing is the one you find when going to System settings->Startup applications. It looks quite different then the one you show in your screenshot :)
When I give opinions, they are my own. Not necessarily those of any other Linux Mint developer or the Linux Mint project as a whole.

User avatar
Moem
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5408
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Startup delay settings are missing

Post by Moem » Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:04 pm

JosephM wrote:The one Cinnamon should be providing is the one you find when going to System settings->Startup applications. It looks quite different then the one you show in your screenshot :)
That was the reason I posted: because something was wrong with it. :wink: And yes, that was System settings->Startup applications.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”