Typing in the Launch menu

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
CrazyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:31 pm

Typing in the Launch menu

Post by CrazyGirl » Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:08 am

Hi, when I press Super to bring up the application launcher menu on the taskbar and start typing, half the time when I type, it is entering greyed out text after the "Type application name to search..." text. Even if I backspace over that text and type something, it doesn't register when I hit enter. Does this happen to anyone else? Any solutions?

orschiro
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:56 am
Contact:

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by orschiro » Tue Jan 09, 2018 1:57 am

I cannot reproduce this. Do you have a screenshot for us?

CrazyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:31 pm

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by CrazyGirl » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:32 am

Sure! https://imgur.com/a/2E2zg

In fact in trying to reproduce this, I've noticed it tends to happen often when there is some window activity in the background. For example, I quit an app with CTRL+Q and then press Super immediately to open the launch menu and start typing. As the launch menu is open, the window in the background finally closes. And when that closed app window disappears, suddenly the white textbox in the launch menu is replaced by the greyed out "Type here..." text with the cursor focus still there. So you can type in where that greyed out text is and it does not register with the launch menu to search for items. Not sure if other things may trigger it as well.

After that I can close the launch menu and reopen it and can type normally again. Is that "Type here..." text only supposed to appear once after boot? Because then it never comes back as a hint to the user until I encounter the bug again. I will try and figure out what else can reproduce this.

orschiro
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:56 am
Contact:

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by orschiro » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:37 am

I don't even see any text in the input search field. Maybe a theme-specific issue?

I am using "Linux Mint" for the Desktop theme.

Image

CrazyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:31 pm

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by CrazyGirl » Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:10 am

I am using as follows: https://imgur.com/a/IaJ34

Unfortunately in another post I mentioned that when you hold CTRL to select multiple objects with the arrow keys and space bar (like in nemo) or to tab around window controls, there is no visible cursor so you can't tell what object is currently active, so I am looking to switch to another theme for Controls. Too bad because I like Mint-X Aqua.

orschiro
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:56 am
Contact:

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by orschiro » Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:31 am

Can you please let me know if you encounter any issues with the following configuration:

Image

CrazyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:31 pm

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by CrazyGirl » Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:45 am

Yes I do: https://imgur.com/a/TpPEI

I had Kodi open, exit the application, immediately press Super to open the launch menu, waited, and when Kodi disappeared the "Type to search..." greyed out text was back and I was typing in there again.

Linux Mint 18.3 all up to date, with the Theme configuration that matches your image.

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16683
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by Cosmo. » Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:09 pm

Create a fresh new user account and do nothing than open the menu. Is the search bar filled there with text also?

CrazyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:31 pm

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by CrazyGirl » Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:41 pm

Ok. https://imgur.com/a/t6WTs

I created a new user account and logged in. The first shot is doing nothing but opening the launch menu. The second shot is if I open Kodi, choose Exit, open the launch menu, and wait for Kodi to finish exiting and disappearing. When Kodi is gone, the "Type to search..." text comes up and I can type in the greyed out area.

Ignore the white rectangles, I just blocked out my devices.

CrazyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:31 pm

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by CrazyGirl » Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:03 pm

Oh, two other notable things in my screenshots, text "wine-wine" is in the launch menu rather than Wine with an appropriate icon to the left of it, and the System Updates icon near the clock is showing (i) rather than a checkmark (but that could be intended for new users). My system does have all updates applied.

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16683
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by Cosmo. » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:04 pm

Regarding Kodi: I don't use it and I can tell nothing about it. But if only after launching Kodi this change in the menu appears, then there must be some correlation.

Regarding wine-wine: Right click the menu -> configuration -> second page -> open the menu editor. How appears it there?

Regarding the update manager: Do you say, that in case you open it you see nothing than a big check mark and the notice, that all is up to date?

CrazyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:31 pm

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by CrazyGirl » Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:38 pm

The app that is closing while the launch menu is open to cause greyed out text, it can be Kodi, Firefox, LibreOffice Writer, any app that takes long enough to close while the menu is still open. It isn't only with Kodi.

wine-wine appears in the menu editor. https://imgur.com/a/cN184 I am wondering if it is because I removed Mint's wine-1.6 and then installed WineHQ's wine-2.0.4 which is not in the default Mint repos? I am getting WINE from 'deb https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/ubuntu/ xenial main'

The update manager issue, it is because it wants to show me the Welcome screen and ask me how to handle updates, I'm guessing. So nevermind this issue! Sorry.

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16683
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by Cosmo. » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:07 am

Regarding wine-wine: What do you get in the menu editor if you click the triangle in front of it. (I cannot tell anything about wine 2.0.4.)

CrazyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:31 pm

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by CrazyGirl » Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:55 am

Sorry for the delay. If I click on the triangle I get more entries with no icons: https://imgur.com/a/gplxa

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16683
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by Cosmo. » Tue Jan 16, 2018 9:29 am

Thank, but it doesn't give me a clue.

Dave B
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by Dave B » Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:22 am

Hi CrazyGirl,
CrazyGirl wrote:Oh, two other notable things in my screenshots, text "wine-wine" is in the launch menu rather than Wine with an appropriate icon to the left of it, and the System Updates icon near the clock is showing (i) rather than a checkmark (but that could be intended for new users). My system does have all updates applied.
The 'wine-wine' menu issue is caused by the older version of winetricks from the Xenial 16.04 repo (Mint 18 versions are built a 16.04 base, Mint 19 will be built on the newer 18.04, so this issue shouldn't (hopefully) happen then).

As for the issue, don't worry! Once your first Windows program is installed, the menu entry usually automatically corrects to show Wine with a list of your installed programs. :)

Think Update Manager notification can remain in that state if an update policy hasn't been set, or local mirror selected.

CrazyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:31 pm

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by CrazyGirl » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:47 pm

Thanks! I just wanted to report the unintentional behavior. Anyway I guess I should learn to file bug reports?

orschiro
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:56 am
Contact:

Re: Typing in the Launch menu

Post by orschiro » Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:38 am

CrazyGirl wrote:Thanks! I just wanted to report the unintentional behavior. Anyway I guess I should learn to file bug reports?
I guess, in this case you should report it here: https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon/issues/new

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”