Protocol error running Dolphin on Cinnamon

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
User avatar
tovian
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:17 pm
Location: Heart of Dixie

Protocol error running Dolphin on Cinnamon

Post by tovian » Wed Jan 17, 2018 6:53 pm

This is strange - after I installed Mint-18.3/64/Cinnamon. The Dolphin app does not want to run correctly.
When I run Nemo I can type in the address...

Code: Select all

smb://192.168.1.??
and get to any of the computers on my LAN

I installed Dolphin which I'm more accustomed to. It seems to work OK, but every time I type

Code: Select all

smb://...any valid LAN IP...
I get a "protocol error". This is not a "one-off" - it is infinitely repeatable.
This is exactly the way I use Dolphin on ALL my KDE desktops.
Using Synaptic I've made sure all the SAMBA modules are installed (and SAMBA works fine with Nemo).

Click thumbnails below for examples

Nemo (Good)
Image

Dolphin (Error)
Image

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE for any/all assistance.
“I think that this situation absolutely requires a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part!"
"We're just the guys to do it.”

Animal House

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6227
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Protocol error running Dolphin on Cinnamon

Post by catweazel » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:15 am

tovian wrote: I get a "protocol error".
That's hardly surprising. Dolphin is the KDE file manager. When you installed it, you would have installed a lot of KDE dependencies to get it running, but that will not have set your system up to browse SMB shares via Dolphin, which requires tight desktop environment integration. Installing Dolphin in another DE won't give you the required level of integration.

Your choices are stark. Use Nemo, or install Mint 18.3 KDE.
Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile - Albert Einstein

User avatar
tovian
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:17 pm
Location: Heart of Dixie

Re: Protocol error running Dolphin on Cinnamon

Post by tovian » Thu Jan 18, 2018 12:19 pm

That makes perfect sense. However, it leads an intelligent person to question why it is allowed to be installed on Cinnamon if it doesn't work correctly and the proper dependencies cannot be identified and installed as part of the package.

Not saying I'm intelligent, but I'm damned curious !! :?
“I think that this situation absolutely requires a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part!"
"We're just the guys to do it.”

Animal House

User avatar
BG405
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Protocol error running Dolphin on Cinnamon

Post by BG405 » Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:18 pm

tovian wrote:why it is allowed to be installed on Cinnamon if it doesn't work correctly and the proper dependencies cannot be identified and installed as part of the package
It would be quite a challenge for the developers of all these programs to cross-check their compatibility with all the common types of installation and in this case it's complicated further by the fact that Dolphin was written for a Qt (and Plasma desktop) environment rather than Gnome-based such as Cinnamon.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - Manjaro KDE, LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - LM17.3 Xfce 32---------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6227
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Protocol error running Dolphin on Cinnamon

Post by catweazel » Mon Jan 22, 2018 2:49 am

tovian wrote:That makes perfect sense. However, it leads an intelligent person to question why it is allowed to be installed on Cinnamon if it doesn't work correctly and the proper dependencies cannot be identified and installed as part of the package.
Installing dependencies does not equate to tight integration with the DE. In your case, the dependencies were all correctly identified and installed otherwise dolphin would not have installed and run at all.
Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile - Albert Einstein

Hoser Rob
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3973
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Protocol error running Dolphin on Cinnamon

Post by Hoser Rob » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:07 am

tovian wrote:That makes perfect sense. However, it leads an intelligent person to question why it is allowed to be installed on Cinnamon if it doesn't work correctly and the proper dependencies cannot be identified and installed as part of the package.

Not saying I'm intelligent, but I'm damned curious !! :?
Actually it's easy to explain. Windows assumes you don't know what you're doing. Linux/Unix assumes you do as long as you have the sudo or (especially) root password. It'll happily let you do things that will break stuff. You may have read that Linux lets you do anything you want. It does, but that does NOT mean that said thing will work.

This is part fo the reason that beginners are advised not to use ppa sources or (ugh) tar files to install programs.

User avatar
tovian
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:17 pm
Location: Heart of Dixie

Re: Protocol error running Dolphin on Cinnamon

Post by tovian » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:26 am

Hoser Rob wrote:This is part fo the reason that beginners are advised not to use ppa sources or (ugh) tar files to install programs.
And yet, if beginners don't break stuff then figure out / find out how to fix it, they don't progress very far from "beginner" level.


Hoser Rob wrote:It'll happily let you do things that will break stuff.
That's why us "beginners" depend so heavily on you "experts". We EXPECT you guys to keep us out of trouble BEFORE we dive in and hurt ourselves.
:wink: :wink:
“I think that this situation absolutely requires a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part!"
"We're just the guys to do it.”

Animal House

User avatar
BG405
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Protocol error running Dolphin on Cinnamon

Post by BG405 » Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:38 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
At least Linux IS fixable! Theoretically, any amount of borkage can be fixed, given enough time, effort & expertise.

Those human-readable error messages (which you can select and copy!) and logs make all the difference compared to Windows OSs. It's also a great learning experience. :D
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - Manjaro KDE, LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - LM17.3 Xfce 32---------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”