[SOLVED] Attach dialog windows to the parent window

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7035
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

[SOLVED] Attach dialog windows to the parent window

Post by Moem » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:27 am

This is not a question; I'm posting this information because I've looked for it for ages and it's not self-explanatory.

In Cinnamon, on the Windows settings page, Behaviour tab, there is an option called "Attach dialog windows to the parent window". If this is enabled, dialog boxes will not only be in a fixed position, the parent window will also be covered in a dark overlay or grey / gray shadow. This means that if you're trying to adjust colours on an image in Pinta, you'll have to do it blindly because the image is too dark to see properly and you can't move the dialog box.
Disable it and it all works as it should.
It's not at all clear from the description of the setting that it'll do this.

Now that I've typed it down, I will probably never forget again. And maybe this will help someone else too!
Pinta_overlay.jpg
I can't see what I'm doing!
Pinta_nooverlay.jpg
So. Much. Better.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: [SOLVED] Attach dialog windows to the parent window

Post by austin.texas » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:41 am

That would indeed be annoying.
Fortunately, the default for "Attach dialog windows to the parent window" is OFF.
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7035
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Attach dialog windows to the parent window

Post by Moem » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:52 am

And that's a good default. Unfortunately it's easy to turn it on and not realise that the dark overlay will be a side effect, and then spend ages to find the problem. Now at least a forum search might turn it up!
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”