Can't get an image preview at file manager

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
helmar

Can't get an image preview at file manager

Post by helmar »

I have searched for this here but I didn't find exactly what is happening here.

My laptop is a LeNovo G40-70 Core i5 12GB RAM running Sarah, Cinnamon 3.0.7, Kernel 4.4.0-119 and I really love Linux Mint.
Though I'm not a newbie, I'm not an IT person so forgive me if my problem is quite ridiculous to you.

When I'm in the File Manager, in my Pictures folder I'd like to see a preview of the image once I click on it. I think this may be a very simple issue but I've tried everything and I still don't get a preview of the image.

I can change the view between Icon view, List view and Compact view and I can resize the icons as well.
I only want to get an image preview when I click on any image but I can't :oops:

Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Can't get an image preview at file manager

Post by Cosmo. »

Mark the file, where you want to see a preview, and press the space bar. To see the preview of another file mark it and press space bar again. You can close the preview window also with space bar.
helmar

Post by helmar »

Thanks, @Cosmo but this is not exactly what I wanted.
It works but I know there is a way to have a side panel to show the preview instead of having to open the image.
Imagine that I have more than six hundred images in this folder to move to five different folders. It's not the best way to select the image having to press the space bar to see each and every image before moving it.