Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] LM 18.3 Workspaces - switching Sound off?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:20 am
by gamesbook
With reference to this locked thread:
viewtopic.php?p=1483340

Can someone advise how to turn off the annoying sound made when you switch between workspaces?

Thanks!

Re: LM 18.3 Workspaces - switching Sound off?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:33 am
by Hoser Rob
It may help if you actually specify which DE you';re using this time :roll: .

Re: LM 18.3 Workspaces - switching Sound off?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:36 am
by gamesbook
I am not sure what you mean by "DE"; i thought Cinnamon was the DE ... if not, please tell me exactly what information I need to supply.

Re: LM 18.3 Workspaces - switching Sound off?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:40 am
by Sir Charles
Open a terminal and run:

Code: Select all

inxi -S
Copy and paste the output here.

Re: LM 18.3 Workspaces - switching Sound off?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:42 am
by gamesbook

Code: Select all

System:    
Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit) 
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7
Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia

Re: LM 18.3 Workspaces - switching Sound off?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:43 am
by Moem
gamesbook wrote:
Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:36 am
I am not sure what you mean by "DE"; i thought Cinnamon was the DE ...
It is, but it's better to say that out loud... lots of people read new messages from the 'New Posts' link in the Quick Menu and don't notice in which forum section they're posted.

Now that we know it's Cinnamon, I can help you:
Main menu => Preferences => Sound => Sound Effects => scroll down to Effects. Third in the list is 'Switching Workspaces'.
Same as in the previous thread, by the way.

Re: LM 18.3 Workspaces - switching Sound off?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:01 am
by gamesbook
Thanks.

I was looking in the wrong starting place - under "System Settings" - so then the navigation path was obviously not working. :!:

Re: LM 18.3 Workspaces - switching Sound off?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 12:06 pm
by Moem
Ah, good point... I've fixed that in the other post for anyone who may stumble upon it later. Thanks for the heads up.
I've also marked this topic as solved... in the future, you can do this for your own threads.