Processor keep at maximun capacity

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
starman101010
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 10:15 pm

Processor keep at maximun capacity

Post by starman101010 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:32 pm

Hello!.

I'm having some trouble with Linux Mint Cinnamon.

The problem is that when the OS start all the cores of the processor start working at 100% of the capacity, this causes that PC head a lot and the battery run out very quickly.
At first i tough that Conky was causing that, then i make sure that Conky wasn't the problem.
Sometimes when i restart the PC the problem disappear.
Also i make sure that the problem is with Linux Mint because i have Windows 10 too and with Windows the that doesn't happen.
What could be causing this?
Have you had the same problem?
screen shot: https://s5.postimg.cc/nzd66zsnb/Captura ... -01-13.png
Image

rene
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2175
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Processor keep at maximun capacity

Post by rene » Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:34 pm

You appear to have an extremely custom theme installed and I have indeed seen reports here on the forum of some themes causing this. I doubt you'll get much useful help until switching back to something a bit more standard...

User avatar
karlchen
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9321
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Processor keep at maximun capacity

Post by karlchen » Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:40 pm

Hello, starman101010.

Please, post an inxi -Fxz report.
Please, use gnome-system-monitor in order to identify the processes with the highest CPU load. Please, let us know which processes they are.
Could it be that Cinnamon is running in software-rendering mode? Without 3D hardware acceleration, the CPUs will have to do all the graphical work. This causes high CPU load and slows down the whole system dramatically.

Best regards,
Karl
Image
Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit Cinnamon Desktop, Total Commander 9.21a 64-bit
Ubuntu 18.04.1 32-bit Mate Desktop, Total Commander 9.21a 32-bit
Windows? - 1 window in every room

starman101010
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 10:15 pm

Re: Processor keep at maximun capacity

Post by starman101010 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:01 am

Thanks for answering.
It turns out that the problem haven't happened since I posted the issue here.
When the problem reappear I'll share the details with you.

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”