Shutdown using power button: why do I need to press twice?

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
jcockx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:21 am

Shutdown using power button: why do I need to press twice?

Post by jcockx » Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:27 am

I am running Mint 19 Tara with Cinnamon, and I configured the "Power Management" settings to shutdown my computer when I press the power button.

This usually works only when I press the power button twice. After the first press, typically some windows close and others remain open, and the computer does not shut down. After the second press, it shuts down as intended.

Why is this? Is this intended behavior?

murcsl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: Shutdown using power button: why do I need to press twice?

Post by murcsl » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:35 pm

Same probleme for me, if i try to shutdown/reboot using the menu. Every time i need to open the menu twice.

jcockx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:21 am

Re: Shutdown using power button: why do I need to press twice?

Post by jcockx » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:50 pm

Yes indeed, I also have this problem when shutting down via the menu. Same problem when trying to log out via the menu.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Shutdown using power button: why do I need to press twice?

Post by AZgl1500 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 5:58 pm

Make a Keyboard Shortcut

use the command shutdown 0 and it will go down "now" and won't ask forgiveness for making a mistake.
or you can use shutdown now

I use the combo cntl-alt-O

jcockx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:21 am

Re: Shutdown using power button: why do I need to press twice?

Post by jcockx » Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:54 am

Yes I can use a command to shutdown, or a keyboard shortcut, but that still doesn't answer the question: why doesn't this work using the menu, or power button? Is this intended behavior or a bug? If it is intended, why doesn't it ask for confirmation, instead of mysteriously failing to work the first time?

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Shutdown using power button: why do I need to press twice?

Post by AZgl1500 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:00 am

jcockx wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:54 am
Yes I can use a command to shutdown, or a keyboard shortcut, but that still doesn't answer the question: why doesn't this work using the menu, or power button? Is this intended behavior or a bug? If it is intended, why doesn't it ask for confirmation, instead of mysteriously failing to work the first time?
You can configure the Power Button in Preferences, but it is dangerous to have it immediately shutdown w/o the "are you sure?" box to come up.
powerButton.png

jcockx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:21 am

Re: Shutdown using power button: why do I need to press twice?

Post by jcockx » Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:37 am

Yes I get that, I might lose unsaved work etc.

So, why doesn't the "are you sure" box come up?

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Shutdown using power button: why do I need to press twice?

Post by AZgl1500 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 12:36 pm

jcockx wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:37 am
Yes I get that, I might lose unsaved work etc.

So, why doesn't the "are you sure" box come up?
for that, you need someone better than I to answer that one.

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”