[Solved] How to disable Workspaces?

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
DaveJones
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:37 pm

[Solved] How to disable Workspaces?

Post by DaveJones » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:13 am

Hi all,

Long time ago, there was an option in System Settings to change the number of Workspaces or to disable them (don't remember which) and now there's no way to do that. By default, LM has 4 Workspaces and I accidentally sometimes trigger them and switch to them. They annoy me.

Is there a way to disable Workspaces or set them to just one?

Thanks!
Dave
Last edited by DaveJones on Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7252
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to disable Workspaces?

Post by Moem » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:22 am

Enter the workspace overview mode by pressing Ctrl + Alt + upward arrow.
Select unwanted workspaces one by one, by clicking on them, and remove them by clicking the close button on each.
Leave the workspace overview mode by pressing Ctrl + Alt + upward arrow again.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

DaveJones
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: How to disable Workspaces?

Post by DaveJones » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:57 am

Moem wrote:
Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:22 am
Enter the workspace overview mode by pressing Ctrl + Alt + upward arrow.
Select unwanted workspaces one by one, by clicking on them, and remove them by clicking the close button on each.
Leave the workspace overview mode by pressing Ctrl + Alt + upward arrow again.
Thank you Moem! Is there a way to make this permanent so I don't have to do it every time I restart? Thanks so much!

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7252
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to disable Workspaces?

Post by Moem » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:07 pm

You should not need to do this again after a restart. The number of workspaces is supposed to stay the same after a restart. Has this not been happening for you so far?
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”