Desktop background color is dull/faded in Mint 19

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Rich52

Desktop background color is dull/faded in Mint 19

Post by Rich52 »

Hi there! I am fairly new to Linux. I recently installed Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon version 3.8.9 on my ASUS laptop alongside Windows 10 (dual boot). I noticed that the desktop background (wallpaper) in Mint is dull or faded looking. The image looks much more vibrant/saturated when opened with Xviewer or in Chrome where I originally downloaded the image. I also just noticed that it looks dull when I open it with Shotwell. I've attached a photo of my desktop with the same image open in Xviewer.

I found another forum that suggested the following command in Terminal, but it did not work for me (this worked for someone running Mint in VirtualBox VM which I am not). Switching the background to another image and back again also doesn't do anything.
gsettings set org.cinnamon.muffin background-transition 'none'
viewtopic.php?f=231&t=273812&p=1544926& ... d#p1544926

I'm not sure if it has anything to do with my graphics card, but I have an Intel Corporation HD Graphics 5500.

If anyone has any suggestions I'd greatly appreciate it! And let me know if you need any more information.

Thanks - Richard
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
smurphos
Level 18
Level 18

Re: Desktop background color is dull/faded in Mint 19

Post by smurphos »