"Cloning" cinnamon settings [Solved]

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
nelkor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:51 am

"Cloning" cinnamon settings [Solved]

Post by nelkor » Mon Jun 17, 2019 6:08 pm

I need to set up a number of machines, running Mint 19.1 Tessa, with identical Cinnamon settings. I have one machine set up as I want it but have now spent much of the past 3 days fiddling around with Cinnamon Settings, Applets and Panels in an attempt to duplicate the setup on another machine without success. I am hoping that there is some way of cloning the setup.

Clearly there is a file somewhere on the system that Cinnamon reads when it first runs on a new machine or user account because every new account created on a machine looks identical. Ideally I want to have that file configured so that it creates my preferred setup.

Does anyone know if it is possible and how?
Last edited by nelkor on Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

deepakdeshp
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5273
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: "Cloning" cinnamon settings

Post by deepakdeshp » Tue Jun 18, 2019 1:08 am

If all are 64 bit machines, you can use Clonezilla to backup and restore your full system.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19.1 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
philotux
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 828
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:14 am
Location: Utopia

Re: "Cloning" cinnamon settings

Post by philotux » Tue Jun 18, 2019 1:38 am

I am not using Cinnamon at the moment but I believe it keeps its configuration in /home/username/.cinnamon/ also written as ~/.cinnamon

To get there go to your home directory and press Ctrl-h. Copy the .Cinnamon folder to an external medium. Copy over the folder to the home directory of the other machine.

Hope this helps!

User avatar
smurphos
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3734
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: "Cloning" cinnamon settings

Post by smurphos » Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:09 am

For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

nelkor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:51 am

Re: "Cloning" cinnamon settings

Post by nelkor » Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:58 am

Thanks smurphos. I had got to the dconf dump/load procedure but didn't think to backup the other directories. Your answer certainly solves the question I asked.

I am finding that configuring cinnamon via the applets and panels is much more awkward and fiddly now than it was in earlier versions on Mint. Or maybe my old brain simply doesn't remember how I set up my main account originally.

I need too look at your other tips about cinnamon.

Thanks again

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”