Screen resolution

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
Zessofed
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:40 am
Location: Antwerp

Screen resolution

Post by Zessofed » Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:35 am

Hi,

Running: Mint 19.1 Cinnamon (New installation from scratch)
Machine: Dell Precision M4800
Using NVidia driver for the build-in Quadro-K2100M video card. Nvidia-driver-418 was set as recommended at installation.
Display manager: Lightdm

The resolution setting in [System Settings] [Hardware] [Display] is given as: 3200x1800 (16x9) - Laptop DP-4
The resolution setting in [System Settings] [Administration][nvidia settings] is given as:
NVIDIA X Server Setting - XServer Display Configuration: sharp (DP-4 on GPU-0) 3200x1800
Resolution: Auto
ViewPortIn: 3200x1800
ViewPortOut: 3200x1800+0+0
Panning: 3200x1800

Everything points to a screen resolution of 3200x1800.
But that is not the real resolution of the screen! The real resolution is lot less.

The real resolution is showed when: Right click somewhere on the desktop and select from the drop down menu [customize].
The header of the popping up window reads: Current Monitor Layout (DP-4 - 1600x900)

That last value of 1600x900 is more like the real resolution.
It is also visible that the resolution goes from high (3200x1800) to a low (1600x900) at boot time.
The mouse point goes from small/tiny to bigger just before the login screen appears.

I would like to make the resolution higher that the 1600x900 and know the screen can do it because the hardware setting is 3200x1800.
But there is nowhere any option or possibility to change (graphically) the resolution.

I can, maybe, change in the Nvidia driver setting the resolution from auto to a fixed value and see if that works.
BUT

When I do that the NVidia diver tool asks to save the changed setting to a file.
Normally I should write them to a /etc/X11/Xorg.conf file but there is no such file.
I don't think that will solve the issue because the display manager or cinnamon gets another value for the resolution from somewhere else.

Somebody any idea, hint or other on how to change the resolution?
Where, from what file or directory does the [Customize][Current Monitor] window get it's information?

Many thanks in advance

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1135
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: Screen resolution

Post by absque fenestris » Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:56 am

The high resolution of 3200x1800 pixels leads to a very fine and detailed reproduction. The naked eye does not perceive single pixels. This also results in a lot of room on the desktop and easily allows placing several windows, documents and charts beside each other on the desktop.
from here: https://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-De ... 416.0.html

Seems you own a very high resolution monitor. Consult your manual... :mrgreen:
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2401
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Screen resolution

Post by AndyMH » Wed Jul 24, 2019 6:28 am

I'm assuming that menu > preferences > display is showing 1600x900 and you cannot set a higher resolution?
Try using cvt to get a modeline:

Code: Select all

andy@T432 ~ $ cvt 3200 1800
# 3200x1800 59.96 Hz (CVT 5.76M9) hsync: 111.82 kHz; pclk: 492.00 MHz
Modeline "3200x1800_60.00"  492.00  3200 3456 3800 4400  1800 1803 1808 1865 -hsync +vsync
And then use that modeline with xrandr to set a new mode. xrandr on its own will tell you what port the screen is on (DP-4?), and then

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode HDMI-2 "3200x1800"  492.00  3200 3456 3800 4400  1800 1803 1808 1865 -hsync +vsync 
xrandr --addmode HDMI-2 "3200x1800"
replacing HDMI-2 with the port you found with xrandr and the modeline in the example with the one you got from cvt. Then go back to menu > preferences > display, is it listed, does it work?
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

Zessofed
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:40 am
Location: Antwerp

Re: Screen resolution

Post by Zessofed » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:32 am

Hi @andyT432,

Sorry for the late reply. I've been out of order for a while, back now.

I tried your suggestions (Thanks for them), BUT:

running: cvt 3200 1800 results in this terminal output
# 3200x1800 59.96 Hz (CVT 5.76M9) hsync: 111.82 kHz; pclk: 492.00 MHz
Modeline "3200x1800_60.00" 492.00 3200 3456 3800 4400 1800 1803 1808 1865 -hsync +vsync

entering that in xrandr as:
xrandr --newmode DP-4 "3200x1800_60.00" 492.00 3200 3456 3800 4400 1800 1803 1808 1865 -hsync +vsync

Results in:
xrandr: unrecognized option '-hsync'
Try 'xrandr --help' for more information.

When running xrandr --help, the line for --newmode reads:
--newmode <name> <clock MHz>
<hdisp> <hsync-start> <hsync-end> <htotal>
<vdisp> <vsync-start> <vsync-end> <vtotal>
[flags...]
Valid flags: +HSync -HSync +VSync -VSync
+CSync -CSync CSync Interlace DoubleScan

Thus I change -hsync and +vsync into -HSync and +VSync before running the command again, but I keep getting the error message about -hsync.

Other thing:
I searched around for xrandr stuff an found a kind of GUI tool for xrandr, called ARandR
When running that tool it tells me that the resolution for DP-4 is 3200x1800

Also the NVidia manager software shows a 3200x1800 resolution

But: right click somewhere on the desktop and select from teh fall down menu [Customize] shows 1600x900 as resolution.

So, I'm confused now.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2401
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Screen resolution

Post by AndyMH » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:45 am

Two thoughts:
  • cvt may not be returning the right modeline, I had that problem in this post viewtopic.php?f=46&t=280143&hilit=ultrawide. I installed read-edid and used that, it's somewhere towards the bottom of the first page of the link
  • You haven't said what kernel you are running and I'm wondering if a later kernel might fix the problem.
What I can't help with is the nvidia graphics - don't have one in my laptop. There may be settings there or a different driver? My desktop has a GTX1080 in it and I think I'm running a 390? driver - never had any problems and it's only driving a 1920x1080 screen so never had to troubleshoot. Hopefully someone else...
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3388
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Screen resolution

Post by roblm » Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:42 pm

Zessofed,

Use this command in the Terminal and copy the output:
xrandr --prop; xvidtune -show; cat ~/.config/monitors.xml

Open the Mint Forum reply window and select </> at the top. Press Ctrl+V to paste the copied lines into a code display window.

Zessofed
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:40 am
Location: Antwerp

Re: Screen resolution

Post by Zessofed » Mon Sep 02, 2019 2:12 pm

Hi,

Again thanks for the answers!

@roblm; I tried the command you supplied and everything reported back has the resolution of 3200x1800.
But the right-click somewhere on the desktop - Customize reports a other resolution as showed in the attached screenshot
Could not add an image, so attached it as file:
Desktop_Customize.png
I found in Startup Application something called "Cinnamon Setting Deamon - xrandr"
Maybe that is the cause, but I don't know where it gets it's information.
I've turned that application off and after posting this I will reboot and view what's happening.~
I'll be back ....

Back after reboot:
No change in behaviour.
Before login the cursor (arrow) is small and after login it suddenly turns into a bigger on (resolution gets set to less).

Forgot to answer andy@T432 question about kernel version:
This is the kernel: 4.15.0-58-generic

I've also attached the output of roblm's command:
Monitors.txt
(815 Bytes) Downloaded 8 times

Kind regards,

Marc

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3388
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Screen resolution

Post by roblm » Mon Sep 02, 2019 7:02 pm

Zessofed wrote:I can, maybe, change in the Nvidia driver setting the resolution from auto to a fixed value and see if that works.
BUT

When I do that the NVidia diver tool asks to save the changed setting to a file.
After setting the resolution, click the Apply button. To save the setting, open the Display program and click the Apply button. The setting will be saved in the monitors.xml file, which will override any setting in the xorg.conf file, except for special configurations.

You should easily be able to distinguish the difference between a 1600x900 and a 3200x1800 resolution on your 15.6 inch screen. I have the same size on my laptop and the 1920x1080 native resolution produces a text and image size that is a little too small for my liking. 1600x900 is just about right. I can’t imagine trying to read the super tiny text if the resolution was 3200x1800.

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”