Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

I installed 19.2 on my old laptop and thought it was all going to work fine as I had KDE 17.1 on it before. At first I thought that this little pc could not run Cinnamon, and still don't know for sure. I think the only issues I'm having now is Chrome Crashing, and don't know why? I Turned Off "Use hardware acceleration when available" but didn't seem to help. In Cinnamon went to Settings > 'Appearance' 'Effects' 'Enable Effects' and turned them all OFF! Honestly I've not been on Linux much lately so forget how I would go about fixing Chrome? Go Reinstall it?

Code: Select all

pcpunk@pcpunk-HP-Compaq-nx7400-EN352UTR-ABA:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: pcpunk-HP-Compaq-nx7400-EN352UTR-ABA Kernel: 4.15.0-72-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.4.0 
           Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.4 Distro: Linux Mint 19.2 Tina base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Compaq nx7400 (EN352UTR#ABA) v: F.08 serial: <filter> 
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 30A2 v: KBC Version 40.17 serial: <filter> BIOS: Hewlett-Packard v: 68YGU Ver. F.08 
           date: 10/23/2006 
Battery:   ID-1: C1B9 charge: 10.2 Wh condition: 25.3/25.3 Wh (100%) model: Hewlett-Packard Primary status: Unknown 
           Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech Wireless Mouse M525 charge: 100% status: Discharging 
CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core2 T5500 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Core Merom rev: 2 L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 6649 
           Speed: 997 MHz min/max: 1000/1667 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 997 2: 997 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: i915 
           v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: intel unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1280x800~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GM v: 1.4 Mesa 19.0.8 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 00:1b.0 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-72-generic 
Network:   Device-1: Broadcom and subsidiaries BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX vendor: Hewlett-Packard NX7300 laptop driver: b44 v: 2.0 
           port: 40d0 bus ID: 02:0e.0 
           Device-2: Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: iwl3945 v: in-tree:s 
           port: 40d0 bus ID: 10:00.0 
           IF: wlp16s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
           IF-ID-1: eth0 state: down mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 104.35 GiB used: 28.68 GiB (27.5%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST980825AS size: 74.53 GiB 
           ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: Lexar model: USB Flash Drive size: 29.82 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 15.77 GiB used: 7.01 GiB (44.5%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
           ID-2: /home size: 56.21 GiB used: 291.9 MiB (0.5%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5 
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 1.03 GiB used: 268 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 50.0 C mobo: 46.0 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:      Processes: 188 Uptime: 53m Memory: 3.29 GiB used: 1.17 GiB (35.5%) Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 
           Shell: bash v: 4.4.20 inxi: 3.0.32 
pcpunk@pcpunk-HP-Compaq-nx7400-EN352UTR-ABA:~$ 
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

Really weird, I have not had a freeze now that I posted this thread! Maybe it took a Restart of Chrome after turning Off "Use hardware acceleration when available" to take affect? I will keep on using it to see if it freezes again.
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

Freezing again! The weird thing is I can easily shut down chrome with the little x in upper right corner.
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
User avatar
smurphos
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7150
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by smurphos »

It's pretty old hardware to run Cinnamon well - personally I think you are more likely to get a decent user experience with MATE or XFCE.
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

@smurphos, yes, I know that but want to run Cinnamon, and now I think I can because I've narrowed it down to Chrome. Mate has a major flaw with the File Manager getting stuck in the panel and I cannot work like that. Should be fixed in the next LTS Series I filed a bug report to the Mate guys. Don't like Xfce and there are to many distros out there to use something that I don't get on with.

I will work on fixing Chrome and see how that goes, thanks!

PS Love your artwork, I assume that is you I see in the Themes section?
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

I guess I'll have to run something else as this is not working. Weird thought that the only issue I'm having is with chrome and chromium? I purged chrome and reinstalled but it is still freezing.
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
User avatar
lsemmens
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3498
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by lsemmens »

How much RAM has your system got? XFCE may not be as bad as you think, I use it on one older machine and hardly notice any difference.
Fully mint Household
Out of my mind - please leave a message
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

4gb

I don't think it has anything to do with Cinnamon, well, partially-maybe. I see now that chrome and chromium won't run but cinnamon runs fine. It must have to do with chromium's requirements. I would love for someone to explain why, and if it has anything to do with Cinnamon or not, I suspect YES? Here is my info again for those coming in late.

Code: Select all

Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: intel unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1280x800~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GM v: 1.4 Mesa 19.0.8 direct render: Yes 

What are the minimum hardware requirements?
The open-source nature of Chromium OS allows it to be ported to an expanding range of hardware; however, some base requirements are likely to remain fixed.

Hardware-accelerated OpenGL or OpenGL ES support is mandatory, and the Chromium browser's memory footprint is an obvious lower bound for RAM.
https://www.chromium.org/chromium-os/ho ... eloper-faq
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
User avatar
smurphos
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7150
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by smurphos »

For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

@smurphos, that was a great find. I cannot believe there are such bad problems with Chrome on Linux that this would go on for so long. Happy that I now know that I can keep Cinnamon on my old machine as everything else seems to run fine.

I wonder if I can install 78 and somehow keep it from updating?

Another thing: Am I supposed to be installing from the repos or from google. I see Chrome in the repos now!
Thanks, pc!
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
Hoser Rob
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6254
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by Hoser Rob »

pcpunk wrote:
Fri Jan 03, 2020 11:24 pm
4gb

I don't think it has anything to do with Cinnamon...
Everryone else replying here does. Cinnamon is meant for modern hardware, not 2006 boxes.
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

It's a Chromium bug, nothing to do with Cinnamon
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

Where can I get old versions of chrome?
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

I cannot Right Click Open another Instance on FIle Manager in Panel?

edit: I see now, Home
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

Why aren't more people having issues with Chrome and Chromium? Why am I always the only one lol.
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

Hoser Rob wrote:
Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:08 am
pcpunk wrote:
Fri Jan 03, 2020 11:24 pm
4gb

I don't think it has anything to do with Cinnamon...
Everryone else replying here does. Cinnamon is meant for modern hardware, not 2006 boxes.
Don't put down my 2006 box Rob haha. Well, so far it is working fine with Cinnamon 19.2! I like it so will keep it for a while. If needed I've decided I'll move to Mate 18.3 as 19 don't give me Wifi, and I don't mind only a year of support. Also, KDE 18.3 worked quite nice also, I just don't like Xfce, and cannot live with that.

Thanks for all the help, I'm moving to the other thread with the Browser problems. Untill Cinnamon crashes I'll stick with it.
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
User avatar
trytip
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4782
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by trytip »

pcpunk wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:42 pm
Why aren't more people having issues with Chrome and Chromium? Why am I always the only one lol.
rename your .config/google-chrome folder and try a new profile. you could have extensions that are corrupt or not compatible.
Image
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

I already uninstalled an purge'd the config file and reinstalled to no avail.
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
pcpunk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 958
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by pcpunk »

Everything was working good, but then did some testing to see if I could replicate the Double Icon issue some are having with Upgrades to 19.3 and now the Chromium issue is back!
HP Compaq nx7400, Cinnamon 19.2
Intel R Core™2CPU, T5500@1.66GHz, 4GB Crucial RAM
Super Clean Runs Perfect
rene
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6623
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Can I run Cinnamon on this machine?

Post by rene »

"Purging" in the sense of apt and reinstalling does not affect per-user configuration. I.e., try what trytip suggested.
Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”