Problems with 3 monitor system

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
Pei-turn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:42 am

Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by Pei-turn »

Hi,
I have a problem with connecting 2 additional monitors to my laptop, the second monitor is mirrored with the laptop monitor but it should be extended. what should i do?

My setup is as follows:

Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Dell XPS 13 7390
Dell dock WD19TB
2 x 27" UHD monitors connected through the dock via Displayport

xrandr output:

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 9600 x 2160, maximum 16384 x 16384
eDP-1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 293mm x 162mm
   1920x1080     60.03*+  48.03  
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-2-1 connected primary 3840x2160+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 600mm x 340mm
   3840x2160     60.00*+  30.00  
   2560x1440     59.95  
   1920x1080     60.00    59.94  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1152x864      59.97  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94  
   1024x768      60.00  
   800x600       60.32  
   720x480       60.00    59.94  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
DP-2-2 connected 3840x2160+5760+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 600mm x 340mm
   3840x2160     60.00*+  30.00  
   2560x1440     59.95  
   1920x1080     60.00    59.94  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1152x864      59.97  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94  
   1024x768      60.00  
   800x600       60.32  
   720x480       60.00    59.94  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
DP-2-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
My monitors.xml:

Code: Select all

<monitors version="1">
  <configuration>
      <clone>no</clone>
      <output name="eDP-1">
          <vendor>AUO</vendor>
          <product>0x5b2d</product>
          <serial>0x00000000</serial>
          <width>1920</width>
          <height>1080</height>
          <rate>60</rate>
          <x>0</x>
          <y>0</y>
          <rotation>normal</rotation>
          <reflect_x>no</reflect_x>
          <reflect_y>no</reflect_y>
          <primary>no</primary>
      </output>
      <output name="DP-2-1">
          <vendor>GSM</vendor>
          <product>0x5b09</product>
          <serial>0x00007f40</serial>
          <width>3840</width>
          <height>2160</height>
          <rate>60</rate>
          <x>1920</x>
          <y>0</y>
          <rotation>normal</rotation>
          <reflect_x>no</reflect_x>
          <reflect_y>no</reflect_y>
          <primary>yes</primary>
      </output>
      <output name="DP-2-2">
          <vendor>GSM</vendor>
          <product>0x5b09</product>
          <serial>0x0006b11b</serial>
          <width>3840</width>
          <height>2160</height>
          <rate>60</rate>
          <x>5760</x>
          <y>0</y>
          <rotation>normal</rotation>
          <reflect_x>no</reflect_x>
          <reflect_y>no</reflect_y>
          <primary>no</primary>
      </output>
  </configuration>
</monitors>
Selection_001.png
20200410_115109.jpg

User avatar
mikaelrask
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:38 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by mikaelrask »

hey you need to connect a second hdmi cable between the montors and then go into there menu and set it to mirrored, should be the easy why to get pictures on the two monitors. i help a friend a few mounts ago to set up two monitor from a desktop.
CPU Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-9700K CPU @ 3.60GHz
Graphic Card: nvidia 2070 super
Ram 16 GB
Kernel: 5.4.0.33-generic
kubuntu 20.04

Laptop:
CPU Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-245m
cinnamon 19.3
Kernel 4.15.0.101-generic
Ram 4 gb

Pei-turn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:42 am

Re: Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by Pei-turn »

mikaelrask wrote:
Fri Apr 10, 2020 11:59 am
hey you need to connect a second hdmi cable between the montors and then go into there menu and set it to mirrored, should be the easy why to get pictures on the two monitors. i help a friend a few mounts ago to set up two monitor from a desktop.
I want the desktop to be extended, not mirrored :)

User avatar
MoreLinux
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 4:41 am

Re: Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by MoreLinux »

I'm not using a dock, but that might be the problem.

I have two monitors connected directly to the laptop and have three separate screens.

Maybe you need to daisy chain the two monitors. Look at this post on the Ubuntu forum: https://askubuntu.com/questions/1012446 ... -13-ubuntu

Pei-turn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:42 am

Re: Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by Pei-turn »

MoreLinux wrote:
Sat Apr 11, 2020 5:37 am
I'm not using a dock, but that might be the problem.

I have two monitors connected directly to the laptop and have three separate screens.

Maybe you need to daisy chain the two monitors. Look at this post on the Ubuntu forum: https://askubuntu.com/questions/1012446 ... -13-ubuntu
I dont think i can make a Daisy chain. the monitors support dp1.2 but does not have a displayport out...

Pei-turn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:42 am

Re: Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by Pei-turn »

Hi, i tried to install Windows 10 in dual boot just to see if it was a hardware problem or a software problem and everything works fine in windows with the desktop extended over all three screens.... anyone got any idea of what to do?

Pei-turn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:42 am

Re: Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by Pei-turn »

Ok so i got all 3 screens running extended now but not in UHD (3840x2160) so i am starting to think that it is some problem with the thunderbolt 3 driver or something like that because it needs to be full speed to support 2 UHD screens.

User avatar
mikaelrask
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:38 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by mikaelrask »

hey check with this thread and see if that can help you out https://askubuntu.com/questions/1052380 ... untu-18-04. can you also run this command so we can get your system spec

Code: Select all

 inxi -Fxz 
.
CPU Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-9700K CPU @ 3.60GHz
Graphic Card: nvidia 2070 super
Ram 16 GB
Kernel: 5.4.0.33-generic
kubuntu 20.04

Laptop:
CPU Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-245m
cinnamon 19.3
Kernel 4.15.0.101-generic
Ram 4 gb

Pei-turn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:42 am

Re: Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by Pei-turn »

mikaelrask wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:15 pm
hey check with this thread and see if that can help you out https://askubuntu.com/questions/1052380 ... untu-18-04. can you also run this command so we can get your system spec

Code: Select all

 inxi -Fxz 
.
I checked that thread and i do have bolt installed already and i dont think its a bios issue as i can use the screens in extended but not in full resolution.

inxi -Fxz output:

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: peter-laptop Kernel: 5.3.0-46-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 7.5.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.4.8 Distro: Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: Dell product: XPS 13 7390 v: N/A serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: Dell model: 0G2D0W v: A00 serial: <filter> UEFI: Dell v: 1.2.0 
  date: 10/03/2019 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 32.1 Wh condition: 49.4/52.0 Wh (95%) 
  model: SMP DELL G8VCF6C status: Unknown 
  Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech Wireless Keyboard charge: 55% 
  status: Discharging 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-10510U bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  arch: Kaby Lake rev: C L2 cache: 8192 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 36799 
  Speed: 3951 MHz min/max: 400/4900 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2664 2: 1602 
  3: 1122 4: 1253 5: 1853 6: 1069 7: 956 8: 1507 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel vendor: Dell driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.5 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz, 2560x1440~60Hz, 2560x1440~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel UHD Graphics (Comet Lake 3x8 GT2) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 19.2.8 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel vendor: Dell driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
  bus ID: 00:1f.3 
  Device-2: Realtek type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio bus ID: 5-2.3.4:7 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.3.0-46-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Intel vendor: Bigfoot Networks driver: iwlwifi v: kernel 
  port: efa0 bus ID: 02:00.0 
  IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Realtek type: USB driver: r8152 bus ID: 6-2.4:4 
  IF: enx98e743f20e17 state: down mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-1: br-00c6c26013a9 state: up speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-2: br-5fe871f5ad77 state: up speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-3: br-e3e895f0ed3a state: down mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-4: docker0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-5: veth0e3076c state: up speed: 10000 Mbps duplex: full 
  mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-6: veth2b369c6 state: up speed: 10000 Mbps duplex: full 
  mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-7: veth521650b state: up speed: 10000 Mbps duplex: full 
  mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-8: veth5d55e21 state: up speed: 10000 Mbps duplex: full 
  mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-9: veth5e33b82 state: up speed: 10000 Mbps duplex: full 
  mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-10: veth71666d3 state: up speed: 10000 Mbps duplex: full 
  mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-11: vetha1bd2ed state: up speed: 10000 Mbps duplex: full 
  mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-12: vethc1ea311 state: up speed: 10000 Mbps duplex: full 
  mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-13: vethe89419a state: up speed: 10000 Mbps duplex: full 
  mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 476.94 GiB used: 141.22 GiB (29.6%) 
  ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: SSDPEMKF512G8 NVMe INTEL 512GB size: 476.94 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 327.17 GiB used: 70.29 GiB (21.5%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/nvme0n1p3 
  ID-2: /boot size: 671.0 MiB used: 244.7 MiB (36.5%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2 
  ID-3: swap-1 size: 2.00 GiB used: 368.5 MiB (18.0%) fs: swap 
  dev: /dev/dm-0 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 49.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 349 Uptime: 6h 19m Memory: 15.40 GiB used: 4.16 GiB (27.0%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.5.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.20 
  inxi: 3.0.32 


User avatar
mikaelrask
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:38 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by mikaelrask »

use the xrandr command to set the resolution for the monitor that does not scale properly. https://askubuntu.com/questions/377937/ ... resolution im no expert on xrandr but hopefully that threat can help you out.
CPU Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-9700K CPU @ 3.60GHz
Graphic Card: nvidia 2070 super
Ram 16 GB
Kernel: 5.4.0.33-generic
kubuntu 20.04

Laptop:
CPU Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-245m
cinnamon 19.3
Kernel 4.15.0.101-generic
Ram 4 gb

CygXanadu
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:33 pm

Re: Problems with 3 monitor system

Post by CygXanadu »

Pei-turn wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 3:42 am
Hi, i tried to install Windows 10 in dual boot just to see if it was a hardware problem or a software problem and everything works fine in windows with the desktop extended over all three screens.... anyone got any idea of what to do?
Stay with Windows 10 then, no more issues.

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”