LM20.2 Cinnamon excessive space between Menu and dropdown menu items

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
linoleum
Level 2
Level 2

LM20.2 Cinnamon excessive space between Menu and dropdown menu items

Post by linoleum »

Hi all. I've got one peeve and one problem since I upgraded from LM18.3 just recently. I am a relative noob despite the length of time I've been running LM (I started with 17.1) but I wasn't bad with MS W*nd*ws so thought I'd be able to sort these out easily.

The 'peeve' is why are the contents (icons and text descriptions) of the menus (LM's own plus those in installed apps) so large and spaced out? In LM18 they were condensed with little space in between lines and fitted on my screen without any need to scroll but in LM20.2 I have to scroll quite a few to get to the bottom. How do I make them small, neat and tidy again? Is it something to do with the MintY theme?

The 'problem' I have appears to be predominantly in LibreOffice and it's menu related again. It does peeve me that, once again, the icons are huge and the space between them excessive but I'm trying to print off a document and the Print menu is too long for the screen and there's no scroll bar or arrowhead to enable me to get to the bottom where the 'Print' button is. I can grab the menu by its title and move it around the screen but it won't let me get to the bottom of the menu. I've attached a screengrab. Any suggestions as to what I can do?

Thanks in anticipation.
Attachments
Screenshot from 2021-11-23 18-07-38.png
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
mikeflan
Level 17
Level 17

Re: LM20.2 Cinnamon excessive space between Menu and dropdown menu items

Post by mikeflan »