Cinnamon / Gnome 3 performance issues

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Alohacoconut78
Level 1
Level 1

Cinnamon / Gnome 3 performance issues

Post by Alohacoconut78 »

Hi, I've been using Linux Mint for a couple of years now, due to me having less and less time as I grow older, and Linux Mint just works with minimal effort from the end user.

Gnome 3 pretty much ruined my desktop experience, in so many ways. Cinnamon seems like a nice initiative to make Gnome 3 what it should have been from the start, but it seems to mainly address the usability issues with Gnome 3. Apart from the (massive) usability issues, I'm also having severe performance issues in Gnome 3. My computer isn't new, but with a dual core 2 GHz CPU, 2 GB RAM and a Geforce 7600 GT, don't tell me I need better hardware for a reasonable desktop experience :)
The Linux Mint menu is one of the mail culprits, performance wise, but Gnome 3 is just generally _ALOT_ slower than Gnome 2/XFCE/LXDE.

Cinnamon made me feel more at home in Gnome 3, and I'm sure further improvements will make it feel even more like Gnome 2, but due to the performance, unless it improves alot, I'll likely switch to LXDE or XFCE permanently. MATE could be an alternative, but I'm sceptic about how long it will be maintained.

So, my main question is if this is something that can be remedied with the cinnamon project, or if it's just the core of Gnome 3 that's, well.. crap, performance wise?

(And thank you for an awesome Linux distro)
cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5

Re: Cinnamon / Gnome 3 performance issues

Post by cwwgateway »

Alohacoconut78 wrote:Hi, I've been using Linux Mint for a couple of years now, due to me having less and less time as I grow older, and Linux Mint just works with minimal effort from the end user.