[SOLVED] Cinnamon won't load

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
tfdjim
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:22 pm

[SOLVED] Cinnamon won't load

Post by tfdjim » Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:18 pm

I have Mint 12 installed in Virtualbox. I have followed the instructions to install Cinnamon. After Cinnamon installation, I restart my computer, choose Cinnamon at the login screen, enter my password and hit Enter. Mint boots into Gnome, not Cinnamon. :( I logged out, verified that Cinnamon was chosen at the login screen, login in again w/ the same result. This happened w/ v. 1.3 and 1.4.

To verify the login menu was working, I logged out, chose Mate and logged in. Mate came up. I logged out, chose Cinnamon, logged in and Gnome came up.

Any thoughts on why Cinnamon won't load?
Last edited by tfdjim on Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kc1di
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5486
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Post by kc1di » Fri Mar 23, 2012 3:04 pm

tfdjim wrote:I have Mint 12 installed in Virtualbox. I have followed the instructions to install Cinnamon. After Cinnamon installation, I restart my computer, choose Cinnamon at the login screen, enter my password and hit Enter. Mint boots into Gnome, not Cinnamon. :( I logged out, verified that Cinnamon was chosen at the login screen, login in again w/ the same result. This happened w/ v. 1.3 and 1.4.

To verify the login menu was working, I logged out, chose Mate and logged in. Mate came up. I logged out, chose Cinnamon, logged in and Gnome came up.

Any thoughts on why Cinnamon won't load?
I am not using Virtualbox so don't know exactly if this is possible or not. but how did you do the install of Cinnamon? I just installed in using synaptic and all worked well.
if you used a different method maybe you did not get all the need files. Cinnamon-session comes to mind.
Easy tips : https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.com/ Pjotr's Great Linux projects page.
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608

tfdjim
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:22 pm

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Post by tfdjim » Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:14 pm

I installed thru a terminal window - sudo apt-get install cinnamon

Cinnamon-session not a choice thru synaptic pkg mgr. Tried installing cinnamon-session thru terminal, terminal switched to cinnamon and stated I had most recent version installed.

User avatar
kc1di
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5486
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Post by kc1di » Sat Mar 24, 2012 7:22 am

I'm Afraid I don't have the answer for you sorry :(

Someone with more knowledge than I will have to chime in.
Easy tips : https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.com/ Pjotr's Great Linux projects page.
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608

The Diamond Geezer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 3:47 am

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Post by The Diamond Geezer » Sat Mar 24, 2012 7:05 pm

-When you choose Gnome, do you get full-blown gnome-shell or fallback mode?

-Have you maxed your graphic memory to 128 MB and enabled 3D acceleration in the Guest's settings?

-Have you installed the latest (4.1.10) Guest Additions?

Wozblod
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:20 am

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Post by Wozblod » Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:56 pm

I get the same problem but I am not using VBox, rather i installed LM12 to hd. It behaves just like he said and I cant find out how to fix this. Any suggestions?

tfdjim
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:22 pm

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Post by tfdjim » Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:10 pm

The Diamond Geezer wrote:-When you choose Gnome, do you get full-blown gnome-shell or fallback mode?

-Have you maxed your graphic memory to 128 MB and enabled 3D acceleration in the Guest's settings?

-Have you installed the latest (4.1.10) Guest Additions?
I got fallback mode. I double checked the graphics memory and it was not at 128MB. I did install VB 4.1.10 and the 4.1.10 guest additions.

One or the combination of the last two did the trick. I now have Cinnamon.

thx for your help.

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”