Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] Cinnamon won't load

Posted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:18 pm
by tfdjim
I have Mint 12 installed in Virtualbox. I have followed the instructions to install Cinnamon. After Cinnamon installation, I restart my computer, choose Cinnamon at the login screen, enter my password and hit Enter. Mint boots into Gnome, not Cinnamon. :( I logged out, verified that Cinnamon was chosen at the login screen, login in again w/ the same result. This happened w/ v. 1.3 and 1.4.

To verify the login menu was working, I logged out, chose Mate and logged in. Mate came up. I logged out, chose Cinnamon, logged in and Gnome came up.

Any thoughts on why Cinnamon won't load?

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Posted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 3:04 pm
by kc1di
tfdjim wrote:I have Mint 12 installed in Virtualbox. I have followed the instructions to install Cinnamon. After Cinnamon installation, I restart my computer, choose Cinnamon at the login screen, enter my password and hit Enter. Mint boots into Gnome, not Cinnamon. :( I logged out, verified that Cinnamon was chosen at the login screen, login in again w/ the same result. This happened w/ v. 1.3 and 1.4.

To verify the login menu was working, I logged out, chose Mate and logged in. Mate came up. I logged out, chose Cinnamon, logged in and Gnome came up.

Any thoughts on why Cinnamon won't load?
I am not using Virtualbox so don't know exactly if this is possible or not. but how did you do the install of Cinnamon? I just installed in using synaptic and all worked well.
if you used a different method maybe you did not get all the need files. Cinnamon-session comes to mind.

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Posted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:14 pm
by tfdjim
I installed thru a terminal window - sudo apt-get install cinnamon

Cinnamon-session not a choice thru synaptic pkg mgr. Tried installing cinnamon-session thru terminal, terminal switched to cinnamon and stated I had most recent version installed.

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 7:22 am
by kc1di
I'm Afraid I don't have the answer for you sorry :(

Someone with more knowledge than I will have to chime in.

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 7:05 pm
by The Diamond Geezer
-When you choose Gnome, do you get full-blown gnome-shell or fallback mode?

-Have you maxed your graphic memory to 128 MB and enabled 3D acceleration in the Guest's settings?

-Have you installed the latest (4.1.10) Guest Additions?

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:56 pm
by Wozblod
I get the same problem but I am not using VBox, rather i installed LM12 to hd. It behaves just like he said and I cant find out how to fix this. Any suggestions?

Re: Cinnamon won't load

Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:10 pm
by tfdjim
The Diamond Geezer wrote:-When you choose Gnome, do you get full-blown gnome-shell or fallback mode?

-Have you maxed your graphic memory to 128 MB and enabled 3D acceleration in the Guest's settings?

-Have you installed the latest (4.1.10) Guest Additions?
I got fallback mode. I double checked the graphics memory and it was not at 128MB. I did install VB 4.1.10 and the 4.1.10 guest additions.

One or the combination of the last two did the trick. I now have Cinnamon.

thx for your help.