What would determine whether to use X or Y theme?

Style your desktop
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
oldwierdal
Level 3
Level 3

What would determine whether to use X or Y theme?

Post by oldwierdal »

I am beginning to think that I don't understand what I thought I knew.
I've been using Linux Mint since about 2010 or so, and I am quite happy with it. Currently, I'm using Linux Mint 17.3, and the so-called 'X-theme.' Frankly, I don't know why I chose the 'X-theme' over the 'Y-theme.' Is the choice of X or Y based on hardware or aesthetics? I haven't seen a machine using the 'Y-theme,' I don't think. So I honestly don't know the difference. It does seem that the 'Y-theme' tends to be darker, but even about that, I am unsure.
I do know that my desktop looks very much the same as it has through all the many iterations of Linux Mint going back to LM 12 or LM 14. And, I'm pretty sure that I'm using the 'X-theme,' but of that I am not absolutely certain.
I have avoided Linux Mint 18 simply because it just didn't seem to behave as I've grown accustomed to with Linux Mint 17. But the little I have read of the soon-to-be-released Linux Mint 19 said that the default would be the 'Y-theme.' Does this mean that I'm looking forward to a wrestling match if I choose to continue with the 'X-theme?'

Could someone help an old fart with this?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
owa
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Linux vobiscum! Et cum source-code, tuo!
JosephM
Level 6
Level 6

Re: What would determine whether to use X or Y theme?

Post by JosephM »

In short, it's really just a matter of personal taste. Mint19 will have both the X and Y theme included, so you can use what you like.