Posting screenshots problem [Solved]

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
deanr72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 2:00 pm
Location: Poland

Posting screenshots problem [Solved]

Post by deanr72 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:51 pm

I've done it before but for some reason I can't seem to post screenshots here anymore. I'm using the same uploader (tinypic) and making sure the images I want to upload are a reasonable size (approx 400-200) but the images won't upload. Has something changed that I need to bear in mind?

Thanks.
Last edited by deanr72 on Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by AZgl1500 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:35 pm

you can go to the bottom of the screen and click on "Attachments" and upload them provided they aren't too large.
it will error out if they are, so you resize, and do it again.

if you are using a webhost for the pix, click on the webhost's image you want, Right Click and choose "Copy Image Location" in Firefox.

then in the editor here, on the row of icons, choose the one that looks like a tiny Mountain Range,
that opens up a URL line for the image, paste in the URL to your image and hit <return>

you should be good to go that way.

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7512
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by phd21 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:46 pm

Hi deanr72,

I just read your post and the good replies to it. Here are my thoughts on this as well.

This Linux Mint forum will only allow small attachments of less than 200kb including directly uploading screenshots.

If you are using an image webhost like "tinypic", then just copy the web address (direct link) from there of the image, and paste that back into your post and reply, click the "rimg" toolbar button in the forum's post or reply then paste the URL link to the image. I think the forum requires that an image host use "https" not just "http" for security, and I am not sure that TinyPic does that. The advantage of using an image hosting website is that you do not need to do any image editing to use the image in your posts or replies.
should look something like below before clicking submit on your post or reply

Code: Select all

[rimg]http://i65.tinypic.com/30xbo81.jpg[/rimg]
or

Code: Select all

[rimg]https://i.postimg.cc/wjmTVcYF/Generic-Screenshot-20181012-170122.jpg[/rimg]

You can directly upload (attach) screenshots that are smaller than 200kb preferably 150kb or smaller in size which usually requires resizing (scaling) the image or cropping a portion of an image and perhaps saving it into a compressed image format like "jpg" rather than "png". It is easy to do and would not require uploading an image to an image hosting website first.

Uploading a screenshot, image, or images to this forum - Linux Mint Forums
viewtopic.php?f=42&t=232332&hilit=screenshot

Although I like TinyPic, I do not like having to enter verification and captcha codes all the time to upload image to their image hosting website. You might consider trying "postimages.org" or "imgur.com". Some screenshot apps like the superb "Ksnip" and some others can upload images directly to your imgur account or have options to resize (shrink, scale), crop, and to save as other formats like compressed "jpg'.

Hope this helps ...

Remote screenshot from TinyPic posted with the "rimg" tags, does not appear to be working
Image
.
Remote screenshot from PostImages.org with the "rimg" tags
Image
.
Screenshot as an attachment to this forum (direct upload) I resized (scaled) it to 80% of original image size which for me will usually shrink the image to a size that can fit into this forum.
TinyPic_1.jpg
Screenshot image of the TinyPic image hosting website as an attachment directly to this reply
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by AZgl1500 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:36 pm

My favorite web hosting site is www.imgur.com

a good one is www.imgbb.com but I don't like how it works, Imgur is much more professional and their Albums are great.

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7230
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by Moem » Sat Oct 13, 2018 3:05 am

Here's something that has changed: if you link to an image that's hosted externally, it will have to be https because http images are not accepted anymore.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
smurphos
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2254
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher...

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by smurphos » Sat Oct 13, 2018 3:23 am

imgur defaults to https. Also no need for an account it allows anonymous uploads - albeit if you later decide you didn't want something uploaded it's a pain to get it removed again (once accidently uploaded a screenshot with my email address visible - doh!)

If you use Cinnamon this applet is a great screenshot utility - and automates the upload to imgur function - https://github.com/rjanja/desktop-capture

It also supports Byzanz, an animated gif screen-recorder so you can post short movies like this.... :)

Image

User avatar
deanr72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 2:00 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by deanr72 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:27 am

Thanks for the responses so far. I'll look into each method!

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4661
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by gm10 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:34 am

smurphos wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 3:23 am
It also supports Byzanz, an animated gif screen-recorder so you can post short movies like this.... :)
So that's why you're always so quick to post a gif, I was wondering. :)

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by AZgl1500 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:23 pm

smurphos wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 3:23 am
imgur defaults to https. Also no need for an account it allows anonymous uploads - albeit if you later decide you didn't want something uploaded it's a pain to get it removed again (once accidently uploaded a screenshot with my email address visible - doh!)
Imgur is my favorite image host, and deleting a picture is an easy 1-2 click and it is gone.
Establish your own account, you can then put relating images into Albums..... and Albums can use images already on the Imgur website.....

you aren't alone with accidentally uploading an email address..... as soon as that image displayed on Imgur, I thought 'holy crap', and hit Escape so the Trash Can ( in Thumbnail view ) symbol comes back up again. click the Trash Can and then it asks for Confirmation.

I am glad that Imgur is https// that ensures that your account hopefully won't be hacked.
use a good password on it, but who cares about an image site account anyway?

User avatar
smurphos
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2254
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher...

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by smurphos » Sat Oct 13, 2018 1:16 pm

AZgl1500 wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:23 pm
Establish your own account, you can then put relating images into Albums.
Yeah I know - I just haven't got round to registering an account yet..... :roll:

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7512
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by phd21 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:08 pm

Hi smurphos, and everyone else,

smurphos wrote:imgur defaults to https. Also no need for an account it allows anonymous uploads - albeit if you later decide you didn't want something uploaded it's a pain to get it removed again (once accidently uploaded a screenshot with my email address visible - doh!)
Most of us have accidentally uploaded images before. I personally think it is better to create a free account on image hosting websites like "imgur" and upload to your account because then you know they are your screenshots and they will be available until you remove them whereas if you upload anonymously they may be deleted during maintenance and it is more difficult to find them to remove or change them.
smurphos wrote:If you use Cinnamon this applet is a great screenshot utility - and automates the upload to imgur function - https://github.com/rjanja/desktop-capture
That is a very cool Linux Mint Cinnamon Applet
smurphos wrote:It also supports Byzanz, an animated gif screen-recorder so you can post short movies like this.... :)
I have always really liked the console terminal Byzanz animated gif screen-recorder. Back when the forums actually allowed larger image uploads, I used that all the time for creating short demos and tutorials without sound because images including animated Gif images can be uploaded and or referenced (linked) from an image hosting website and seen (watched) in this forum and other websites where actual videos are not visible. This Byzanz tool takes a little getting used to and some practice but it works very well.

Now, there are other applications to create animated Gif image videos like "Peek", etc.. and some good movie - video to Gif converters so that desktop video recordings from desktop recording applications can be easily converted to Gif animations to display in forums and other websites (without sound).

phw/peek: Simple animated GIF screen recorder with an easy to use interface
https://github.com/phw/peek

Post on Gifs - created a new video to Gif app
Hello from CHILE! I need your help - Linux Mint Forums
viewtopic.php?t=278856


...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5656
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by administrollaattori » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:30 pm

Open picture using Gimp and resize if needed and export using file.jpg and when exporting tick the box "show size" and use slide adjuster.
export as jpg.jpg

User avatar
deanr72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 2:00 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by deanr72 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:35 pm

Damn. Wish I'd found imgur sooner. The amount of times I've had to re-take and re-upload images :roll:

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by AZgl1500 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:43 pm

administrollaattori wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:30 pm
Open picture using Gimp and resize if needed and export using file.jpg and when exporting tick the box "show size" and use slide adjuster.
export as jpg.jpg
I can't find a way to get that slider menu to come up....
and GIMP is the only image editor I use.

Slidermenu.png
Slidermenu.png (21.51 KiB) Viewed 678 times

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7774
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by catweazel » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:09 pm

AZgl1500 wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:43 pm
and GIMP is the only image editor I use.
I use LibreOffice Draw to draw arrows then paste them into gimp:

Image
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7512
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by phd21 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:32 pm

HI AZgl1500,

In Gimp, bring up an image, resize it if you want, then click "File" in the toolbar and then "export" pick a file like "Jpeg" (jpg), give it a new name or add a suffix number or characters, then you will see the screen "administrollaattori" showed.

You should really try the "Ksnip" screenshot application which can also open and edit existing images for simple resizing (scaling), or cropping, or for various painter functions like arrows, etc... and if you want to convert the image to a different format just change the extension's name when saving it like from ".png" to ".jpg". You can even add an option in the file managers to right-click an image and "open with" Ksnip (see post). There is a simple Ksnip.AppImage file for installing and using this. Tip: In Ksnip's Options-Settings-Painter Settings, uncheck Dynamic Cursor.

Hope this helps ...
.
Attachments
ksnip_20181013_214712.jpg
Last edited by phd21 on Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by AZgl1500 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:50 pm

phd21 wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:32 pm
HI AZgl1500,

In Gimp, bring up an image, resize it if you want, then click "File" in the toolbar and then "export" pick a file like "Jpeg" (jpg), give it a new name or add a suffix number or characters, then you will see the screen "administrollaattori" showed.
sorry, but it does not, I have tried that over and over, and on my version of GIMP 2.8.16, that menu will NOT come up. I use Shift-Control-E which is a lot faster than messing with the menu w/mouse, but the menu is no different. same screen.


Image

aes2011
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:39 pm

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by aes2011 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:16 am

phd21 wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:32 pm

You should really try the "Ksnip" screenshot application which can also open and edit existing images for simple resizing (scaling), or cropping, or for various painter functions like arrows, etc... and if you want to convert the image to a different format just change the extension's name when saving it like from ".png" to ".jpg". You can even add an option in the file managers to right-click an image and "open with" Ksnip (see post). There is a simple Ksnip.AppImage file for installing and using this.

Hope this helps ...
.
Just tried the AppImage to edit an existing image. I like the option to add numbers.

User avatar
deanr72
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 2:00 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by deanr72 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:38 am

I always seem to have permissions problems when I right click an image and choose resize (Nautilus image-converter, I believe) . I don't know how to get permission on my own files :?

Consequently I've been using 'resizeimage.net' to resize images. It's really quick and easy to use.

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7230
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by Moem » Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:49 am

catweazel wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:09 pm
I use LibreOffice Draw to draw arrows then paste them into gimp
I use the standard arrow that comes with Pinta.
newtopic.jpg
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Themes, Icons, & Wallpaper”