Posting screenshots problem [Solved]

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Gruppo Sportivo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:14 am
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by Gruppo Sportivo » Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:05 am

Moem wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:49 am
I use the standard arrow that comes with Pinta.
FYI Pinta make use of Mono,using Mono is strongly discouraged.
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... amon-first
Linux Mint¨Tara¨19.064-bit Cinnamon 3.8.9&Raspberry Pi 3B+ OSMC

gm10
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by gm10 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:31 am

Gruppo Sportivo wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:05 am
using Mono is strongly discouraged.
Not even Pjotr "strongly" discourages it, and his argument that you should not use good mono-based applications because there could be bad ones can be made for any other framework or programming language as well. Python is also cross-platform and Python-based malware exists, better uninstall quickly! (don't, you'll break your system). I believe catweazel would just say: FUD

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7023
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem

Post by Moem » Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:48 am

Gruppo Sportivo wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:05 am
Moem wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:49 am
I use the standard arrow that comes with Pinta.
FYI Pinta make use of Mono,using Mono is strongly discouraged.
I'm okay with using Mono, thanks. I know Pjotr's opinion on this, and I do not share it.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
BG405
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1545
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Posting screenshots problem [Solved]

Post by BG405 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:42 am

AZgl1500 wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:50 pm
on my version of GIMP 2.8.16, that menu will NOT come up
That's odd.

When I've selected the file type, name and location & then click the Export button, the little dialogue box with the image settings pops up (at least, it does with JPG which I normally use). It won't proceed to export without OK-ing that.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - Manjaro KDE, LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2746
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem [Solved]

Post by AZgl1500 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 2:49 pm

BG405 wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:42 am
AZgl1500 wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:50 pm
on my version of GIMP 2.8.16, that menu will NOT come up
That's odd.

When I've selected the file type, name and location & then click the Export button, the little dialogue box with the image settings pops up (at least, it does with JPG which I normally use). It won't proceed to export without OK-ing that.
Apparently, it has to do with the Sequence of choosing the options.
when I followed what you said exactly in the same order, that menu did come up.

but it only says "Quality of Image", it does not give me the File Size of the Image which is what I want to know in advance.....

I have always used "Image / Scale" to drop the pixel count to a number that I know will upload into this forum.....

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7258
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Posting screenshots problem [Solved]

Post by phd21 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:18 pm

Hi AZgl1500,

Normally during the Gimp "Export As" function with "jpeg" images when you click the export button and see the quality (compression) adjustment, just check the "Preview" button to see the file sizes while using the slider.

Hope this helps ...
.
Gimp_v2.9.jpg
Gimp 2.9 in Linux Mint 18.3 using the File-> Export As -> Jpeg
Pretty Good quality even when compressed to 13%, 1944x1760 down to 198kb
.
thomasb_glass_ball5.jpg
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.3, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2746
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Posting screenshots problem [Solved]

Post by AZgl1500 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:33 pm

phd21 wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:18 pm
Hi AZgl1500,

Normally during the Gimp "Export As" function with "jpeg" images when you click the export button and see the quality (compression) adjustment, just check the "Preview" button to see the file sizes while using the slider.
ah, so it does, I have never bothered to check 'Preview'....
guess I ought to explore more, eh? :lol:

that's what happens when you get stuck in a rut..... just do the same-o same-o :mrgreen:

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7258
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Posting screenshots problem [Solved]

Post by phd21 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:47 pm

Hi AZgl1500,

You are welcome...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.3, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

Post Reply

Return to “Themes, Icons, & Wallpaper”