New Windows Borders for Public Domain, Questions at end

Style your desktop
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
CommonJoe
Level 1
Level 1

New Windows Borders for Public Domain, Questions at end

Post by CommonJoe »

Hi,

First of all, I really love Linux Mint. I've been using it on my main machine for almost two years. I'm a complete newb on the forum, though.

I'm running 18.3 on my main computer, but I've been tinkering with 19.2 in a virtual machine to prepare to upgrade my main computer. I've been taking notes which evolved into something that would be good for newbies -- something I intend to publish online at some point soon.

There have been some hardships along the way which brings me here. I struggled to find Window Borders Themes for Cinnamon 19.2. The ones I'm using in 18.3 (and forced with the "gsettings set org.cinnamon.desktop.wm.preferences theme [Theme]") doesn't work anymore in 19.2. Either I'm absolutely awful at using Google (which actually is true) or good Window Border themes for Cinnamon don't exist.

So I made some.

Montage.png
Montage.png (6.72 KiB) Viewed 2798 times

There are just two files for each color: metacity-theme-3.xml (about 30K) and thumbnail.png (about 1.2K). Both files are inside of a metacity-1 directory. That's it. No external svg files needed.

Features I've included: Sizes of icons, colors of everything, and other options are configurable at the top of the xml file. The shade and stick icons change the way they look depending if those functions are on or off. Mouse hover highlights the icons so you know which button you're about to press. And the one feature that started me down this whole road: you know which window has focus.

So, a couple of questions:
  1. Where is the best place to publish them so others can find Window Borders? I'm releasing them public domain. (More notes about installation will follow in the coming weeks.)