How to create new Mint Themes

Style your desktop
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
MatNikel
Level 1
Level 1

How to create new Mint Themes

Post by MatNikel »

Hi guys

I'm a tecnician IT student and one of my aims is to develop new themes and extensions for Mint.

How can I begin in this area and share my creations in cinnamon spices?

Thanks
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
sebastjava
Level 5
Level 5

Re: How to create new Mint Themes

Post by sebastjava »

You can start with my Do-It-Yourself

WARNING: This repository is currently going through a major overhaul. So, this Do-It-Yourself could momentarily disappear and then reappear a week later. All kinds of crazy things could happen...
The future Linux Mint Forums is here.
Self-Appointed Benevolent Designer on Linux Mint Cinnamon.
MatNikel
Level 1
Level 1

Post by MatNikel »

Thanks sebastjava
But, I'm beginner and totally lost with some especific terms as pop-up submenu and others.

Do you have a video explaning it?
sebastjava
Level 5
Level 5

Post by sebastjava »

I don't have any video, sorry. Beginner level ? Okay.

You could start just doing some fun experiments with Oomox. Available in your Software Manager.

Going further, for whatever you want, with whatever method you use, you should find WidgetFactory to be useful. Check my screenshot below. WidgetFactory is part of the Gtk-3-examples package. Available in your Software Manager. This WidgetFactory is in the Programming section in my Cinnamon menu. I can't remember for sure, but I think I possibly had to add it there myself, by opening the menu editor to add this menu item, launched with the gtk3-widget-factory command. Or else you can just type gtk3-widget-factory in your terminal. Or create some custom launcher.