How-to install & configure Conky and adding a theme???

Add functionality to your desktop
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
nomko

How-to install & configure Conky and adding a theme???

Post by nomko »

Hi everybody,

Considering Conky, I'm a real noob here... I love this theme: http://www.webupd8.org/2011/02/try-this ... y-lua.html and i like to have this on my desktop. I'm running Mint14+Cinnamon.

Can someone provide me with a step-by-step guide on how to install, configure and add a theme??
Many thanks!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
3fRI

Re: How-to install & configure Conky and adding a theme???

Post by 3fRI »

I followed the instructions from the link you provided. After rebooting, I went to Run Program in Menu and typed in Conky, hit the launch button, and it's there. I may do some minor tweaks, but the process was pretty straight forward. :)
nomko

Post by nomko »

3fRI wrote:I followed the instructions from the link you provided. After rebooting, I went to Run Program in Menu and typed in Conky, hit the launch button, and it's there. I may do some minor tweaks, but the process was pretty straight forward. :)
But i need it to run permanent after each (re)boot and with that nice theme.
3fRI

Post by 3fRI »

Nomko,

Perhaps someone else can help you with getting it to launch when booting. I don't have a problem with launching it after I boot. Meanwhile, I edited the script so that I now have Home weather in Fahrenheit instead of Celsius. :)

Good luck,
f
dcihon

Post by dcihon »

In Linux Mint, you can do the same in this way:

Go To Menu > Preferences > Startup Applications
Click the "Add" button.
Name a program.
Click the "Browse" button and navigate to File System where program is installed.