Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
dee.
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 240
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:29 pm

Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby dee. » Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:40 pm

Cinnamon uses Muffin, so why is the package installed in the Cinnamon version of Mint? Is it safe to remove?

User avatar
passerby
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1369
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby passerby » Mon Nov 04, 2013 1:14 am

Should be. Try removing compiz and see if it attempts to bring a bunch of other packages along with it.
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots

User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1649
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby catweazel » Mon Nov 04, 2013 1:16 am

dee. wrote:why is the package installed in the Cinnamon version of Mint?

It isn't. You are mistaken... unless perhaps you have a very old version, but you didn't state what version you have.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.14.2, custom preemptive kernel 3.16.5,
Intel i7 4820K @ 4.7GHz, 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro
3122MHz XMP, 4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in
RAID0, 6TB HW RAID10, 3 x 24" Samsung UlHD,
Dual R290X

cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1242
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby cwsnyder » Mon Nov 04, 2013 4:31 pm

Compiz is not included, but Cinnamon DOES require a compositor for your screen. It inherits its requirement from GNOME which it is derived from.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM17.3 Cinnamon 64-bit
Debian Mate 64-bit, Xubuntu xenial 64-bit, Ubuntu-Mate 14.04 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS Mate 64-bit

dee.
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 240
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:29 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby dee. » Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:15 am

Not a very old version, unless you count the latest LTS (with backported packages) very old.

I know I haven't installed Compiz myself, and I don't know of any software that should have pulled it in, I don't have any other DE's installed on this machine.

Yet the package is there, and the first mention of it I can find in Synaptic history is an upgrade event, which would seem to indicate that it was included with the distro...

User avatar
passerby
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1369
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby passerby » Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:32 am

The LTS isn't that old, but before applying all of those updates, Mint 13 ships with 1.4. So yeah, old version by default.
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots

dee.
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 240
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:29 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby dee. » Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:16 am

passerby wrote:The LTS isn't that old, but before applying all of those updates, Mint 13 ships with 1.4. So yeah, old version by default.


But what does even Cinnamon 1.4 need Compiz for?

User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1866
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: FR

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby eanfrid » Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:08 am

For nothing. Compiz does not work with Cinnamon/Gnome Shell.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Jessie 64bit - MATE
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
Safer than Dropbox

dee.
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 240
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:29 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby dee. » Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:05 pm

Right, so why is the package included with it?


Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest