Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
newGui2014
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:56 am

Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by newGui2014 » Tue May 26, 2015 12:26 pm

I have gigabit speed and i want my conky to show my internet speed in megabits not megabytes,How to modife code?,not find relevant answer on google

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by Habitual » Tue May 26, 2015 12:40 pm

show us the

Code: Select all

[code]
[/code]

newGui2014
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:56 am

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by newGui2014 » Tue May 26, 2015 1:25 pm

${font Arial:bold:size=10}${color Tan2}NETWORK ${color DarkSlateGray}${hr 2}
$font${color #A4A4A4}IP on eth0 $alignr ${addr eth0}
Public IP: $alignr ${execi 3600 wget -O - -q icanhazip.com}

${color light red}Down $alignr ${downspeed eth0}
${color green}Up $alignr ${upspeed eth0}

${color #084B8A}Downloaded: $alignr ${totaldown eth0}
Uploaded: $alignr ${totalup eth0}

User avatar
Jim Hauser
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 10:08 pm
Location: Pascagoula, Mississippi

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by Jim Hauser » Tue May 26, 2015 1:44 pm

This is the Conky code that works for me.... (Mint 17.1 KDE 64 bit)

Code: Select all

number of net samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
net_avg_samples 1
${color}Network  Inbound ${color green}${downspeed eth0}
${color}${color green}${downspeedgraph eth0 30,0}
${color}Network Outbound ${color green}${upspeed eth0}
${color}${color green}${upspeedgraph eth0 30,0}
Inbound and outbound to graphs

Hope it helps....

Cheers,

Jim
Last edited by Jim Hauser on Tue May 26, 2015 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

newGui2014
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:56 am

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by newGui2014 » Tue May 26, 2015 1:53 pm

Not chage its swoing megabytes,i want megabits

User avatar
Jim Hauser
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 10:08 pm
Location: Pascagoula, Mississippi

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by Jim Hauser » Tue May 26, 2015 2:10 pm

My mistake.... I read things reversed

User avatar
JohnBobSmith
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:42 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by JohnBobSmith » Thu May 28, 2015 10:14 am

Why not convert the units in the script? :?

Take your number in Megabytes, divide by 0.125, and get the Megabits equivalent. So a 20MB/s connection would be 160Mbps. Simple, elegant, and efficient. :)
Image
If you want to change the world, start by changing yourself.
Success is often 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.
You get one shot at life, so live to the maximum, not the minimum.

newGui2014
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:56 am

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by newGui2014 » Thu May 28, 2015 5:02 pm

How to do that?

User avatar
JohnBobSmith
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:42 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by JohnBobSmith » Thu May 28, 2015 8:59 pm

I'm a bit upset with some real life issues at the moment, sorry if I come across as rude. But please don't ask me to spoon feed you answers...

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=conky+division
Image
If you want to change the world, start by changing yourself.
Success is often 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.
You get one shot at life, so live to the maximum, not the minimum.

newGui2014
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:56 am

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by newGui2014 » Sat May 30, 2015 2:43 pm

i googleit and cant find the conky formula to sow internet speed in megabits

User avatar
JohnBobSmith
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:42 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by JohnBobSmith » Sat May 30, 2015 3:34 pm

JohnBobSmith wrote:... Take your number in Megabytes, divide by 0.125, and get the Megabits equivalent. So a 20MB/s connection would be 160Mbps. Simple, elegant, and efficient. :)
If you can't do basic division when I have given you the formula, then please stay as far away from programming as possible because it is not for you. With that said,
JohnBobSmith wrote:... please don't ask me to spoon feed you answers...
Image
If you want to change the world, start by changing yourself.
Success is often 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.
You get one shot at life, so live to the maximum, not the minimum.

newGui2014
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:56 am

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by newGui2014 » Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:55 am

Im stupid,ok,i dont know programing,i have a conky theme and i want to show mee network speed in megabits not in megabytes, i searched on google and cant find anything,if somendoy give mee the code i glad say thanks

JusTertii
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:21 pm

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by JusTertii » Fri Jun 05, 2015 7:02 am

Mate, they've told you what to do.
JohnBobSmith wrote:... Take your number in Megabytes, divide by 0.125, and get the Megabits equivalent. So a 20MB/s connection would be 160Mbps. Simple, elegant, and efficient. :)
newGui2014 wrote:,if somendoy give mee the code i glad
I don't think they will, because then you wouldn't learn anything, right? So they're telling you how to do it. Maybe thank JBS for his kind help.

User avatar
JohnBobSmith
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:42 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by JohnBobSmith » Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:02 pm

JusTertii wrote:Mate, they've told you what to do.
JohnBobSmith wrote:... Take your number in Megabytes, divide by 0.125, and get the Megabits equivalent. So a 20MB/s connection would be 160Mbps. Simple, elegant, and efficient. :)
newGui2014 wrote:,if somendoy give mee the code i glad
I don't think they will, because then you wouldn't learn anything, right? So they're telling you how to do it. Maybe thank JBS for his kind help.
Thank you, JusTertii. This could not have been worded better. If newGui2014 had code that he was stuck on, or some evidence of trying at least a bit, I'd be more willing to help. But when I give him the formula, and a post or two later he says he can't find it, well.... That makes me want to help you a LOT less. Especially considering I got the formula (divide by 0.125) from a google search.

With that said, the goal is not to be offensive. I just would hate for someone to rely heavily on someone/something else to the point where it makes said person not capable of helping themselves. If the someone/something was suddenly gone, that would be game over for you. I hope you see what I'm getting at.

Anyhow newGui2014, if you've figured this conky stuff out, it'd be nice if you can edit the first post and add the words "solved" in the subject. No other actions are needed, and I think that it is time to say goodbye to this thread.
Image
If you want to change the world, start by changing yourself.
Success is often 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.
You get one shot at life, so live to the maximum, not the minimum.

newGui2014
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:56 am

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by newGui2014 » Mon Jun 08, 2015 4:20 pm

Its not solved because i cant findit,i still search that.What is the serach?I searched :''conky show megabit instead of megabytes''transform megabits in megabytes in conky'' and a lot moore and cant findit a single world or a single themes can show megabits.I download with 50-80 megabytes per second and i want to conky show mee istead 70 megabytes/second show 560 megabits/second

Frankula
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:43 pm

Re: Conky,show internet speed in megabits not megabytes

Post by Frankula » Fri Mar 18, 2016 3:26 pm

Entropy ain't what it used to be...

Post Reply

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”