Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
dXTC
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:19 pm
Location: Closer to the Derby than I care to admit

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by dXTC »

I confirm that mattst's fix above worked for me. Instead of deleting the existing "weather@mockturtl" directory, I renamed it to "OLDweather@mockturtl". Same effect, but allowed me to revert if the fix hadn't worked.

Thanks, mattst!
dXTC
-----
IT oldie, Linux newbie, and all-around goofy fellow.
User avatar
kyphi
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2704
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:14 am
Location: The Hunter Valley, Australia

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by kyphi »

What is fixed is that the Wind Chill is now a more reasonable 14° instead of the 61° shown a few days ago.

What is not fixed are the incorrect weather predictions from Yahoo that show temperatures several degrees lower than those shown by other weather programmes including Weatherzone's local forecasts.
Other predictions at odds with local conditions are Humidity, Wind speed, Wind direction and Pressure which is shown currently as 3471.05 kPa.
mattst wrote:P.S. This version also fixes the 'override location label' feature which hasn't worked for ages.
This has always worked for me.
Linux Mint 20.0 Cinnamon - 64bit
imageek5
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:28 pm

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by imageek5 »

mattst wrote:A fix on GitHub is now available.

Users need to download the zip file on this page: https://github.com/ccprog/cinnamon-weat ... new-format

and replace the contents of their `~/.local/share/cinnamon/applets/weather@mockturtl` directory with the contents of the zip file's `cinnamon-weather-ccprog-yahoo-new-format` directory.

Hope this helps.

To spell it out:
  • Download the zip.
  • Move it to `~/.local/share/cinnamon/applets/`
  • Extract the downloaded zip file.
  • Delete the `weather@mockturtl` directory.
  • Rename the `cinnamon-weather-ccprog-yahoo-new-format` directory as `weather@mockturtl`.
  • Restart Cinnamon (log out and back in again if you don't know how to do this).
  • You will then need to reconfigure the applet's settings.
P.S. This version also fixes the 'override location label' feature which hasn't worked for ages.

Resolved it for me, thanks!
mattst
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:10 am

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by mattst »

dXTC wrote:I confirm that mattst's fix above worked for me. Instead of deleting the existing "weather@mockturtl" directory, I renamed it to "OLDweather@mockturtl". Same effect, but allowed me to revert if the fix hadn't worked.

Thanks, mattst!
Glad to help.

Just to give credit where it is due. It is not my fix but ccprog's (https://github.com/ccprog) fix. I just gave some step-by-step instructions on how to install the fix.
User avatar
Pjotr
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15881
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by Pjotr »

It's a fine workaround, but is there any information as to when developer mockturtl will fix the applet?
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 20 Ulyana
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
User avatar
kyphi
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2704
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:14 am
Location: The Hunter Valley, Australia

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by kyphi »

mockturtl is aware of the problem:

https://github.com/mockturtl/cinnamon-w ... issues/134

It is not the weather applet that is incorrect, it is the information provided by Yahoo from the weather applet. While the capital cities seem to be well served with weather information there has always been a problem with getting accurate information for rural areas. The old WOEIDs were "woefully" inadequate as provided by the UK-based database and hopefully the change to numerical WOEIDs will be for the better.
Yahoo from the weather applet consistently shows temperatures lower than those provided by my local forecaster which I can back up by just stepping outside and seeing for myself. Yahoo, for today, reports current temperature at 18° whereas, in reality it is 20° - Yahoo's forecast temperature for the day is 22°, local forecaster says 25°.

However, when I invoke Yahoo weather from Firefox, I see that they use geophysical coordinates to pin-point locations and the information provided is correct.
Linux Mint 20.0 Cinnamon - 64bit
mattst
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:10 am

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by mattst »

kyphi wrote:mockturtl is aware of the problem:

https://github.com/mockturtl/cinnamon-w ... issues/134
Aware but apparently not interested, or at least inactive.
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by mockturtl »

Hi all,

Maintainer here. I've seen many problems reported in the last two weeks.

Please continue to give feedback (this thread; Github issues; mailing list). My location just started failing today, but a modified Yahoo URL works for me with a different WOEID (see here).

I haven't had time to catch up yet, but I will try this fix first. Give it a "thumbs up" if it works for you.
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by mockturtl »

mattst wrote:
kyphi wrote:mockturtl is aware of the problem:

https://github.com/mockturtl/cinnamon-w ... issues/134
Aware but apparently not interested, or at least inactive.
Work.
Image
kiers
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:20 am

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by kiers »

YEs My vote too. Mocturtl, please fix it. IS the server dead or IP address changed or what?
EDIT: OMG. from what i gather, it's Yahoo's fault, and it's hard to get open source weather data, and Yahoo are xrewing linux over.?
User avatar
samriggs
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by samriggs »

Hey thanks for the quick fix mockturtl.
Much appreciated
"Windows: the worst system for the most money, Linux: the best system for free"
Registered Linux User #545430
Manjaro XFCE / Mint Cinnamon
asus X751LX and an acer and a toshiba and another asus
gary.zw
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by gary.zw »

mockturtl fixed?
Linux Mint 18.1 Cinnamon Edition 64-bit.
Intel Core i5-3570K CPU Clock Speeds: 1: 1645.679 MHz 2: 2296.992 MHz 3: 1642.093 MHz 4: 1604.375 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GK104 GeForce GTX 660 Ti
User avatar
Pjotr
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15881
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by Pjotr »

gary.zw wrote:mockturtl fixed?
Not yet. It would be great if he would find the time to fix it sometime, but remember that it's all a volunteer job.

You get the weather applet for free, because mockturtl is so kind as to give it away it for free. He's under no obligation at all to any of us.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 20 Ulyana
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
gary.zw
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by gary.zw »

Pjotr wrote:
gary.zw wrote:mockturtl fixed?
Not yet. It would be great if he would find the time to fix it sometime, but remember that it's all a volunteer job.

You get the weather applet for free, because mockturtl is so kind as to give it away it for free. He's under no obligation at all to any of us.
Yes I was wondering since samriggs said " thanks for the quick fix mockturtl."
Linux Mint 18.1 Cinnamon Edition 64-bit.
Intel Core i5-3570K CPU Clock Speeds: 1: 1645.679 MHz 2: 2296.992 MHz 3: 1642.093 MHz 4: 1604.375 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GK104 GeForce GTX 660 Ti
User avatar
samriggs
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by samriggs »

gary.zw wrote:
Pjotr wrote:
gary.zw wrote:mockturtl fixed?
Not yet. It would be great if he would find the time to fix it sometime, but remember that it's all a volunteer job.

You get the weather applet for free, because mockturtl is so kind as to give it away it for free. He's under no obligation at all to any of us.
Yes I was wondering since samriggs said " thanks for the quick fix mockturtl."
I downloaded the github one, replaced the name and it worked for me minus the correct location since woed changed it can only nab a huge area surrounding my area now, but it works (not totally correct but close) according to the weather channel, the desklet is still more dead on.

Maybe use what the desklet uses instead, it seems to be more correct.
Might mean a rewrite
"Windows: the worst system for the most money, Linux: the best system for free"
Registered Linux User #545430
Manjaro XFCE / Mint Cinnamon
asus X751LX and an acer and a toshiba and another asus
User avatar
TooMuchTime
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:30 pm

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by TooMuchTime »

I use an app called my-weather-indicator. You can download it from here:

https://launchpad.net/my-weather-indicator

Use Yahoo as the weather service. Open Weather Map is not very accurate.
MCESquared
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:57 pm

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by MCESquared »

Hey everybody!

I chucked the weather applet in favor of writing a weather section to my conky using the openweathermap.org API. They ask you keep your refresh rate at >= 60 per min., which doesn't bother me any. They had a station for my podunk town in the US (<10k pop.), for what that's worth.

Here's a screenie: Image

It's kind of a Frankenstein I cobbled together from a few other conkies, but I could probably figure out dependencies and post the .conkyrc if anyone is interested.
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by mockturtl »

Thanks for your patience. The fixed version is up.

Please note the pressure data is incorrect; other values may be also.
Image
User avatar
Pjotr
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15881
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by Pjotr »

mockturtl wrote:Thanks for your patience. The fixed version is up.

Please note the pressure data is incorrect; other values may be also.
Excellent. Thanks a lot for your efforts! :)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 20 Ulyana
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
ronsmeyer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:28 pm

Re: Weather applet doesn't work anymore

Post by ronsmeyer »

Well it still doesn't work. When I try to install it all I get is this - been doing it for weeks:

"An error occurred while trying to access the server. Please try again in a little while.

Details: HTTP Error 404: Not Found"
Post Reply

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”