Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Add functionality to your desktop
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
mwshook
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:44 pm

Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by mwshook »

I had a conky config that made the window completely transparent and appear as part of the desktop. I saved my .conkyrc when I did a fresh install of Mint 19 Tara and dropped the file back into my home directory.

Things work great, but there is now a gray border/shadow to the left of the conky window. I'm assuming something minor must have changed with the conky program when I upgraded. It's admittedly a minor issue but I would be greatful if anybody has an easy fix. I've attached my screenshot to show the left border and my .conkyrc
Thanks.

Image

alignment tr
double_buffer yes
gap_x 40
gap_y 80
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_hints undecorated,skip_taskbar
own_window_transparent yes
use_xft yes
xftfont Sans-8
text_buffer_size 1024

TEXT

${color F00000}${font Sawasdee:style=Bold:size=20}Zombiebox $hr${color F0F0F1}${font Andale Mono:size=8}

Distro: $alignr${execi 3600 lsb_release -d -s}
Kernel: $alignr$kernel
Uptime: $alignr$uptime

CPU $hr
${freq_g}GHz ${alignc}Load: ${loadavg} ${alignr}$cpu%
${cpugraph 476D76 ffffff}
Temperature: ${alignr}${hwmon temp 1}°C

Memory $hr
RAM ${alignr}$mem/$memmax
${membar 6, 200}
Swap ${alignr}$swap/$swapmax
${swapbar 6, 200}

Disks $hr
/ ${alignr}${fs_free /} ${fs_free_perc /}%
${fs_bar 6, 200 /}
/home ${alignr}${fs_free /home} ${fs_free_perc /home}%
${fs_bar 6, 200 /home}
2TB Media ${alignr}${fs_free /mnt/sda2} ${fs_free_perc /mnt/sda2}%
${fs_bar 6, 200 /mnt/sda2}
3TB Media ${alignr}${fs_free /media/matt/FantomHD} ${fs_free_perc /media/matt/FantomHD}%
${fs_bar 6, 200 /media/matt/FantomHD}


Top Processes $hr
${top name 1}${alignr}${top cpu 1}%
${top name 2}${alignr}${top cpu 2}%
${top name 3}${alignr}${top cpu 3}%
${top name 4}${alignr}${top cpu 4}%
${top name 5}${alignr}${top cpu 5}%
${top name 6}${alignr}${top cpu 6}%
${top name 7}${alignr}${top cpu 7}%

Memory Usage $hr
${top_mem name 1}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 1} ${top_mem mem 1}%
${top_mem name 2}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 2} ${top_mem mem 2}%
${top_mem name 3}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 3} ${top_mem mem 3}%
${top_mem name 4}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 4} ${top_mem mem 4}%
${top_mem name 5}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 5} ${top_mem mem 5}%
${top_mem name 6}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 6} ${top_mem mem 6}%
${top_mem name 7}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 7} ${top_mem mem 7}%

Network ________________________ ${addr enp4s0}
Down ${downspeed enp4s0} /s ${alignr}Up ${upspeed enp4s0} k/s
${downspeedgraph enp4s0 16,107 476D76 ffffff -l} ${alignr}${upspeedgraph enp4s0 16,107 476D76 ffffff -l }
Total ${totaldown enp4s0} ${alignr}Total ${totalup enp4s0}
OpenVPN: ${if_up tun0}${color 00FF00}UP${else}${color F00000}Down$endif ${color F0F0F1}
${execi 60 curl https://ipleak.net/json/ | jq -r '.type, .city_name, .country_name, .ip'}
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Linux newbie since 1997
User avatar
trytip
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5371
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by trytip »

#all options for own_window_type are: normal, desktop, dock, panel or override

try desktop
Last edited by trytip on Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
zcot
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2795
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by zcot »

trytip, teejee didn't provide packages for Artful or Bionic since they weren't out at the time, and he's stopped development of that program. I don't think that ppa will pull against Mint 19.

However tomtomtom did take that same package and add build recipes for Artful and Bionic: https://launchpad.net/~tomtomtom/+archi ... ky-manager

And, a cool feature on the newer system is that the source cache is updated when a ppa source is added(add-apt-repository feature). So you just add and install. ;)

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:tomtomtom/conky-manager
apt install conky-manager
ps. here's an updated version that will also work with the newer 1.10 version configs too: https://github.com/zcot/conky-manager


But mwshook for this transparency thing, it could be some variety of things.

One solution is to change the config like this:

Code: Select all

own_window_type desktop
#own_window_hints undecorated,skip_taskbar
another would be like this:

Code: Select all

own_window_type override
override now ignores own_window_hints

it's the various "own_window_*" variables..

Check this out, specifically, "Configuration Settings":
https://github.com/brndnmtthws/conky/wiki
User avatar
trytip
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5371
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by trytip »

thanx @zcot i forget which packages i got and from where, i had to hunt for conky_1.9.0-4 and conky manager debs i installed them separate and pinned them to synaptic. i still use the old conky, the new version is too much code to learn

transparency is always different for me in arch i use override with nvidia, but doesn't work in mint 19 cinmon which does work in mint 17.3 mate.
now i have to figure oput if these two packages have any diff
conky-manager_2.4~136~ubuntu14.04.1_amd64.deb
or
the one in the above post conky-manager_2.4-1_136_ppa_bionic_amd64.deb i believe they are the same unless the new developer changed something.

ps: @ mwshook conky-manager_2.4-1~136~ppa~bionic_amd64.deb <<< i pulled the conky-manager for you so you don't have to install the ppa, it's the only thing in that repo
Image
mwshook
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by mwshook »

Thanks everybody for the help.
I changed own_window_type to "desktop" and that did get rid of the border. But I like the behavior of "normal" better. I like being able to click on Conky and bring it to the front. "override" still had the border.

I googled around some more and realized that all my windows have a fuzzy shadowed border around them. Maybe this shadow wasn't present in Mint 18. I tried changing themes, downloading some different themes, but it didn't help. Apparently Cinnamon has an XML file that can be edited to remove the shadow. I don't really feel like messing with all that.

I'm just going to live with the border for now. It's an annoyance, but a minor one.
Linux newbie since 1997
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by AndyMH »

Relevant lines from my conky below, have you tried "draw_borders no"

Code: Select all

own_window yes
own_window_class Conky
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 200 200
maximum_width 240
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
User avatar
zcot
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2795
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by zcot »

mwshook, What is the sidebar on the right in that image?
mwshook
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by mwshook »

zcot:
It is a new panel I added. It can do the same things as the panel on the bottom of the screen. Right click on a blank space on the bottom panel. Click "Panel Edit Mode." Then click "Add New panel." Cinnamon will then ask to you click on what portion of the screen you want.

Then you can then drag and drop Launchers or add Applets, just like on the bottom panel. If find it makes a better use of space.
Linux newbie since 1997
User avatar
all41
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9498
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by all41 »

fwiw, here is my .conky.rc My conky is transparent

Code: Select all

background yes
double_buffer yes
alignment top_right

border_width 1
cpu_avg_samples 2
default_color ACACAC
default_outline_color ACACAC
default_shade_color ACACAC
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
draw_outline no
draw_shades no

gap_x 30
gap_y 10
net_avg_samples 2
no_buffers yes
out_to_console no
out_to_stderr no
extra_newline no

own_window yes
own_window_type dock
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_colour 000000
own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_argb_value 0
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

minimum_size 395 0
stippled_borders 0
update_interval 1.0
uppercase no
use_spacer none

show_graph_scale yes
show_graph_range no


use_xft yes
xftalpha 0.1
xftfont own_window_type dock
Everything in life was difficult before it became easy.
User avatar
trytip
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5371
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by trytip »

@mwshook
you can clear up some space by removing the title "Menu" from the mint menu the icon is more than enough and you already know it's a menu :) i think it also looks more aesthetic
Image
Locked

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks & Widgets”