Conky Showoff thread

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
terdon
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:52 pm
Location: Marseille

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by terdon »

My 5cents. The setup is kinda complex, let me know if anyone is interested and I'll give you the conkyrc and necessary scripts.

Image

mrjoeyman
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:17 pm

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by mrjoeyman »

S4020004.JPG
S4020004.JPG (80.04 KiB) Viewed 5965 times

User avatar
Sector11
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:33 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

For conky users who use gedit or medit.

I have updated the "conkyrc.lang" file that gedit and medit uses to colour code the conky syntax according to what the variables and settings were as of 11/11/11. Almost 100 lines added to the file!

Tested with:
  1. medit v1.0.3
  2. medit v1.0.5
  3. gedit v2.30.4
  4. gedit v3.0.6-2
You can grab the file here: (the same for both)
gedit and conky and medit and conky

Things to note:
  1. medit does NOT "remember" files like gedit, other than "conkyrc" or what you set it to - yet,
  2. medit has one option as to where to place the conkyrc.lang file
  3. as shown on the medit page, you can change the automatic selection of what files get colour coded
  4. gedit has various locations for the conkyrc.lang file, it depends in which version of gedit you use as well.
Special thanks for VastOne's help with medit.
Using: BunsenLabs based on Debian Stable.
Conky PitStop

User avatar
soccerz619
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 10:05 pm

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by soccerz619 »

Finally got the set-up I want for mine. Sort of repetitive, but it does what I want and need it to! Big thanks to Satya 164 and the author of the lua-rings script.
Attachments
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (764.18 KiB) Viewed 5799 times
Everyone is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing it is stupid.
Image

User avatar
Ginsu543
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:15 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Ginsu543 »

Hi, all! Just joined Linux Mint Forums, and thought I might share my conky setup. I tend to prefer simple desktops:

Image
Main: Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0 GHz | Asus P6X58D Premium | 12 GB Mushkin Redline PC3-12800 7-8-7-24 | EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti | Mint 17.2 Cinnamon 64 / OS X 10.7.3
Portables: Toshiba Portege R200 | Mint 17.2 Cinnamon 32 / Dell Mini 9 | OS X 10.6.7

User avatar
Sector11
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:33 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

Here's the conkys I run normally, they change occasionally:
Image

Two conkys ... the first, under tint2, is using the "hwmon" method to get the T1 & T2 temps, not sure what they represent as sensors just say;

Code: Select all

temp1:        +37.0°C  (high = +85.0°C, hyst = +81.0°C)
temp2:        +36.0°C  (high = +85.0°C, hyst = +81.0°C)
Next the conky "nvidia" command to get GPU temp and the Freq for GPU and Mem, fairly new haven't used that before. Glad they added that command as lm-sensors picked up nothing on my video card.

Under the calendar on the right another little used conky command; "weather" for today only from NOAA. The "weather_forecast" no longer works as weather·com has started charging for their service: $240.00 a year.
It shows the current temp, barometric pressure, humidity and wind direction and speed.

==========================================================
But that's not what this post is about, it's about one of LinuxMint's own LUA programmers: mrpeachy and londonali1010 and dk75 and their

"ULTIMATE" conky background LUA script.

If you use a composite manager, this work, if you don't ... it still works.

Why ultimate? Well, I just gave you two reasons now add the third, you configure everything right from the command line in conky, no need to edit the LUA script at all.

Both the conky under my tint2 bar and the calendar to the right are using it without running a composite manager.
Here's how:

Code: Select all

###  LUA Settings  ###########################################################
##
## The HowTo - so simple:
## ${lua conky_draw_bg corner_radius x_position y_position width height color alpha}
##
## Above and After TEXT - requires a composite manager or the background blinks.
## ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
## lua_load ~/Conky/LUA/draw_bg.lua   ### the path to the LUA script
## TEXT
## ${lua conky_draw_bg 10 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.4}start conky commands here
##
##
## OR Both above TEXT (No composite manager required - no blinking!)
##
lua_load ~/Conky/LUA/draw_bg.lua
lua_draw_hook_pre draw_bg 0 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.5
## TEXT
##
#######################################################  End LUA Settings  ###

TEXT
start conky commands ... 
... as you see, EASY!!
It's the only LUA background script I use now.

Code: Select all

${lua conky_draw_bg corner_radius x_position y_position width height color alpha}

0 - 0 is square corners - 10 = 10 pixels etc etc
0 - similar to gap_x - placing the top left corner of the background
0 - similar to gay_y -  placing the top left corner of the background
0 - 0 here and ...
0 - 0 here fills the entire conky window - or you can set the height & width
0x000000 - this is the colour (without the # = black)
0.5 - the "alpha setting" must be between 0 and 1
Now think about this: another reason for ULTIMATE!

You use a composite manager you have a black background ... but want to accent something in white, add a second command:

Code: Select all

lua_load ~/Conky/LUA/draw_bg.lua   ### the path to the LUA script
TEXT
${lua conky_draw_bg 50 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.4}${lua conky_draw_bg 0 50 50 50 50 0xFFFFFF 0.5}start conky commands here
There you go, a black background with rounded corners of 50 pixels filling the conky window (I set the example to be 200 by 200), the second instance, a white square 50x50 pixels down 50 pixels and in 50 pixels from the top left corner.
Image

Now that's a one background LUA script to beat them all!
Thank you londonali1010, mrpeachy & dk75!

EDIT ... I forgot the LUA script!!!! :oops: :oops:

Code: Select all

--[[Background originally by londonali1010 (2009)
    ability to set any size for background mrpeachy 2011
    ability to set variables for bg in conkyrc dk75

  the change is that if you set width and/or height to 0
  then it assumes the width and/or height of the conky window

so:

lua_load ~/Conky/LUA/draw_bg.lua
TEXT
${lua conky_draw_bg 20 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.4}


${lua conky_draw_bg corner_radius x_position y_position width height color alpha}

covers the whole window and will change if you change the minimum_size setting

20             corner_radius
 0             x_position
 0             y_position
 0             width
 0             height
 0x000000      color
 0.4           alpha

]]

require 'cairo'
local    cs, cr = nil
function rgb_to_r_g_b(colour,alpha)
return ((colour / 0x10000) % 0x100) / 255., ((colour / 0x100) % 0x100) / 255., (colour % 0x100) / 255., alpha
end
function conky_draw_bg(r,x,y,w,h,color,alpha)
if conky_window == nil then return end
if cs == nil then cairo_surface_destroy(cs) end
if cr == nil then cairo_destroy(cr) end
local cs = cairo_xlib_surface_create(conky_window.display, conky_window.drawable, conky_window.visual, conky_window.width, conky_window.height)
local cr = cairo_create(cs)
w=w
h=h
if w=="0" then w=tonumber(conky_window.width) end
if h=="0" then h=tonumber(conky_window.height) end
cairo_set_source_rgba (cr,rgb_to_r_g_b(color,alpha))
--top left mid circle
local xtl=x+r
local ytl=y+r
--top right mid circle
local xtr=(x+r)+((w)-(2*r))
local ytr=y+r
--bottom right mid circle
local xbr=(x+r)+((w)-(2*r))
local ybr=(y+r)+((h)-(2*r))
--bottom right mid circle
local xbl=(x+r)
local ybl=(y+r)+((h)-(2*r))
-----------------------------
cairo_move_to (cr,xtl,ytl-r)
cairo_line_to (cr,xtr,ytr-r)
cairo_arc(cr,xtr,ytr,r,((2*math.pi/4)*3),((2*math.pi/4)*4))
cairo_line_to (cr,xbr+r,ybr)
cairo_arc(cr,xbr,ybr,r,((2*math.pi/4)*4),((2*math.pi/4)*1))
cairo_line_to (cr,xbl,ybl+r)
cairo_arc(cr,xbl,ybl,r,((2*math.pi/4)*1),((2*math.pi/4)*2))
cairo_line_to (cr,xtl-r,ytl)
cairo_arc(cr,xtl,ytl,r,((2*math.pi/4)*2),((2*math.pi/4)*3))
cairo_close_path(cr)
cairo_fill (cr)
------------------------------------------------------------
cairo_surface_destroy(cs)
cairo_destroy(cr)
return ""
end
Using: BunsenLabs based on Debian Stable.
Conky PitStop

rsys
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:28 am

Monitor ATI Graphic Card and Load from conky.

Post by rsys »

Sorry if I post this at the wrong thread

1. Install ATI Driver, you can do that from Additional Driver or Install manually
2. Put the command bellow to your conkyrc file (you can customize the interval as you like)

Code: Select all

# Monitor VGA Load
${execpi 30 /usr/bin/aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-getclocks | grep -Eo "[[:digit:]]\%"}
#Monitor VGA Temparature
${execpi 30 /usr/bin/aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature | grep -Eo "[[:digit:]]{1,}\.[[:digit:]]{1,}"}°C
3. After you put the code above in your conkyrc file you can customize by change the location or the font.

conkyrc example, I use conky-colors to generate the conkyrc file. After that I customize the file

Code: Select all

######################
# - Conky settings - #
######################
update_interval 1
total_run_times 0
net_avg_samples 1
cpu_avg_samples 1

imlib_cache_size 0
double_buffer yes
no_buffers yes

format_human_readable

#####################
# - Text settings - #
#####################
use_xft yes
xftfont Ubuntu:size=10
override_utf8_locale yes
text_buffer_size 2048

#############################
# - Window specifications - #
#############################
own_window_class Conky
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_argb_value 180
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

alignment top_right
gap_x 25
gap_y 40
minimum_size 182 600
maximum_width 182

default_bar_size 60 8

#########################
# - Graphics settings - #
#########################
draw_shades no

default_color cccccc

color0 white
color1 white
color2 white

TEXT
${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}SYSTEM $stippled_hr${font}
##############
# - SYSTEM - #
##############
${color0}${voffset 6}${font ConkySymbols:size=19}U${font}${color}${goto 32}${voffset -14}Kernel: ${alignr}${color2}${kernel}${color}
${goto 32}uptime: ${alignr}${color2}${uptime}${color}
# |--UPDATES
${goto 32}Updates: ${alignr}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}${execi 360 aptitude search "~U" | wc -l | tail}${color}${font} ${color2}Packages${color}
# |--CPU
${offset 1}${color0}${font Poky:size=16}P${font}${offset -19}${voffset 9}${cpubar cpu0 4,18}${color}${voffset -16}${goto 32}CPU1: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}${cpu cpu1}%${font} ${alignr}${color2}${cpugraph cpu1 8,50 white white}${color}
${goto 32}CPU2: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}${cpu cpu2}%${font} ${alignr}${color2}${cpugraph cpu2 8,50 white white}${color}
# |--MEM
${color0}${font Poky:size=16}M${font}${color}${goto 32}${voffset -7}RAM: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}$memperc%${colo r}${font}
${offset 1}${voffset 2}${color0}${membar 4,18}${color}${goto 32}${voffset -2}F: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color2}${memeasyfree}$ {color}${font} U: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color2}${mem}${color}$ {font}
# |--VGA
${color0}${font Poky:size=14}A${font}${color}${goto 32}${voffset -7}VGA: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}${execpi 30 /usr/bin/aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-getclocks | grep -Eo "[[:digit:]]\%"}${color}${font}
${goto 32}${voffset -5}Temp: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}${execpi 30 /usr/bin/aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature | grep -Eo "[[:digit:]]{1,}\.[[:digit:]]{1,}"}°C${color}${font}
And here what it's look like on my desktop
Image

Note: Sorry for my bad english.

User avatar
Sector11
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:33 am

Re: Monitor ATI Graphic Card and Load from conky.

Post by Sector11 »

rsys wrote:Sorry if I post this at the wrong thread

1. Install ATI Driver, you can do that from Additional Driver or Install manually
2. Put the command bellow to your conkyrc file (you can customize the interval as you like)

Code: Select all

# Monitor VGA Load
${execpi 30 /usr/bin/aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-getclocks | grep -Eo "[[:digit:]]\%"}
#Monitor VGA Temparature
${execpi 30 /usr/bin/aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature | grep -Eo "[[:digit:]]{1,}\.[[:digit:]]{1,}"}°C
3. After you put the code above in your conkyrc file you can customize by change the location or the font.

conkyrc example, I use conky-colors to generate the conkyrc file. After that I customize the file

Code: Select all

######################
# - Conky settings - #
######################
update_interval 1
total_run_times 0
net_avg_samples 1
cpu_avg_samples 1

imlib_cache_size 0
double_buffer yes
no_buffers yes

format_human_readable

#####################
# - Text settings - #
#####################
use_xft yes
xftfont Ubuntu:size=10
override_utf8_locale yes
text_buffer_size 2048

#############################
# - Window specifications - #
#############################
own_window_class Conky
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_argb_value 180
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

alignment top_right
gap_x 25
gap_y 40
minimum_size 182 600
maximum_width 182

default_bar_size 60 8

#########################
# - Graphics settings - #
#########################
draw_shades no

default_color cccccc

color0 white
color1 white
color2 white

TEXT
${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}SYSTEM $stippled_hr${font}
##############
# - SYSTEM - #
##############
${color0}${voffset 6}${font ConkySymbols:size=19}U${font}${color}${goto 32}${voffset -14}Kernel: ${alignr}${color2}${kernel}${color}
${goto 32}uptime: ${alignr}${color2}${uptime}${color}
# |--UPDATES
${goto 32}Updates: ${alignr}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}${execi 360 aptitude search "~U" | wc -l | tail}${color}${font} ${color2}Packages${color}
# |--CPU
${offset 1}${color0}${font Poky:size=16}P${font}${offset -19}${voffset 9}${cpubar cpu0 4,18}${color}${voffset -16}${goto 32}CPU1: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}${cpu cpu1}%${font} ${alignr}${color2}${cpugraph cpu1 8,50 white white}${color}
${goto 32}CPU2: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}${cpu cpu2}%${font} ${alignr}${color2}${cpugraph cpu2 8,50 white white}${color}
# |--MEM
${color0}${font Poky:size=16}M${font}${color}${goto 32}${voffset -7}RAM: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}$memperc%${colo r}${font}
${offset 1}${voffset 2}${color0}${membar 4,18}${color}${goto 32}${voffset -2}F: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color2}${memeasyfree}$ {color}${font} U: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color2}${mem}${color}$ {font}
# |--VGA
${color0}${font Poky:size=14}A${font}${color}${goto 32}${voffset -7}VGA: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}${execpi 30 /usr/bin/aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-getclocks | grep -Eo "[[:digit:]]\%"}${color}${font}
${goto 32}${voffset -5}Temp: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=10}${color1}${execpi 30 /usr/bin/aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature | grep -Eo "[[:digit:]]{1,}\.[[:digit:]]{1,}"}°C${color}${font}
And here what it's look like on my desktop
Image

Note: Sorry for my bad english.
1. It's a conky - it's the right thread.
2. Your English is fine!

And it's a nice little ATI HowTo some will be glad to see it.
Using: BunsenLabs based on Debian Stable.
Conky PitStop

lmintnewb

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by lmintnewb »

Image

Code: Select all

##############################################
#  Settings
##############################################
background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont Orbitron:size=8
xftalpha 1
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type desktop
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 220 100
maximum_width 221
draw_shades yes
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders yes
default_color white
default_shade_color black
default_outline_color white
default_bar_size 77 3
alignment top_left
gap_x 40
gap_y 40
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale yes
##############################################
#  Output
##############################################
Text

${font Orbitron:bold:size=15}$alignc - S P E C S - ${font}




${font Orbitron:size=20} RAM = ${font}${voffset -5}${font Orbitron:size=16}$mem ${font}
${voffset -3}${membar 3,100}  

${voffset 16} ${font Orbitron:size=16} CPU =${font} ${voffset -5}${font Orbitron:size=16} ${cpu cpu0}% ${font} 


${font Orbitron:size=12} DISK ${font} 
${fs_bar /}  ${font Orbitron:size=12}  ${fs_used_perc /}%${font}

${font Orbitron:size=12} SWAP ${font} 
${swapbar}  ${font Orbitron:size=12}  $swapperc% ${font}





${alignr 85}${font Orbitron:size=18}${color green}${time %I:%M %p}${font}${color}





${font Orbitron:bold:size=12}$alignc - N e t w o r k -${font} 
${hr 2}


${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=16}U ${font}${font Orbitron:size=12}$alignr${downspeed eth0} kbs${font}


${font Orbitron:size=14} Total = ${font}${voffset -5}${font Orbitron:size=12}${totaldown eth0}${font}


${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=16}O ${font}${font Orbitron:size=12}$alignr${upspeed eth0} kbs${font}


${font Orbitron:size=14} Total = ${font}${voffset -5}${font Orbitron:size=12}${totalup eth0}${font}
Orbitron font available here. http://www.theleagueofmoveabletype.com/
Pizzadude's bullet font available here. http://www.dafont.com/pizzadude-bullets.font

Well last time I checked or downloaded em anyway. :D Hiya's 2 Sector11, I see you are still one of the gnu/linux worlds leading guru's and fans of all things conky. Tips hat ... Dang people have some really nice conky configs going on here. Cool.

User avatar
Sector11
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:33 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

lmintnewb wrote:Hiya's 2 Sector11, I see you are still one of the gnu/linux worlds leading guru's and fans of all things conky. Tips hat ... Dang people have some really nice conky configs going on here. Cool.
Thanks for the kind words, I'm just helping were I can. There are a lot of people more conky wise than I am, it's just I'm here more often.

Nice clean conky you have there ... I have trimmed my conky back a LOT - two actually - and since this is Mint ... a green wallpaper. :mrgreen:
Image
I have the LMDE CD here I should take it for a test run, take a lot to get me off #! Wheezy though.
Using: BunsenLabs based on Debian Stable.
Conky PitStop

minitrucker
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:32 am
Location: Alabama

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by minitrucker »

nothing special, mostly just a copypasta from the crunchbang forums. I still haven't learned enough to get the right monitoring code in there. I know Mint has one from the factory, I just haven't done enough homework to get it in my conky. This particular screeny though, I took cuz I wanted to show off cpu usage without crash of Linux in general. If I would've come anywhere close to that kind of usage in Windows, it would've imploded on me immediately. I talk from experience. I was transferring about 2 gigs of pics to the net and 4.5 gigs of pics to a flash drive at the same time. While running banshee music player and surfing on a separate browser from the one that was uploading pics.


its telling board attatchment quota has been reached???? tried twice
I like everything custom. My vehicles, my Operating Systems, my bank accounts....... I guess I'm just spoiled........maybe

Am I Anonymous?
Am I Legion?
Can I Forgive?
I Forget What Happened 15min ago......
Should I expect myself?

User avatar
RETNUH
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 446
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 10:55 pm
Location: Nebraska, USA

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by RETNUH »

I know its not mine, however I stumpled upon this. It has a couple cool ones on it.
We all know that light travels faster than sound. That's why certain people appear bright until you hear them speak. -Albert Einstein

Formerly known as Luckydog.

Looking for me? Check the IRC I've been hanging out there.

User avatar
jpr928
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:32 am
Location: Canary, Fuerteventura

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by jpr928 »

Hi! my name is Jean-Pierre, I have a question, is lua difference between LM 12 and LMDE , because the same conky-lua is not working in LM 12
but work on LMDE.
The shell response on every symbol '=' is :

Code: Select all

 conky -c /home/bushi12/.conky/scripts/conkyrcConky: llua_load: /home/bushi12/.conky/scripts/clock_rings.lua:262: unexpected symbol near '='
Conky: desktop window (1000024) is subwindow of root window (18e)
Conky: window type - override
Conky: drawing to created window (0x2a00001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer
Conky: llua_do_call: function conky_clock_rings execution failed: attempt to call a nil value
Conky: llua_do_call: function conky_clock_rings execution failed: attempt to call a nil value
but the symbol '=' is important :

Code: Select all

clock_x=190
clock_y=297

show_seconds=true

require 'cairo'

function rgb_to_r_g_b(colour,alpha)
    return ((colour / 0x10000) % 0x100) / 255., ((colour / 0x100) % 0x100) / 255., (colour % 0x100) / 255., alpha
end
Somebody know this problem and how to fix it ?
Thanks
La ligne de commande UNIX devrait être obligatoire dès la maternelle ! :-)
Debian,Ubuntu, Mint, Voyager, Gnome, Chromium, FF, .

minitrucker
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:32 am
Location: Alabama

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by minitrucker »

Luckydog wrote:I know its not mine, however I stumpled upon this. It has a couple cool ones on it.

sooooo jelli of all those
I like everything custom. My vehicles, my Operating Systems, my bank accounts....... I guess I'm just spoiled........maybe

Am I Anonymous?
Am I Legion?
Can I Forgive?
I Forget What Happened 15min ago......
Should I expect myself?

User avatar
RETNUH
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 446
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 10:55 pm
Location: Nebraska, USA

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by RETNUH »

minitrucker wrote:
Luckydog wrote:I know its not mine, however I stumpled upon this. It has a couple cool ones on it.

sooooo jelli of all those
Under each one there was a link that said something like "download and configuration settings". So you should be able to use them if you like.
We all know that light travels faster than sound. That's why certain people appear bright until you hear them speak. -Albert Einstein

Formerly known as Luckydog.

Looking for me? Check the IRC I've been hanging out there.

User avatar
jompa89
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:37 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by jompa89 »

jpr928 wrote:Hi! my name is Jean-Pierre, I have a question, is lua difference between LM 12 and LMDE , because the same conky-lua is not working in LM 12
but work on LMDE.
The shell response on every symbol '=' is :

Code: Select all

 conky -c /home/bushi12/.conky/scripts/conkyrcConky: llua_load: /home/bushi12/.conky/scripts/clock_rings.lua:262: unexpected symbol near '='
Conky: desktop window (1000024) is subwindow of root window (18e)
Conky: window type - override
Conky: drawing to created window (0x2a00001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer
Conky: llua_do_call: function conky_clock_rings execution failed: attempt to call a nil value
Conky: llua_do_call: function conky_clock_rings execution failed: attempt to call a nil value
but the symbol '=' is important :

Code: Select all

clock_x=190
clock_y=297

show_seconds=true

require 'cairo'

function rgb_to_r_g_b(colour,alpha)
    return ((colour / 0x10000) % 0x100) / 255., ((colour / 0x100) % 0x100) / 255., (colour % 0x100) / 255., alpha
end
Somebody know this problem and how to fix it ?
Thanks
My conky setup that worked in LMDE doesn't work in Mint 12 either. Anyone has a solution?
Norwegian jornalist student who have used linux since 2008.

minitrucker
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:32 am
Location: Alabama

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by minitrucker »

did either of you redownload the fonts required to run the clocks and what not? Most of those things are font sets and the font library on mint isn't all that big really. Just a thought.
I like everything custom. My vehicles, my Operating Systems, my bank accounts....... I guess I'm just spoiled........maybe

Am I Anonymous?
Am I Legion?
Can I Forgive?
I Forget What Happened 15min ago......
Should I expect myself?

User avatar
jompa89
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:37 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by jompa89 »

I didn't install ant fonts on LMDE while I used that, and I don't know if there are any differences between this in LMDE and Mint 12.
Norwegian jornalist student who have used linux since 2008.

SuiCiDeSiNiSReR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by SuiCiDeSiNiSReR »

heres mine...3 different conkyrc's plus 2 clock ring lua scripts. took a lil bit from several others conky's and made this. originally i had used this on ubuntu 10.04 but switched to Mint 9 KDE and had to do alot of work to it to get it to work on here.

Image

User avatar
Sector11
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:33 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

jompa89 wrote:I didn't install ant fonts on LMDE while I used that, and I don't know if there are any differences between this in LMDE and Mint 12.
Check your conky version.

Code: Select all

  23:20:45 ~
         $ conky --version
Conky 1.8.1 compiled Wed Sep  7 23:22:15 UTC 2011 for Linux 3.0.0-1-amd64 (x86_64)

Compiled in features:

System config file: /etc/conky/conky.conf
Package library path: /usr/lib/conky

 X11:
  * Xdamage extension
  * XDBE (double buffer extension)
  * Xft
  * ARGB visual

 Music detection:
  * Audacious
  * MPD
  * MOC
  * XMMS2

 General:
  * math
  * hddtemp
  * portmon
  * Curl
  * RSS
  * Weather (METAR)
  * Weather (XOAP)
  * wireless
  * support for IBM/Lenovo notebooks
  * nvidia
  * eve-online
  * config-output
  * Imlib2
  * apcupsd
  * iostats
  * ncurses
  * Lua

  Lua bindings:
   * Cairo
   * Imlib2

  23:20:55 ~
         $ 
you want to see the final bit:

Code: Select all

  * Lua

  Lua bindings:
   * Cairo
   * Imlib2
If your conky doesn't have that get another version that does.
Using: BunsenLabs based on Debian Stable.
Conky PitStop

Post Reply

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”