Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

Hi all,

I've upgraded to mint 20 Cinnamon but can't seem to find the Conky Manager anywhere on the internet. Here is what happens in Terminal:

todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$ sudo apt-add-repository -y ppa:teejee2008/ppa
[sudo] password for todd:
You are about to add the following PPA:
More info: https://launchpad.net/~teejee2008/+archive/ubuntu/ppa
Executing: /tmp/apt-key-gpghome.FOIfwUsRxW/gpg.1.sh --keyserver hkps://keyserver.ubuntu.com:443 --recv-keys 1B32B87ABAEE357218F6B48CB5B116B72D0F61F0
gpg: key B5B116B72D0F61F0: public key "Launchpad PPA for Tony George" imported
gpg: Total number processed: 1
gpg: imported: 1
todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$ sudo apt-get upd
E: Invalid operation upd
todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$ sudo apt-get update
Ign:1 http://mirrors.evowise.com/linuxmint/packages ulyana InRelease
Hit:2 http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu focal InRelease
Hit:3 http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu focal-updates InRelease
Hit:4 http://mirrors.evowise.com/linuxmint/packages ulyana Release
Hit:5 http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu focal-backports InRelease
Get:6 http://ppa.launchpad.net/teejee2008/ppa/ubuntu focal InRelease [17.5 kB]
Hit:8 http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu focal InRelease
Hit:9 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-security InRelease
Get:10 http://ppa.launchpad.net/teejee2008/ppa/ubuntu focal/main amd64 Packages [800 B]
Get:11 http://ppa.launchpad.net/teejee2008/ppa/ubuntu focal/main Translation-en [392 B]
Fetched 18.7 kB in 1s (13.6 kB/s)
Reading package lists... Done
todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$ sudo apt-get install conk
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package conk
todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$ sudo apt-get install conky manager
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package manager
todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$ sudo apt-get install conky manager
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package manager

Does anyone know what is going on or is it now discontinued?

User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2535
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

Todd Sauve wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:03 am
Does anyone know what is going on or is it now discontinued?
From the ppa page: For questions and bugs with software in this PPA please contact Tony George.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

Thanks for your reply. But how do I contact him?

In fact, on his PPA page it states: Tony George is not an answer contact for any project.

User avatar
smurphos
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7056
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by smurphos »

Tony abandoned conky-manager a long time ago - his PPA provides it for Ubuntu Xenial / Mint 18.x or earlier only.

Forum member zcot has made a forked version which supports the newer conky syntax - https://github.com/zcot/conky-manager2/ ... 10-support

I've not tried in in Mint 20, but it worked fine in Mint 19.x
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

Unfortunately, that is a dead link. Any ideas?

User avatar
smurphos
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7056
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by smurphos »

Todd Sauve wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 3:07 am
Unfortunately, that is a dead link. Any ideas?
Give it a try later - Github is having some downtime this morning.
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

User avatar
zcot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by zcot »

Hi guys, yes, it's working with Mint 20 also. I haven't seen any issues yet.

Also, Todd, just to add some clarity for you from above, that command would attempt to install conky and manager. In the case of that old ppa the package name was conky-manager. todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$ sudo apt-get install conky manager

The format is apt install program1 program2 etc.

But this one installs differently and the instructions are listed, it should build without any problems, just copy/paste. ;)

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

Coz, I have the worst luck with Conky!

Here is what happened when I entered your command:

todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$ sudo apt-get install conky manager
[sudo] password for todd:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package manager
todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$

I did, however, manage to install the Debian Conky Manager 2.4 but it just won't see my .conkyrc file. I've put a copy of it in every conky folder I can find in the file manager but no luck. Version 2.4 doesn't even have an "import file" option on the menu.

Any ideas guys and gals what may be going wrong here?

I'm sorry to be such a pain. Conky seems to be my own personal albatros! :lol:
Last edited by Todd Sauve on Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

So I put the - in the command, between the conky and manager like so, conky-manager. This worked better but at the end told me it had already installed the newest version, 2.4.

Why can't I get it to see my simple .conkyrc file?Image

As I said, I've put it in literally EVERY folder that Conky Manager has but it just doesn't seem to pick it up ...

User avatar
zcot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by zcot »

It won't work.

smurphos already mentioned why, and what to do.

I would suggest, although I suppose it's not going to hurt anything if you don't do it, but run terminal command apt purge conky-manager. And go delete that debian file too, it's no good for this case.

go there: https://github.com/zcot/conky-manager2 and scroll down and it says something like HOWTOINSTALL.

We'll be glad to help if you run into issues.

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

Here is what is in my .conkyrc file.

conky.config = {
background = false,
update_interval = 1,

cpu_avg_samples = 2,
net_avg_samples = 2,
temperature_unit = 'celsius',

double_buffer = true,
no_buffers = true,
text_buffer_size = 2048,

gap_x = 30,
gap_y = 40,
minimum_width = 280, minimum_height = 460,
maximum_width = 280,
own_window = true,
own_window_class = 'conky',
own_window_argb_visual = true,
own_window_argb_value = 120,
own_window_hints = 'undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager',
own_window_transparent = true,
background = false,
border_inner_margin = 0,
border_outer_margin = 0,
alignment = 'bottom_right',

draw_shades = false,
draw_outline = false,
draw_borders = false,
draw_graph_borders = false,

override_utf8_locale = true,
use_xft = true,
font = 'DejaVu Sans:size=10',
xftalpha = 0.5,
uppercase = false,

default_color = 'white',
color1 = 'cyan',
color2 = 'white',


};

conky.text = [[
${goto 5}${font zekton:style=Bold:pixelsize=14}${color2}${font Snap.se:size=8}

${goto 10}${font OpenLogos:size=11}OS: ${execi 10800 cat /etc/issue.net}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}Kernel: ${kernel}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU: ${execi 86400 cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //'| uniq | cut -c -5} \
${execi 86400 cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //'| uniq | cut -c 19-26}

${goto 5}${font zekton:style=Bold:pixelsize=14}${color2}SYSTEM LOAD${font Snap.se:size=8} ${color1}${hr}${color}
${voffset -5}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 1: ${cpu cpu 0}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 0'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 1} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 0}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 2: ${cpu cpu 1}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 1'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 2} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 1}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 3: ${cpu cpu 2}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 2'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 3} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 2}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 4: ${cpu cpu 3}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 4} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 3}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 5: ${cpu cpu 4}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 5} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 4}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 6: ${cpu cpu 5}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 6} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 5}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 7: ${cpu cpu 6}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 7} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 6}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 8: ${cpu cpu 7}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 8} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 7}${color}
${voffset -5}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}RAM $mem/$memmax ($memperc%)
${goto 32}${color1}${membar 5,230}${color}
${voffset -5}
${goto 10}${font conkycolors:size=11}HOME: ${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /}
${goto 32}${color1}${fs_bar 5,230}${color}
${voffset -5}
${goto 10}${font conkycolors:size=11}Adata8200Pro RW: ${diskio}
${voffset -5}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}Nvidia MSI GTX770 OC: ${exec nvidia-settings -t -q [gpu:0]/GPUCoreTemp} °C${goto 150}
${goto 32} Mem Used: ${execi 5 nvidia-settings -q [gpu:0]/UsedDedicatedGPUMemory -t} / ${exec nvidia-settings -q [gpu:0]/TotalDedicatedGPUMemory -t} MB
${goto 32}${color2} GPU Fan: $color ${execi 10 nvidia-settings -q [fan:0]/GPUCurrentFanSpeed -t}%
]];


Is there something incompatible in there?

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

OK Coz! We have it up and running now with Conky Manager 2.7, installed using the instructions you pointed me to!

Thanks a million! You have rescued me again! 8) 8) 8)

I have only one problem. My previous CPU was an Intel i4770K but I just rebuilt my PC with all new gear. I now have an ASUS X-570 Plus TUF Gaming motherboard and an AMD 3700X with 8 cores and 16 hyperthreads. (And 32 GB RAM.) But now my conky isn't showing the temperatures of the 8 cores on the AMD 3700X.

Is there a different or additional Sensors package that I must install to get the temps to show up?

User avatar
smurphos
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7056
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by smurphos »

Todd Sauve wrote:
Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:18 am
Is there a different or additional Sensors package that I must install to get the temps to show up?
sensors output varies depending on hardware so you'll need to run it to have a look at what output is available on your new hardware.

Then test and adjust the relevant lines from your conky to suit.
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

Thank you so much Smurphos!

Here is what the sensors command says:

todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$ sensors
k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
Tdie: +53.2°C (high = +70.0°C)
Tctl: +53.2°C

todd@todd-System-Product-Name:~$

I posted all the data in my .conkyrc file a couple of posts upward in this thread. Do you perchance know what I should change in it to get it reading the temp sensors? If you could type out what needs changing and show me where it goes that would help me tremendously. I'm such a newbie in experience with Linux. Sorry I need all this hand holding!

User avatar
smurphos
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7056
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by smurphos »

OK - you are getting very limited output from sensors on your new hardware - just an overall CPU temp - nothing per core or for any other sensors on your system.

If you want to see if there are more outputs available you will need to go through the sudo sensors-detect process. Before deciding to do that read the warning from man sensors-detect

Code: Select all

WARNING
       sensors-detect  needs  to access the hardware for most of the chip detections.  By definition, it doesn't know
       which chips are there before it manages to identify them. This means that it can access chips in a  way  these
       chips  do  not  like,  causing  problems  ranging from SMBus lockup to permanent hardware damage (a rare case,
       thankfully.)

       The authors made their best to make the detection as safe as possible, and it turns out to work just  fine  in
       most cases, however it is impossible to guarantee that sensors-detect will not lock or kill a specific system.
       So, as a rule of thumb, you should not run sensors-detect on production servers, and you should not  run  sen‐
       sors-detect if can't afford replacing a random part of your system. Also, it is recommended to not force a de‐
       tection step which would have been skipped by default, unless you know what you are doing
The process does warn if any particular step is potentially dangerous and offers to allow you to skip that step.
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

Here is what the first command returned:

<pre><font color="#8AE234"><b>todd@todd-System-Product-Name</b></font>:<font color="#729FCF"><b>~</b></font>$ sudo sensors-detect
[sudo] password for todd:
# sensors-detect version 3.6.0
# Board: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. TUF GAMING X570-PLUS
# Kernel: 5.4.0-40-generic x86_64
# Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 8-Core Processor (23/113/0)

This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
unless you know what you&apos;re doing.

Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers contain embedded sensors.
Do you want to scan for them? This is totally safe. (YES/no): yes
Module cpuid loaded successfully.
Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595... No
VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors... No
VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors... No
AMD K8 thermal sensors... No
AMD Family 10h thermal sensors... No
AMD Family 11h thermal sensors... No
AMD Family 12h and 14h thermal sensors... No
AMD Family 15h thermal sensors... No
AMD Family 16h thermal sensors... No
AMD Family 17h thermal sensors... Success!
(driver `k10temp&apos;)
AMD Family 15h power sensors... No
AMD Family 16h power sensors... No
Hygon Family 18h thermal sensors... No
Intel digital thermal sensor... No
Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor... No
Intel 5500/5520/X58 thermal sensor... No
VIA C7 thermal sensor... No
VIA Nano thermal sensor... No

Some Super I/O chips contain embedded sensors. We have to write to
standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): yes
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE&apos;... No
Trying family `SMSC&apos;... No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek&apos;... Yes
Found `Nuvoton NCT6798D Super IO Sensors&apos; Success!
(address 0x290, driver `nct6775&apos;)
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE&apos;... No
Trying family `SMSC&apos;... No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek&apos;... No
Trying family `ITE&apos;... No

Some systems (mainly servers) implement IPMI, a set of common interfaces
through which system health data may be retrieved, amongst other things.
We first try to get the information from SMBIOS. If we don&apos;t find it
there, we have to read from arbitrary I/O ports to probe for such
interfaces. This is normally safe. Do you want to scan for IPMI
interfaces? (YES/no): y
Probing for `IPMI BMC KCS&apos; at 0xca0... No
Probing for `IPMI BMC SMIC&apos; at 0xca8... No

Some hardware monitoring chips are accessible through the ISA I/O ports.
We have to write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually
safe though. Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any
ISA slots! Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (yes/NO): y
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78&apos; at 0x290... No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79&apos; at 0x290... No
Probing for `Winbond W83781D&apos; at 0x290... No
Probing for `Winbond W83782D&apos; at 0x290... No

Lastly, we can probe the I2C/SMBus adapters for connected hardware
monitoring devices. This is the most risky part, and while it works
reasonably well on most systems, it has been reported to cause trouble
on some systems.
Do you want to probe the I2C/SMBus adapters now? (YES/no): y
Using driver `i2c-piix4&apos; for device 0000:00:14.0: AMD KERNCZ SMBus

Next adapter: SMBus PIIX4 adapter port 0 at 0b00 (i2c-0)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y
Client found at address 0x52
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033&apos;... No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034&apos;... No
Probing for `SPD EEPROM&apos;... Yes
(confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)
Client found at address 0x53
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033&apos;... No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034&apos;... No
Probing for `SPD EEPROM&apos;... Yes
(confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)

Next adapter: SMBus PIIX4 adapter port 2 at 0b00 (i2c-1)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 0 at 9:00.0 (i2c-2)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 1 at 9:00.0 (i2c-3)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 2 at 9:00.0 (i2c-4)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 6 at 9:00.0 (i2c-5)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 7 at 9:00.0 (i2c-6)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 8 at 9:00.0 (i2c-7)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 11 at 9:00.0 (i2c-8)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y
Adapter cannot be probed, skipping.

Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue:

Driver `k10temp&apos; (autoloaded):
* Chip `AMD Family 17h thermal sensors&apos; (confidence: 9)

Driver `nct6775&apos;:
* ISA bus, address 0x290
Chip `Nuvoton NCT6798D Super IO Sensors&apos; (confidence: 9)

To load everything that is needed, add this to /etc/modules:
#----cut here----
# Chip drivers
nct6775
#----cut here----
If you have some drivers built into your kernel, the list above will
contain too many modules. Skip the appropriate ones!

Do you want to add these lines automatically to /etc/modules? (yes/NO)n

Unloading cpuid... OK
</pre>

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

And here is what the second command returned:

<pre>SENSORS-DETECT(8) System Manager&apos;s Manual SENSORS-DETECT(8)

<b>NAME</b>
sensors-detect - detect hardware monitoring chips

<b>SYNOPSIS</b>
<b>sensors-detect</b> <b>[</b> <u style="text-decoration-style:single">--auto</u> <b>]</b>

<b>DESCRIPTION</b>
sensors-detect is an interactive program that will walk you through the
process of scanning your system for various hardware monitoring chips,
or sensors, supported by libsensors(3), or more generally by the
lm_sensors tool suite.

sensors-detect will look for the following devices, in order:

• Sensors embedded in CPUs, south bridges and memory controllers.

• Sensors embedded in Super I/O chips.

• Hardware monitoring chips accessed through ISA I/O ports.

• Hardware monitoring chips reachable over the SMBus or more gen‐
<span style="background-color:#FFFFFF"><font color="#3F3F3F"> Manual page sensors-detect(8) line 1 (press h for help or q to quit)</font></span>

</pre>

User avatar
smurphos
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7056
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by smurphos »

Thanks - the second command man sensors-detect displays the user manual for the command. The idea was for you to read before proceeding.

Still you've run through the process without apparent issue so the next step is to add the extra detected monitoring chip

This command will open the relevant config file in a terminal based text editor (if you've never run it before it will ask you to choose an editor - stick with the default)

Code: Select all

sudoedit /etc/modules
Then add the lines

Code: Select all

# Chip drivers
nct6775
To save the file Ctrl-X, and answer yes to the prompts. Once done reboot and then see if you get any additional output from the command sensors
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

Hopefully this is an easier to read copy of the text in my Conkyrc file. Anyone who would lije to use this conky is welcome to make a copy for yourself. It is quite simple but looks great!



conky.config = {
background = false,
update_interval = 1,

cpu_avg_samples = 2,
net_avg_samples = 2,
temperature_unit = 'celsius',

double_buffer = true,
no_buffers = true,
text_buffer_size = 2048,

gap_x = 30,
gap_y = 40,
minimum_width = 280, minimum_height = 460,
maximum_width = 280,
own_window = true,
own_window_class = 'conky',
own_window_argb_visual = true,
own_window_argb_value = 120,
own_window_hints = 'undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager',
own_window_transparent = true,
background = false,
border_inner_margin = 0,
border_outer_margin = 0,
alignment = 'bottom_right',

draw_shades = false,
draw_outline = false,
draw_borders = false,
draw_graph_borders = false,

override_utf8_locale = true,
use_xft = true,
font = 'DejaVu Sans:size=10',
xftalpha = 0.5,
uppercase = false,

default_color = 'white',
color1 = 'cyan',
color2 = 'white',


};

conky.text = [[
${goto 5}${font zekton:style=Bold:pixelsize=14}${color2}${font Snap.se:size=8}

${goto 10}${font OpenLogos:size=11}OS: ${execi 10800 cat /etc/issue.net}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}Kernel: ${kernel}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU: ${execi 86400 cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //'| uniq | cut -c -5} \
${execi 86400 cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //'| uniq | cut -c 19-26}

${goto 5}${font zekton:style=Bold:pixelsize=14}${color2}SYSTEM LOAD${font Snap.se:size=8} ${color1}${hr}${color}
${voffset -5}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 1: ${cpu cpu 0}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 0'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 1} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 0}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 2: ${cpu cpu 1}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 1'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 2} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 1}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 3: ${cpu cpu 2}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 2'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 3} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 2}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 4: ${cpu cpu 3}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 4} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 3}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 5: ${cpu cpu 4}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 5} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 4}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 6: ${cpu cpu 5}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 6} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 5}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 7: ${cpu cpu 6}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 7} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 6}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 8: ${cpu cpu 7}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 8} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 7}${color}
${voffset -5}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}RAM $mem/$memmax ($memperc%)
${goto 32}${color1}${membar 5,230}${color}
${voffset -5}
${goto 10}${font conkycolors:size=11}HOME: ${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /}
${goto 32}${color1}${fs_bar 5,230}${color}
${voffset -5}
${goto 10}${font conkycolors:size=11}Adata8200Pro RW: ${diskio}
${voffset -5}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}Nvidia MSI GTX770 OC: ${exec nvidia-settings -t -q [gpu:0]/GPUCoreTemp} °C${goto 150}
${goto 32} Mem Used: ${execi 5 nvidia-settings -q [gpu:0]/UsedDedicatedGPUMemory -t} / ${exec nvidia-settings -q [gpu:0]/TotalDedicatedGPUMemory -t} MB
${goto 32}${color2} GPU Fan: $color ${execi 10 nvidia-settings -q [fan:0]/GPUCurrentFanSpeed -t}%
]];

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

OK, here is what "sensors" shows:

<pre><font color="#8AE234"><b>todd@todd-System-Product-Name</b></font>:<font color="#729FCF"><b>~</b></font>$ sensors
k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
Tdie: +53.6°C (high = +70.0°C)
Tctl: +53.6°C

<font color="#8AE234"><b>todd@todd-System-Product-Name</b></font>:<font color="#729FCF"><b>~</b></font>$
</pre>

Post Reply

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”