Konky installation...

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
tenfoot
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Konky installation...

Post by tenfoot »

Decided to install Konky. Downloaded from the Konky site and extracted files. However, failed at the ./configure stage with the following error:
checking if the linker (/usr/bin/ld) is GNU ld... yes
checking for shared library run path origin... done
checking for iconv... yes
checking for working iconv... yes
checking for iconv declaration... install-shextern size_t iconv (iconv_t cd, char * *inbuf, size_t *inbytesleft, char * *outbuf, size_t *outbytesleft);
checking for Xext... yes
checking for XDamageQueryExtension in -lXdamage... no
configure: error: Could not find XDamageQueryExtension in -lXdamage
zed-desktop conky-1.8.0 #
Have searched in Package Manager for the missing file, without success.

Would appreciate some assistance from the Konky fans on the Forum, please.
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2743
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Konky installation...

Post by dawgdoc »

It may be simplest to install from synaptic or using apt-get instead of compiling. According to the Conky homepage the latest stable release is 1.8.0, which is the version in Synaptic. I am using conky-all instead of conky.
SYSTEMS:
HP 15-bw0017cl -- Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon (support for 80 y/o family members 1st install)
READING:
The Secret of the Ninth Planet by Donald A. Wollheim
User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I
Contact:

Re: Konky installation...

Post by colyn »

In addition to installing conky-all you need to write a .conkyrc file and save it in your home folder.

Check here for more info http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=30209
User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4578
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: Konky installation...

Post by Aging Technogeek »

Once you get conky installed, you might like to play around with this little app I found called ConkyWizard.

Believe it or not, someone has come out with a GUI for building your own .conkyrc file instead of the more common method of finding one that is close to what you want and editing it
Registered Linux User 483387
User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I
Contact:

Re: Konky installation...

Post by colyn »

Aging Technogeek wrote:Once you get conky installed, you might like to play around with this little app I found called ConkyWizard.

Believe it or not, someone has come out with a GUI for building your own .conkyrc file instead of the more common method of finding one that is close to what you want and editing it
You might also want to check out conky gui

It is a graphical interface for editing a .conkyrc

http://conkygui.sourceforge.net/
User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4578
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: Konky installation...

Post by Aging Technogeek »

There is something strange going on with the link I posted to ConkyWizard. If you click on the link you get a page explaining that the desired page of Webupd8 does not exist.

However, if you Google ConkyWizard and take the first link, it delivers you to the page that supposedly does not exist.

The URL is the same in both links. In fact, the URL I used in my link was from the site I reached via the Google link. Very odd.

I would recommend that anyone wanting to download ConkyWizard get to the site via Google since the link apparently is not working in my post.

I have installed both ConkyWizard and conky gui and it looks like they will complement each other nicely.
Registered Linux User 483387
tenfoot
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Konky installation...

Post by tenfoot »

Thanks to everyone for their helpful replies. I did look in Synaptic but, of course, as you will all have noticed I spelt it with a "K" instead of a "C". No wonder I couldn't find it :oops:

After I've finished reading the new messages on the Forum, I'll toddle off and install Conky from Synaptic.

It's no fun getting old :lol:
Post Reply

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”