Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] Update messes with Conky background

Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 8:18 am
by rollOver
First restart after update shows default wallpaper under Conky, not the currently selected wallpaper. Something to do with the new workspaces implementation?

Re: Update messes with Conky background

Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 8:29 am
by rollOver
found this:
You install new KDE-4.5 and conky’s background seems to be different then you real wallpaper? You lost transparency effect.

Everything what you need to know and do is using cmd program feh which should be able to redraw your current wallpaper for conky.

The best idea is write script like this one:

feh --bg-scale "`grep 'wallpaper=' ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-appletsrc | tail --bytes=+11`"

After execute it conky should automatically update background for right one. Unfortunately you need to run is every time when you change wallpaper.

UPDATE:

You need emerge an application: media-gfx/feh. I spotted that it works only for :

>media-gfx/feh-19
this solution works for xfce-mint, I execute

Code: Select all

feh --bg-center ~/mywallpaper.jpg
putting this in .xinitrc does not work, where should this go in xfce to run after conky in autostart apps?

Re: Update messes with Conky background

Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 6:05 pm
by aljoriz
that's a work around and not a fix

Re: Update messes with Conky background

Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 6:43 pm
by jeffreyC
Look in your conkyrc in Xfce 4.8 own_window_type desktop does not give transparency
own_window_type override does give transparency
I found this by having two conkys running and only one had transparency.

Re: Update messes with Conky background

Posted: Thu May 05, 2011 5:06 am
by aljoriz
@jeffreyC: Thank you for putting me in the right direction; this is the script I use for transparency

Code: Select all

# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window override
own_window_class Conky
own_window_type desktop
own_window_transparent yes
Hope this helps!

My conky is as good as it was! Thank you so much

Re: Update messes with Conky background

Posted: Fri May 06, 2011 1:07 pm
by rollOver
Thanks for this, much better than the work-around. I came across the 'override' bit but was using it wrong!

Desktop icons flicker or are not visible now, seems like I saw that mentioned somewhere!