Does Conky Work on Mint?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
arminius
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 am

Does Conky Work on Mint?

Postby arminius » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:13 am

I've just emigrated over from ubuntu, and everything seems to work fine, except for conky?

User avatar
ThistleWeb
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Does Conky Work on Mint?

Postby ThistleWeb » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:27 am

Yes, it's a daemon, I did a screencast on how to get started with Conky if you're interested. http://thistleweb.co.uk/screencast/linux/conky
Crivens!

arminius
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 am

Re: Does Conky Work on Mint?

Postby arminius » Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:44 am

I typed Conky into terminal
got back

Code: Select all

Conky: desktop window (1400024) is subwindow of root window (15a)
Conky: window type - override
Conky: drawing to created window (0x4a00001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer


but no conky displayed on my desktop

horus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:16 am

Re: Does Conky Work on Mint?

Postby horus » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:20 pm

Try editing your .conkyrc file.
Change window attributes to..

own_window yes
own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

Save it and launch Conky again.

( .conkyrc is a hidden file in your Home directory )

arminius
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 am

Re: Does Conky Work on Mint?

Postby arminius » Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

thanks worked perfectly.


Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests