Confused about compiz

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Gwarokk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:27 am

Confused about compiz

Postby Gwarokk » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:36 pm

From what I've been reading, Cinnamon doesn't use compiz, yes? Does that mean I should uninstall compiz? Will it interfere with my cinnamon DE? The reason I'm asking this is sometimes my graphics flicker and I'm wondering why. I'm assuming it's something to do with fglrx but there's not much I can do about that. Hoping it's something I can fix.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19238
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Confused about compiz

Postby xenopeek » Mon Feb 06, 2012 5:09 pm

Cinnamon indeed does not use Compiz. You can use Compiz in MATE. As long as you aren't running Compiz, it wouldn't interfere. Cinnamon is still under heavy development, so there may be some problems. More likely is your graphics card driver.
Image

Gwarokk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:27 am

Re: Confused about compiz

Postby Gwarokk » Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:32 pm

Alright, thanks for answering my question. Looking forward to future releases =)


Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests