Conky works with Cinnamon

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
woodsmoke
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:46 am
Location: Midwest USA: "flyover country" for the elites of either coast USA

Conky works with Cinnamon

Postby woodsmoke » Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:49 pm

It would be imagined that the "usuals" at the forum would know this, but possibly a new user considering Cinnamon might not.

There are a large number of scripts in "Minty" section of the forum.

As opposed to #!, the .conkyrc file, in Ubu variants, is found in /etc/conky.

Double buffering and transparency both work.

The very simple one I made has "stuck" all day and is stable with something like a FF window and a LO window both running.

woodsmoke

User avatar
Lumikki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:21 pm

Re: Conky works with Cinnamon

Postby Lumikki » Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:01 pm

I think real newbie would not ask does Conky work with Cinnamon, he/she would ask what is Conky?
http://conky.sourceforge.net/

Yeah, I'm using Conky with my Cinnamon desktop. You can install conky in Mints software manager.

viewtopic.php?f=60&t=30209
Asus P7P55D, i5 750 2.6Ghz, 4GB DDR3, GeForce 750Ti, 80GB Intel SSD, Dell 1600x1200, Dual boot, Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon, Windows 7

woodsmoke
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:46 am
Location: Midwest USA: "flyover country" for the elites of either coast USA

Re: Conky works with Cinnamon

Postby woodsmoke » Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:51 pm

Hi Lumikki.
Ya know that is why you are the smart one around here and I am the old doof! :lol:

It never even occurred to me! :lol:

thanks

woodsmoke


Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest