How do I make a desktop icon to run a script from?

About writing shell scripts and making the most of your shell
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
SteveH_66

How do I make a desktop icon to run a script from?

Post by SteveH_66 »

Newbie here, need some help. I don't know much about shell (bash?) scripting, or about creating icons on desktop/application launcher - beyond some simple basics of icon creation. But, through research on the net, then trial and error on my own, I finally managed to get a script written that lets me use 'rfkill' command to block/unblock bluetooth. It seems to work fine if I open it up in a terminal window and run it from the command line.

But now I am trying to run the shell (bash?) script by clicking on a desktop icon. I can copy the script to the desktop, and it will run if I right-click on it and select "run from terminal". But it doesn't work right, doesn't close the terminal window and seems to lock the terminal window up, the cursor just sits there. I don't know how to get it back to the command prompt when something goes wrong like this, so I just close the terminal window.

Is there a special way for creating a desktop icon or application launcher link(?) for running a script?

Is there a way to have it execute the script (correctly) by just double-clicking on the icon?

I seem to have muddled my way through getting the script written and working, but not doing so well on getting it to run from an icon. :lol: Appreciate any help someone can give me. Thanks

By the way, how do I get back to the command prompt in terminal when something goes off-the-rails like this? Thanks
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
ColdBoot

Re: How do I make a desktop icon to run a script from?

Post by ColdBoot »

SteveH_66 wrote: