(Solved) How do I make Guake the default terminal

About writing shell scripts and making the most of your shell
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Big_Duck

(Solved) How do I make Guake the default terminal

Post by Big_Duck »

Total noob, here. I've been using Linux for about a month and decided I wanted to start scripting and coding. I've also decided that I want to use Guake as my default terminal, but I'm having trouble accomplishing that. First, I tried

gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.default-applications.terminal exec 'guake'

No joy....
Then I tried:

sudo update-alternatives --config x-terminal-emulator

and selected "guake" as the default, but it still opens the standard terminal window instead. Here's the output:
Screenshot at 2017-05-06 19-08-40.png
I also tried the auto mode with no luck. Am I barking up the wrong tree? What am I missing?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Lemongrass38

Re: How do I make Guake the default terminal

Post by Lemongrass38 »

There's a little terminal launcher on your taskbar. Right-click that, then click edit. There you will see a command. That is the program the launcher launches when clicked. You can just rewrite that command to another terminal. I haven't tried it with guake. As I know, guake is not really a "usual" terminal but a drop-down terminal.

What you can consider: using a different terminal doesn't matter anything. It doesn't matter if you eat Snickers with your hands or a knife and a fork, it remains a Snickers bar. :) The terminal is just a "dressing" for the shell you're interacting with.

You can check your current shell:
echo $SHELL