Selective deleting

About writing shell scripts and making the most of your shell
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
mintymatrix
Level 4
Level 4

Selective deleting

Post by mintymatrix »

I have a large amount of data (between 1 to 2 Tb) in which I wish to delete most of the media files (like mp4, mpg, mpeg, avi, mp3 etc) from all its folders and subfolders. As the data is very large for my computer to handle at one time, I might have to repeat the process multiple times. So I am thinking of writing a script.

As I am new to writing scripts for Linux and am afraid of deleting important files from that data by mistake, I need help to know how can I write a script that will delete files of particular extension/s and delete empty folders (if any). If it is not too difficult for my ability, I would also like to know how can I make that script create a txt file and store the list of files deleted (including its path).

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
echo -e "Deleting mp4 files"
find . -type f -name '*.mp4' -delete
echo -e "Deleting avi files"
find . -type f -name '*.avi' -delete
echo -e "Deleting mpg files"
find . -type f -name '*.mpg' -delete
For writing to a file I think it should be like this before the delete commands : find . -type f -name '*.mp4' > 2delete-mp4.txt
Is this how it should be done ?
Is it a safe way to do it ? Or anyone has any better solution ?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Pierre
Level 21
Level 21

Re: Selective deleting

Post by Pierre »

whilst that script will work,

it's that I'm more prone to use Manual Handling, than automation:
- click, use Shift & click - to select a whole block of files - - Delete.
then wait & wait, because some files take ages & others won't be deleted coz of some weird error. .. .

& repeat,
:)