[SOLVED] Change prompt colour in the terminal

About writing shell scripts and making the most of your shell
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Snafu
Level 2
Level 2

[SOLVED] Change prompt colour in the terminal

Post by Snafu »

The prompt and text in my terminal were all the same colour, green, and I find it easier to read if the prompt and text are different colours. I've been trying to change the prompt colour by following instructions I found on ask ubuntu. I'm very new at fiddling with program files and do so with a great deal of trepidation. Last night I managed to remove the colour from the prompt so it was colourless before I got scared and bailed out, today I'm trying again. When I edit the colour code in line with the instructions I get the following message

Code: Select all

** (xed:19086): WARNING **: 20:39:50.216: Set document metadata failed: Setting attribute metadata::xed-spell-language not supported

** (xed:19086): WARNING **: 20:39:50.216: Set document metadata failed: Setting attribute metadata::xed-encoding not supported

What am I doing wrong?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
When all else fails follow the instructions
Pierre
Level 21
Level 21

Re: Change prompt colour in the terminal

Post by Pierre »

where is the Ubuntu instruction set ?.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
Snafu
Level 2
Level 2

Post by Snafu »

where is the Ubuntu instruction set ?.
https://askubuntu.com/questions/676352/ ... ash-prompt

I've been following answer No. 2
Pierre
Level 21
Level 21

Post by Pierre »

that was something that I've done way back in the Days of Dos
8)