Simple terminal command at startup.

About writing shell scripts and making the most of your shell
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Pawmaline

Simple terminal command at startup.

Post by Pawmaline »

I use Mint Xfce, still a complete newbie freshly liberated forever from microsoft, and loving it.

I found this little program called SCT and I use to maually set my screen's color warmth to what value feels best to my eyes, but in the morning at startup the bright screen frazzles my brain before I get a chance to enter the command.

All I need is for the terminal command SCT 2000 to run at startup. I've no idea how to do this though.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19

Re: Simple terminal command at startup.

Post by catweazel »

Pawmaline wrote: Fri Oct 26, 2018 5:19 am All I need is for the terminal command SCT 2000 to run at startup. I've no idea how to do this though.
What version of Mint?
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.
Pawmaline

Post by Pawmaline »

Oh sorry, Linux Mint 19 Tara.
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19

Post by catweazel »

Pawmaline wrote: Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:51 am Oh sorry, Linux Mint 19 Tara.
viewtopic.php?f=42&t=275464

That describes the correct way to do it.

Cheers.
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.
rene
Level 20
Level 20

Post by rene »

Catweazel's suggestion will unfortunately not work; sct is an X application, needs to hence wait for the X server to be up before launching: you'd want to use the desktop environment's startup-application support for something like this.