[SOLVED] Deleting oldest named folder in a partition

About writing shell scripts and making the most of your shell
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
bigal
Level 5
Level 5

[SOLVED] Deleting oldest named folder in a partition

Post by bigal »

64 bit Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon

I have a partition in which I store 7 daily backup files . Each file is named using the date & time of creation. For example a file name of 2018-12-22_18:02 ("%Y-%m-%d_%H-%M). Obviously there is a finite amount of room in the partition so each day I delete the oldest, create a new one then copy and paste the files I want backed up into the newly created folder. Not so difficult but unnecessary work so I thought it is about time I automated it. My 2019 learning curve for scripting and for cron jobs.

I have no previous knowledge of scripting but have worked out and written a script to create the new folder with the correctly formatted date/time name and to recursively copy and paste the required data into the new folder. In due course I will set up a cron job to run this script each day. So far so good but I cannot see how to completely delete the oldest folder in my backup partition. All my searching results in code to delete folders and files based on the file creation or amended time in the headers rather than the file name. Not necessarily accurate, or indeed, what I am attempting to achieve.

It takes about 30 minutes to delete the oldest folder so I am envisioning two separate cron jobs to complete the required task. The first to completely and recursively remove the oldest folder and all it contents; delete rather than move to the rubbish bin; and the second to run a suitable time after the first to run the script that creates the new folder, selects and copies the required data then pastes it into the newly created backup folder. Can anyone offer any suggestion please?