Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Locked
nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by nelamvr6 »

Will the latest Compiz be included in the Stable released later this week?

nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by nelamvr6 »

mmesantos1 wrote:
Katzedecimal wrote:Mmesantos1, your Compiz mastery just rocks :lol: I fail at Compiz - how do you do the cube/sphere pullback, and for that matter, get a screenshot of it?

I always look forward to seeing your desktops. So creative! :D


Once you have updated your compiz then you can do this!
mmesantos, how do you achieve that effect?

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2419
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by merlwiz79 »

nelamvr6 wrote:
mmesantos1 wrote:
Katzedecimal wrote:Mmesantos1, your Compiz mastery just rocks :lol: I fail at Compiz - how do you do the cube/sphere pullback, and for that matter, get a screenshot of it?

I always look forward to seeing your desktops. So creative! :D


Once you have updated your compiz then you can do this!
mmesantos, how do you achieve that effect?
It's 3D Windows Under Effects.
Image

nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by nelamvr6 »

merlwiz79 wrote:
mmesantos, how do you achieve that effect?
It's 3D Windows Under Effects.

I have 3d windows enables, is it just a very high spacing between windows?

Edit:

OK I figured it out. A combination of small sphere size and large window spacing.

Thanks a LOT Merlwiz for all your help!

User avatar
mmesantos1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: VA. USA
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by mmesantos1 »

nelamvr6 wrote:
merlwiz79 wrote:
mmesantos, how do you achieve that effect?
It's 3D Windows Under Effects.

I have 3d windows enables, is it just a very high spacing between windows?

Edit:

OK I figured it out. A combination of small sphere size and large window spacing.

Thanks a LOT Merlwiz for all your help!
Sorry I was not online to answer your questions. But great work on the Compiz! :)
Image

User avatar
mmesantos1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: VA. USA
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by mmesantos1 »

I have screen shots from Mint 5 XFCE, I just installed it. Wow it is great! :)
Last edited by mmesantos1 on Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by nelamvr6 »

It is really snappy, isn't it? :D

User avatar
mmesantos1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: VA. USA
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by mmesantos1 »

nelamvr6 wrote:It is really snappy, isn't it? :D

Actually with Compiz running it is not as snappy. In Fact I have gnome running quicker than XFCE with Compiz running. I am sure it is something I am not setting correctly. But never the less it looks nice. I will have to do some fine tunning and see what I can do about the issue. Maybe you might know what I can try to speed up XFCE! :)
Image

User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3078
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by Zwopper »

Why use Compiz?
Use Xfce's own compositor!
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Band - Electric Alchemea
CREA DIEM!

Lenovo U330P | i5 | 16GB | 128GB - SSD | Elemantary OS 0.4

nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by nelamvr6 »

Zwopper wrote:Why use Compiz?
Use Xfce's own compositor!
Because Compiz brings the eye candy!

nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by nelamvr6 »

mmesantos1 wrote:
nelamvr6 wrote:It is really snappy, isn't it? :D

Actually with Compiz running it is not as snappy. In Fact I have gnome running quicker than XFCE with Compiz running. I am sure it is something I am not setting correctly. But never the less it looks nice. I will have to do some fine tunning and see what I can do about the issue. Maybe you might know what I can try to speed up XFCE! :)

I don't really know, could be something set incorrectly? All I can say that on my box it is definitely quicker than when I was running Elyssa Main with Compiz...

User avatar
mmesantos1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: VA. USA
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by mmesantos1 »

nelamvr6 wrote:
Zwopper wrote:Why use Compiz?
Use Xfce's own compositor!
Because Compiz brings the eye candy!

You took the words right out of my mouth! :D
Image

User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3078
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by Zwopper »

mmesantos1 wrote:
nelamvr6 wrote:
Zwopper wrote:Why use Compiz?
Use Xfce's own compositor!
Because Compiz brings the eye candy!

You took the words right out of my mouth! :D
Well no, and sucks resources like a hog!
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Band - Electric Alchemea
CREA DIEM!

Lenovo U330P | i5 | 16GB | 128GB - SSD | Elemantary OS 0.4

nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by nelamvr6 »

Zwopper wrote:Well no, and sucks resources like a hog!
Well, no?? Yes!

Maybe you don't like it, but a LOT of other people do!

Why don't you post some pics of desktops using Xfce's compositor and show us what it can do...

MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by MagnusB »

Zwopper wrote: Well no, and sucks resources like a hog!
Both nm-applet and mintUpdate uses more resources than compiz, even when rotating cube.. The main reason for not using Compiz is the bugs, cause it's not yet stable...
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin

nelamvr6
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: New London, CT USA

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by nelamvr6 »

MagnusB wrote:
Zwopper wrote: Well no, and sucks resources like a hog!
Both nm-applet and mintUpdate uses more resources than compiz, even when rotating cube.. The main reason for not using Compiz is the bugs, cause it's not yet stable...

It's not yet "stable", but I've not had any problems at all...

User avatar
mmesantos1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: VA. USA
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by mmesantos1 »

nelamvr6 wrote:
MagnusB wrote:
Zwopper wrote: Well no, and sucks resources like a hog!
Both nm-applet and mintUpdate uses more resources than compiz, even when rotating cube.. The main reason for not using Compiz is the bugs, cause it's not yet stable...

It's not yet "stable", but I've not had any problems at all...

I to have not had any issues with Compiz. And every since I uninstalled Mint update and a few other tools I have been able to speed up my system. I manage my packages my self through Synaptic package manager. Trim down services nthat I do not need running. These changes have made a big difference. Also running newer Kernel as well 2.6.24-21. All of these things have helped with the performance of my PC.
Image

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2419
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by merlwiz79 »

You could have just stopped mintUpdate from running on Log in.(Autostarted Applications)
Then run it once a week like and install only level 1 and 2 updates.
Level 3 updates are not recommended unless it fixes a bug you have.

Uninstalling applications shouldn't speed anything up.
Disabling services you don't use will , just make sure it's not a service needed to start the system.

Compositor only allows the opacity to be changed and drop shows to menus.
So you could use a dock that needs the opacity levels to be changed without using Compiz Fusion.
Image

User avatar
mmesantos1
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: VA. USA
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by mmesantos1 »

merlwiz79 wrote:You could have just stopped mintUpdate from running on Log in.(Autostarted Applications)
Then run it once a week like and install only level 1 and 2 updates.
Level 3 updates are not recommended unless it fixes a bug you have.

Uninstalling applications shouldn't speed anything up.
Disabling services you don't use will , just make sure it's not a service needed to start the system.

Compositor only allows the opacity to be changed and drop shows to menus.
So you could use a dock that needs the opacity levels to be changed without using Compiz Fusion.
I was referring to my Gnome version of Mint. I have added some repos not included with Mint. I have altered allot from the original install. So what I have done seems to work well for me. I have been running it this way for some time now. I have not done anything to the XFCE install. But thanks for the tips. I will have to explore those options. :)
Image

hamburn
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 5:48 am

Re: Unofficial Post Your Linux Mint Desktop Thread

Post by hamburn »

mmesantos1 asked:
Thank you :oops:
How about you show a screen shot or two, I would like to see your desktop :)

So here is mine.
Open KDE Tasty menu and K-Bounce. I have no icons on the desktop, I don't like them. All I need is in the bar.

H.
Attachments
Bildschirmphoto1A1.jpeg
Bildschirmphoto1A1.jpeg (39.57 KiB) Viewed 3340 times
for linux to be successful on the desktop for normal users, normal users have to feel comfortable with it.
The interesting users are your mother, your neighbor. Those are the people that will decide whether or not linux is accepted on the desktop.
M.B.

Locked

Return to “Desktop Screenshots”