My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Locked
User avatar
ChromeMukuro
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by ChromeMukuro »

how do you get the mint menu and terminals to be see-through?
avatar by aramynthya

...don’t mourn your luck that’s failing now...
~The God Abandons Anthony

dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2743
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by dawgdoc »

ChromeMukuro wrote:how do you get the mint menu and terminals to be see-through?
This can be set in the preferences of each item.

Right click the Menu icon, select Preferences, select the <Options> tab and the Opacity setting is at the bottom.

Open a terminal, select the Edit menu item, select Profile Preferences, select the Background tab and the Transparency slider is at the bottom.
SYSTEMS:
HP 15-bw0017cl -- Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon (support for 80 y/o family members 1st install)
READING:
The Secret of the Ninth Planet by Donald A. Wollheim

User avatar
ShexNivis
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:25 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by ShexNivis »

dawgdoc wrote:
ChromeMukuro wrote:how do you get the mint menu and terminals to be see-through?
This can be set in the preferences of each item.

Right click the Menu icon, select Preferences, select the <Options> tab and the Opacity setting is at the bottom.

Open a terminal, select the Edit menu item, select Profile Preferences, select the Background tab and the Transparency slider is at the bottom.
Also make sure composition is on either on metacity or compiz depending on which you use.
best torrent client ever: http://www.tixati.com

User avatar
ChromeMukuro
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by ChromeMukuro »

one more desktop themeing related issue... i cant really change the system theme for GNOME, as the appearance button in the control center doesnt work. how to a go about being able to change the GNOME theme?
avatar by aramynthya

...don’t mourn your luck that’s failing now...
~The God Abandons Anthony

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5059
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Mt. Angel, Oregon

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by tdockery97 »

My current LMDE desktop:
Image
Mint Cinnamon 20

User avatar
ShexNivis
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:25 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by ShexNivis »

ChromeMukuro wrote:one more desktop themeing related issue... i cant really change the system theme for GNOME, as the appearance button in the control center doesnt work. how to a go about being able to change the GNOME theme?
It seems like it is related to that: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=141&t=55896
If you didn't do what the HOWTO says try it.
best torrent client ever: http://www.tixati.com

tec_wiz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:43 am

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by tec_wiz »


User avatar
ChromeMukuro
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by ChromeMukuro »

so i have my theme done. my only question is...

how do i screenshot with the menu open? i cant seem to take a screen shot with the mintmenu up...
avatar by aramynthya

...don’t mourn your luck that’s failing now...
~The God Abandons Anthony

zole052
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:32 pm
Location: Umag, Croatia

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by zole052 »

ChromeMukuro wrote:so i have my theme done. my only question is...

how do i screenshot with the menu open? i cant seem to take a screen shot with the mintmenu up...
Open your mintmenu run 'Take Screenshot' set delay and voila :)

User avatar
ChromeMukuro
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by ChromeMukuro »

zole052 wrote:
ChromeMukuro wrote:so i have my theme done. my only question is...

how do i screenshot with the menu open? i cant seem to take a screen shot with the mintmenu up...
Open your mintmenu run 'Take Screenshot' set delay and voila :)
i tried this, but there was no screenshot tool, so i turned on the debian category. this brought up GNOME screenshot tool, but it had no delay setting. what am i missing?
avatar by aramynthya

...don’t mourn your luck that’s failing now...
~The God Abandons Anthony

User avatar
ShexNivis
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:25 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by ShexNivis »

ChromeMukuro wrote:
zole052 wrote:
ChromeMukuro wrote:so i have my theme done. my only question is...

how do i screenshot with the menu open? i cant seem to take a screen shot with the mintmenu up...
Open your mintmenu run 'Take Screenshot' set delay and voila :)
i tried this, but there was no screenshot tool, so i turned on the debian category. this brought up GNOME screenshot tool, but it had no delay setting. what am i missing?
Press Alt+F2 and type 'gnome-screenshot --interactive' there you can set the delay.
best torrent client ever: http://www.tixati.com

roli84
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:06 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by roli84 »

mmesantos1 wrote:Ok changed up allot on this one. New conky, GTK, Icon. Hope you like it. :)

Image
wery nice, but i don't no how can install it.I'm still begginer :D

User avatar
lKingjr
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 807
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:09 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by lKingjr »

Image
there are three groups of people in the world. those that can count, and those that can't.
iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2048 MB

dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2743
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by dawgdoc »

@ lkingjr: Nice job Lou, as always.

@ roli84: The conky part of his setup is the white text to the left of the screen THIS post has links to a couple of helpful sites. HERE is a separate THREAD where people have posted screenshots of their conky setups. It also includes many of the config files needed to copy those setups. There are also links to many more helpful sites found in the pages of the thread.
SYSTEMS:
HP 15-bw0017cl -- Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon (support for 80 y/o family members 1st install)
READING:
The Secret of the Ninth Planet by Donald A. Wollheim

jehicks87
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:05 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by jehicks87 »

Damian wrote:I haven't had that much time customizing my desktop, but here's my screenshot.

Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
LOVE that wallpaper. Where'd you get it?

Mdyter
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:21 am

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by Mdyter »

@ lkingjr: could you, please, tell what set of icons are you using?
really really nice work :)

User avatar
lKingjr
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 807
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:09 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by lKingjr »

smiles...thanks all
there are three groups of people in the world. those that can count, and those that can't.
iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2048 MB

Jose1965
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 1:45 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by Jose1965 »

Hello all, Merry Christmas and Happy New 2011!!

http://s1082.photobucket.com/albums/j37 ... t=LMDE.png

Image

User avatar
lKingjr
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 807
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:09 pm

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by lKingjr »

Mdyter wrote:@ lkingjr: could you, please, tell what set of icons are you using?
really really nice work :)
shoot. I missed your question Mdyter. the icons are "Any Color You Like".
http://gnome-look.org/content/show.php/ ... ent=102435
there are three groups of people in the world. those that can count, and those that can't.
iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2048 MB

dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2743
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: My New Linux Mint LMDE desktop

Post by dawgdoc »

Welcome to the thread Jose. Keep 'em coming.
SYSTEMS:
HP 15-bw0017cl -- Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon (support for 80 y/o family members 1st install)
READING:
The Secret of the Ninth Planet by Donald A. Wollheim

Locked

Return to “Desktop Screenshots”