[BUG] shifted wallpaper with dual screen setup

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
dbum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 9:48 am

[BUG] shifted wallpaper with dual screen setup

Postby dbum » Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:04 am

Hello friends,

this is supposed to be both a bug report and a 'any idea how to fix it?'-thread. I wasn't succesful finding this problem on this or any other forum. I'm posting this here because it only occurs to me on Cinnamon.

My setup:
Acer 1810t laptop with HDMI out (Intel GMA 4500MHD GFX-Card)
LMDE12 32bit using Cinnamon
Samsung 40" LED TV

And here is what happens:

This is my desktop without my TV attached via HDMI:
Image
Now I attach it via HDMI, and it looks just as it is supposed to:
Image
When I unplug it again, though, my wallpaper is shifted:
Image
And when I plug it in again, it stays like this, on both screens.
Image

And nothing fixes this. Plugging and unplugging the TV keeps the shifted wallpaper. Restarting Cinnamon doesn't help. Changing the wallpaper doesn't help. I have to kill the X-server (ctrl+alt+backspace) and log in again to get the wallpaper back in order.

This only happens in Cinnamon, not in MATE. It seems like a bug to me, but can you gurus think of a way for me to fix this? It would be very appreciated.

Best regards,
Daniel

uxinity
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:13 am

Re: [BUG] shifted wallpaper with dual screen setup

Postby uxinity » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:17 am

Any news on this?

I have the same issue with Linux Mint 13.

dbum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 9:48 am

Re: [BUG] shifted wallpaper with dual screen setup

Postby dbum » Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:50 pm

Not for me. Shortly after posting this here I filed this. Got closed with a reference to something that has no relevance on this problem.

funkeh
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:08 pm

Re: [BUG] shifted wallpaper with dual screen setup

Postby funkeh » Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:21 pm

There's a simple fix, I've found. However, it involves installing Gnome Tweak Tool. You can uninstall it afterwards if you want.

In Tweak Tool, go to the Desktop submenu and toggle the "Have file manager handle the desktop" switch to off.
Image

This solved this issue for me. I've had this issue before in other desktop environments. For some reason, this always solves it.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests