LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Questions about applications and software
Locked
JeZxLee
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:54 pm

LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by JeZxLee » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:17 pm

Hi,

I recently installed Linux Mint Debian Edition 2 64Bit Release Candidate with MATE desktop.

I am looking for desktop effects but can't seem to find them anywhere?
How do I setup desktop effects?

Thanks!

Jesse

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5415
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by killer de bug » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:55 pm

Compiz is not included in this release. So you have only the basic Mate effects. Look in the system preference.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

JeZxLee
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by JeZxLee » Fri Mar 20, 2015 3:12 pm

killer de bug wrote:Compiz is not included in this release. So you have only the basic Mate effects. Look in the system preference.
Hi,

No Compiz for this release?
You mean Release Candidate and Compiz will be in the official non-beta final release?
I looked in Package Manager for "Compiz" and it's not there.

Jesse

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5415
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by killer de bug » Fri Mar 20, 2015 3:16 pm

I don't know if Compiz will be added or not in the future. I just know that it was decided not to include it for now in order to release the RC versions.
Maybe in a few months...
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3026
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by Monsta » Sat Mar 21, 2015 6:37 am

There's no Compiz in Debian Jessie repos, so the Mint team will have to add it manually (and adapt it to Debian since Compiz comes from Ubuntu and might have some Ubuntu-specific quirks).

dezo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 3:16 pm

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by dezo » Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:01 am

Please please make compiz come back to debian! At least in Betsy. Would be much appreciated!
I tried installing packages of compiz (0.8.4-5.1) which can be installed in LMDE1 but these cannot be installed in Betsy because of dependency problems...

Code: Select all

mint@mint ~/compiz $ sudo dpkg -i *
(Reading database ... 154632 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack compiz_0.8.4-5.1_all.deb ...
Unpacking compiz (0.8.4-5.1) over (0.8.4-5.1) ...
Selecting previously unselected package compizconfig-backend-gconf.
Preparing to unpack compizconfig-backend-gconf_0.8.4-1_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking compizconfig-backend-gconf (0.8.4-1) ...
Selecting previously unselected package compizconfig-settings-manager.
Preparing to unpack compizconfig-settings-manager_0.8.4-2_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking compizconfig-settings-manager (0.8.4-2) ...
Selecting previously unselected package compiz-core.
Preparing to unpack compiz-core_0.8.4-5.1_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking compiz-core (0.8.4-5.1) ...
Selecting previously unselected package compiz-fusion-plugins-extra.
Preparing to unpack compiz-fusion-plugins-extra_0.8.4-2_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking compiz-fusion-plugins-extra (0.8.4-2) ...
Selecting previously unselected package compiz-fusion-plugins-main.
Preparing to unpack compiz-fusion-plugins-main_0.8.4-2+b1_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking compiz-fusion-plugins-main (0.8.4-2+b1) ...
Selecting previously unselected package compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported.
Preparing to unpack compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported_0.8.4-3_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported (0.8.4-3) ...
Selecting previously unselected package compiz-gtk.
Preparing to unpack compiz-gtk_0.8.4-5.1_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking compiz-gtk (0.8.4-5.1) ...
Selecting previously unselected package compiz-plugins.
Preparing to unpack compiz-plugins_0.8.4-5.1_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking compiz-plugins (0.8.4-5.1) ...
Preparing to unpack libcompizconfig0_0.8.4-2_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking libcompizconfig0 (0.8.4-2) over (0.8.4-2) ...
Selecting previously unselected package python-compizconfig.
Preparing to unpack python-compizconfig_0.8.4-2+b1_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking python-compizconfig (0.8.4-2+b1) ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of compizconfig-backend-gconf:
 compizconfig-backend-gconf depends on libgconf2-4 (>= 2.27.0); however:
  Package libgconf2-4 is not installed.

dpkg: error processing package compizconfig-backend-gconf (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Setting up compiz-core (0.8.4-5.1) ...
Setting up compiz-fusion-plugins-extra (0.8.4-2) ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of compiz-fusion-plugins-main:
 compiz-fusion-plugins-main depends on libjpeg62 (>= 6b1); however:
  Package libjpeg62 is not installed.
  Version of libjpeg62 on system, provided by libjpeg62-turbo:amd64, is <none>.

dpkg: error processing package compiz-fusion-plugins-main (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Setting up compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported (0.8.4-3) ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of compiz-gtk:
 compiz-gtk depends on libdecoration0 (>= 0.8.4); however:
  Package libdecoration0 is not installed.
 compiz-gtk depends on libgconf2-4 (>= 2.31.1); however:
  Package libgconf2-4 is not installed.
 compiz-gtk depends on libmetacity-private0a (>= 1:2.34.0); however:
  Package libmetacity-private0a is not installed.

dpkg: error processing package compiz-gtk (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of compiz-plugins:
 compiz-plugins depends on libdecoration0 (>= 0.8.4); however:
  Package libdecoration0 is not installed.

dpkg: error processing package compiz-plugins (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Setting up libcompizconfig0 (0.8.4-2) ...
Setting up python-compizconfig (0.8.4-2+b1) ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of compiz:
 compiz depends on compiz-plugins (>= 0.8.4-5.1); however:
  Package compiz-plugins is not configured yet.
 compiz depends on compiz-gtk (>= 0.8.4-5.1); however:
  Package compiz-gtk is not configured yet.

dpkg: error processing package compiz (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Setting up compizconfig-settings-manager (0.8.4-2) ...
Processing triggers for desktop-file-utils (0.22-1) ...
Processing triggers for mime-support (3.58) ...
Processing triggers for hicolor-icon-theme (0.13-1) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.7.0.2-5) ...
Processing triggers for gconf2 (3.2.6-3) ...
Processing triggers for libc-bin (2.19-15) ...
Processing triggers for python-support (1.0.15) ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
 compizconfig-backend-gconf
 compiz-fusion-plugins-main
 compiz-gtk
 compiz-plugins
 compiz

dezo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 3:16 pm

Compiz in Betsy

Post by dezo » Mon Mar 30, 2015 4:24 pm

Here's a howto for those who would like to have compiz in Betsy just now. The packages are taken from Ubuntu 16.04 Vivid Vervet.
Warning: This might break your system, although for me it worked like a charm.

1. First update your system:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
2. Add Ubuntu Vivid repositories main & universe:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-add-repository 'deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ vivid main universe'
3. Add repository gpg keys:

Code: Select all

gpg --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-key 40976EAF437D05B5 3B4FE6ACC0B21F32 && gpg --armor --export 40976EAF437D05B5 3B4FE6ACC0B21F32 | sudo apt-key add -
4. Update package lists:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
5. Install compiz, plugins and ccsm:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install compiz compiz-plugins compizconfig-settings-manager
6. Remove the added repository and update package lists:

Code: Select all

sudo rm /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list && sudo apt-get update
7. Run ccsm, enable OpenGL, Composite and Window Decoration.
8. Try running compiz:

Code: Select all

compiz --replace
You should get running compiz with window decorations. Next go through the plugins in ccsm and tune them according to your needs.

User avatar
tux-sven
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:44 am
Location: Sweden (@ Kinnekulle)

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by tux-sven » Wed Apr 15, 2015 3:00 pm

@ dezo:

But this must be the same half-broken Ubuntu-Compiz as in Rebecca??
The Compiz I have installed on my LMDE-1 is a full-featured, good-working Compiz fetched from an old Debian repository. That is an huge difference from the Compiz-version, destroyed by Ubuntu. (Clem meant it was changed due to Unity)
I guess that version is perhaps better than nothing, but I'll wait for the real one.

During the the QA-test-process I told Clem that the old (LMDE-1) suitable Compiz, was not possible to install any longer. The answer was that they are looking at it in a coming release/update, but not before Betsy is released.

I think I will keep my good LMDE-1 for a while and wait and see...... :wink:

I hope many people will remind Clem about the missing Compiz in LMDE-2, so he won't forget it! :)

dezo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 3:16 pm

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by dezo » Sat Apr 18, 2015 9:54 am

Well... yes, most probably. But to me it does not seem that much different. I just use basic plugins: window decoration, expo, desktop wall, viewport switcher, animations, scale, move/resize/place windows. And those work the same way they used to.

Of course a native compiz from debian would be much better but until then I'm satisfied with the ubuntu version.

Btw, I'm missing the snowing effect... But it's already spring in CZ so I don't need it till the winter comes. :)

User avatar
tux-sven
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:44 am
Location: Sweden (@ Kinnekulle)

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by tux-sven » Tue Apr 28, 2015 5:06 pm

@ dezo:

One thing I did not get to work in "Ubuntu-Compiz" in Rebecca was the Fusion-icon. Trying to start it only led to segmentation fault.... :(
The Fusion-icon is very useful for starting/stopping Compiz or make a restore of a failing DE.

Can You get the Fusion-icon working in your installation? :roll:

dezo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 3:16 pm

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by dezo » Mon May 11, 2015 10:10 am

I start compiz after login so I don't need to start or stop it manually.
How do you install fusion icon? I don't have it in the repository...

dezo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 3:16 pm

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by dezo » Mon May 18, 2015 7:28 am

One thing I haven't resolved yet: how to configure right click on window titlebar. I'm used to minimize, but now I get a popup menu.

Found it:

Code: Select all

gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences action-right-click-titlebar minimize

ddurdle
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:03 am

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by ddurdle » Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:11 am

The clock is ticking now that LMDE 1 ends January 2016. I know it feels far away, but it is just over 4 months away.

I can't live without my Compiz, until at least the alternatives implement the compiz features I use.

So far I'm only attempting to upgrade to LMDE 2 on machines where I only run a vanilla Mate (hardware wise, don't support Compiz). Would be nice to get all my machines on a supported platform post 2015.

Anyone see any progress being made on Compiz in LMDE 2?

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5415
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by killer de bug » Fri Aug 14, 2015 5:02 am

ddurdle wrote:Anyone see any progress being made on Compiz in LMDE 2?
Compiz will not reach LMDE2.
Compiz is not in Jessie. Jessie is Debian Stable. So Compiz will not be introduced in Debian Stable. Not today. Not next month. Not next year. Therefore Compiz will not be in LMDE2.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

ddurdle
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:03 am

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by ddurdle » Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:00 am

killer de bug wrote:
ddurdle wrote:Anyone see any progress being made on Compiz in LMDE 2?
Compiz will not reach LMDE2.
Compiz is not in Jessie. Jessie is Debian Stable. So Compiz will not be introduced in Debian Stable. Not today. Not next month. Not next year. Therefore Compiz will not be in LMDE2.
Ah, no.

It may never see the light-of-day in the debian repositories, but the Linux Mint team hasn't dismissed the idea about adding it to Betsy eventually.

Eventually looks just around the corner as a new stable 0.8.10 has been released.

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 0#p1049565

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5415
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by killer de bug » Sat Aug 15, 2015 2:44 am

ddurdle wrote: It may never see the light-of-day in the debian repositories, but the Linux Mint team hasn't dismissed the idea about adding it to Betsy eventually.
Where did they say something like this?
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

ddurdle
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:03 am

Re: LMDE 2 64Bit RC-Desktop Effects Missing?

Post by ddurdle » Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:20 pm

killer de bug wrote:
ddurdle wrote: It may never see the light-of-day in the debian repositories, but the Linux Mint team hasn't dismissed the idea about adding it to Betsy eventually.
Where did they say something like this?
I recall it when the ISOs first came out in March. So I went hunting through those posts. I see now that Clem's comment that "not yet but they were still working on it" was in response to someone asking about an LMDE 1 upgrade path (which obviously has been completed) and not the Compiz comment.

Locked

Return to “Software & Applications”