Minecraft Error Message!

Anything related to gaming on Linux Mint including game discussion or questions concerning Steam or Wine.
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Gaming Fool

Minecraft Error Message!

Post by Gaming Fool »

Hello, I'm quite new to Linux and I have a lot to ask! First off I'm trying to download Minecraft on my computer. I love the game and really want to get into playing, but I have an issue. I have the download for Minecraft and I have the launcher, but every time I try to launch the game it gives me an error message!

Here is the error message:

"could not create the virtual java machine"

This isn't the exact code, but it's the main idea of the error message and I'm so confused on what the heck it means or how I can change that. I have looked at many different tutorials and found ways to fix it, but I can't get it to work. If anyone has any feedback please let me know and if needed I can try and post some images of my Terminal. Please remember that this is on Linux, I've gone through too many Windows 10 tutorials!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: Minecraft Error Message!

Post by xenopeek »

Please open the terminal from your menu and type this command and press enter: java -version
Paste its output here. You can select & copy text through the terminal's Edit menu.

Which version of Linux Mint are you using? If you don't know, also share the output of the command: inxi -S

The error you've been given is generic. It could be as simple as passing an option for Java with a typo; that would also give you the "could not create the virtual java machine" error.

The steps to run Minecraft on Linux Mint are as easy as:
  • Download Minecraft.jar from the website https://minecraft.net/en/download/